​​

​Overview

The Parkinson’s Disease and Research Center at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi is the only center in the UAE providing all available medical and surgical treatment options for patients with Parkinson’s disease. Our multidisciplinary team of experts includes world-renowned neurologists who are fellowship trained in Parkinson’s disease and movement disorders, a functional neurosurgeon, an excellent team of physical therapists, speech therapists, occupational therapists and is supported by psychiatry, psychology, gastroenterology, andurology teams.

Our team takes a collaborative approach to managing and treating these disorders, offering comprehensive medical management and innovative treatments to empower patients so they can live life to the fullest.

We work closely with the comprehensive Center for Parkinson’s disease and movement disorders at Cleveland Clinic, Ohio, ranked as one of the best hospitals in the world. Having regular multidisciplinary team meetings with the team in the US allows us to provide the best care to patients in line with the highest international standards.​ 

What is Parkinson’s Disease?

Parkinson’s disease is the fastest growing neurodegenerative condition with an alarming increase in prevalence in the UAE and around the world. It is a condition of the nervous system that affects your movements, caused by changes in a small area of the brain that controls how you move your body. It is a progressive disease and symptoms can appear gradually, sometimes over a period of weeks, months or even years. Patients commonly attribute symptoms to aging at first and it is often family and friends who are the ones that notice early changes.

Living with Parkinson’s disease or a movement disorder can have a big impact on your independence and quality of life if not receiving the appropriate care. Every movement your body makes is controlled by interactions between your brain, spinal cord and muscles. Movement disorders are caused by abnormal brain function and can result in involuntary movements ranging in severity from subtle to disabling and can make everyday tasks difficult.

The most common symptoms of Parkinson’s are a slow-down in movements of the whole body (usually most noticeable when walking), shaking and tremors, and muscle stiffness which can cause a stooped posture. Other symptoms can include speaking in a slower, softer voice, mood changes, anxiety, depression, a loss of facial expression or a loss of the sense of smell. Parkinson’s symptoms can range from subtle to severe, but with proper treatment you can still live a full and active life.

You can find out more about symptoms, diagnosis and treatment for Parkinson’s disease in our Health Library.​

What We Treat

    We offer comprehensive treatment for a range of neurological disorders, including:
  • ​​​​Ataxia
  • Atypical parkinsonism such as progressive supranuclear palsy
  • Chorea
  • Corticobasal gegeneration
  • Dystonia
  • Huntington’s disease
  • Multiple system atrophy
  • Myoclonus
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Restless legs syndrome
  • Tardive dyskinesia
  • Tics and Tourette's syndrome
  • Tremor
  • Wilson's disease

Diagnosis and Treatment 

We offer a range of advanced, cutting-edge treatments for Parkinson’s disease and movement disorders. A clinical diagnosis is first made by reviewing a patient’s history and performing a neurological exam. The severity and stage of the condition are also assessed. Our team will then discuss your individual needs and the most appropriate treatment for you.

We are the only center in the UAE to offer all treatment modalities for patients with early or late stages of Parkinson’s disease. Treatment with medication for Parkinson’s disease is effective and can help improve movement symptoms. Alongside medical and surgical treatments, patients require an holistic approach to their care, and we are supported by our rehabilitation team which includes physical therapists, speech therapists and occupational therapists, who are specialized in Parkinson’s disease and other movement disorders. 

Treatment options for Parkinson’s disease include:

Deep Brain Stimulation

Deep brain stimulation (DBS) is a surgical procedure that involves implanting electrodes in the brain, which deliver electrical impulses that block or change the abnormal activity that cause symptoms. Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Parkinson’s Disease and Research Center performs the highest number of DBS surgeries in the UAE. 

In DBS, electrodes are placed in the targeted areas of the brain which are connected by wires to a type of pacemaker device (called an implantable pulse generator) placed under the skin of the chest below the collarbone.

Once activated, the pulse generator sends continuous electrical pulses to the target areas in the brain, modifying the abnormal activity in the area of the brain that is causing symptoms. The DBS system operates much the same way as a pacemaker for the heart. In fact, DBS is referred to as “the pacemaker for the brain.”

Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi performs UAE’s first Deep Brain Stimulation Operations

Levodopa Carbidopa Intestinal Gel (DUOPA) Pump Therapy

Levodopa-Carbidopa is the most effective medication for Parkinson’s disease. Duopa infusion delivers Levodopa-carbidopa in gel form through a small hole (called a ‘stoma’) in the stomach wall to a tube in the intestine. A pump then delivers Duopa directly to the intestine through this tube, delivering medication in a continuous fashion throughout the day which helps to reduce fluctuations significantly, giving the patient control of their symptoms throughout the day.

Advanced treatment for advanced Parkinson’s disease put patient back in the driving Seat​

Apomorphine Injections and Infusion Pump

Apomorphine is a dopamine agonist medication that helps to control symptoms of Parkinson’s disease. It is delivered via injection under the skin. The medication works very quickly, but the effect of the medication lasts only 60-90 minutes. Therefore, apomorphine injections can be used as emergency treatment to treat sudden ‘off’ states. Continuous delivery of the medication is possible using an apomorphine infusion pump which is delivered by a needle placed under the skin.

Botulinum toxin treatment/Chemodenervation clinic for dystonia and other movement disorders

Chemodenervation refers to the use of Botulinum Toxin (botox) in treating several neurological conditions. Botulinum Toxin is a product formed by bacteria Clostridium botulinum and in a purified form is used to treat many neurological conditions, such as dystonia, spasticity (stiffness in muscles), excessive drooling of saliva, excessive sweating, tremor (shaking) conditions such as Parkinson’s disease, essential tremor and dystonic tremor.

There are several types of dystonia, each with different symptoms:

  • Dystonia or torticollis: when the neck turns to one side
  • Cervical dystonia: a twisting of the neck/head
  • Limb dystonia: a tightness in the hands with a twisting of the hands or legs, while walking or at rest
  • Blepharospasm: excessive blinking or an involuntary closure of the eyes
  • Hemifacial spasms: spasms or twitches of the face
  • Sialorrhea: excessive drooling of saliva
  • Hyperhidrosis: excessive sweating of the palms, feet and axilla

There are many other conditions that can be effectively treated with careful botulinum toxin injections, with the effects lasting from 3 to 6 months.

We are the first center in the UAE to offer electromyogram (EMG) guided injections for complicated movement disorders, performed by our movement disorder neurologist. We also have a team of neurologists who perform botulinum toxin for spasticity and headache conditions.​

Parkinson’s Disease and Research Center Caregivers

One of the most important parts of any treatment plan for neurological disorders is a dedicated, experienced team of specialist caregivers. Our multidisciplinary team work together with the aim of providing the best possible treatment outcome for you. Caregivers at the center include: ​

  • Movement disorder neurologists
  • Functional Neurosurgeons​
  • Neuropsychologists
  • Occupational therapists
  • Physiotherapists
  • Speech and language therapists
  • Rehabilitation assistants
  • Clinical nurse specialists

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Parkinson’s Disease & Movement Disorders ​

 ​​​​​​​​​​Copyright © Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi LLC 2020​​

Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!

​لمحة عن المركز

 يُعد مركز أبحاث علاج مرض باركنسون في مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي المركز الوحيد في دولة الإمارات، الذي يقدم جميع خيارات علاجية وجراحية  لمرضى باركنسون أو الذين يعانون من اضطرابات الحركة.  يضم فريق خبرائنا متعدد التخصصات عدد من أطباء الأعصاب المعروفين على الصعيد العالمي، الحاصلين على درجة الزمالة في مرض باركنسون وغيرها من أمراض اضطرابات الحركة. كذلك يتضمن فريق الخبراء لدينا أخصائيين في جراحة الأعصاب، بالإضافة على فريق مُدرب من أطباء العلاج الطبيعي وأخصائي النطق والعلاج المهني والوظيفي، يدعمهم فريق من أطباء الأمراض العصبية والنفسية والجهاز الهضمي والمسالك البولية.

يعتمد فريق المركز للتعامل مع هذه الاضطرابات وعلاجها بطرق مبتكرة بهدف تحسين جودة حياة المرضى.

نعمل بشكل وثيق  مع فريق مركز علاج باركنسون واضطرابات الحركة في مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك في أوهايو، وهي واحدة من أفضل المستشفيات في العالم، مما يتيح لنا الاستفادة من خبرات مجموعة واسعة من الخبراء العالميين وعقد اجتماعات منتظمة مع الفريق المتواجد بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، لتقديم أفضل رعاية للمرضى بما يتماشي مع أعلى المعايير الدولية.

ما هو مرض باركنسون؟

يُعد مرض باركنسون من الاضطرابات العصبية التنكسية المًزمنة التي أصبحت ترصد بمعدلات عالية في دولة الإمارات وحول العالم. باركنسون مرض يُصيب الجهاز العصبي ويؤثر على الحركة. يحدث مرض باركنسون نتيجة تغيرات في المنطقة الصغيرة من الدماغ المسؤولة عن حركة الجسم، وهو مرض تقدمي، أي أن أعراضه تظهر بالتدريج، على مدى أسابيع أو أشهر أو حتى سنوات أحياناً. غالباً ما يربط المرضى أعراض هذا المرض بالتقدم بالسن في البداية، وغالباً ما تتم ملاحظة التغيرات الأولى على المريض من قبل أفراد العائلة والأصدقاء.

قد يؤثر التعايش مع مرض باركنسون أو اضطراب الحركة بشكل كبير على استقلاليتك ونوعية حياتك إن لم يتم التحكم به ببرنامج علاج ملائم. يتم التحكم في كل حركة يقوم بها جسمك من خلال التفاعلات التي تنشأ بين الدماغ والحبل الشوكي والعضلات. تنشأ اضطرابات الحركة نتيجة خلل في وظائف المخ، والتي يُمكن أن تتسبب في حركات لا إرادية تتراوح في شدتها بين الحركات الخفية إلى الحركات التي يمكن أن تتسبب في إعاقة، كما أنها يمكن أن تجعل القيام بالأنشطة اليومية الاعتيادية أمراً في غاية الصعوبة.

من أكثر أعراض المرض انتشاراً تباطؤ حركة الجسم كاملاً (وهو ما يُلاحظ عادة عند المشي) والارتعاش والرجفان وتيبس العضلات مما يسبب انحناء الجسم. تتضمن الأعراض الأخرى التحدث ببطء وبصوت أكثر نعومة وتغيرات مزاجية وقلق واكتئاب وغياب تعابير الوجه وفقدان حاسة الشمتتفاوت أعراض مرض باركنسون بين أعراض الخفيفة والشديدة، لكن الحصول على العلاج المناسب يمكن أن يتيح للمرضى التمتع الكامل بحياة نشيطة.

لمعرفة المزيد عن أعراض مرض باركنسون وسبل تشخيصه وعلاجه، يُرجى زيارة المكتبة الصحية​​.

الحالات التي يعالجها المركز

يوفر المركز علاجاً شاملاً لمجموعة من الاضطرابات العصبية. الكثير من اضطرابات الحركة ليس لها سبب محدد وليست وراثية، فيما ينجم بعضها الآخر عن الإصابة بالسكتة الدماغية، أو العدوى، أو أسباب التهابية أو أيضية، أو أمراض مناعة ذاتية أو أدوية. يعالج المركز الاضطرابات الحركية التالية: 

  • اختلاج الحركة
  • الشلل الرعاش غير النمطي مثل الشلل فوق النووي التقدمي
  • داء الرقص
  • التنكس القشري القاعدي
  • التوتر العضلي
  • مرض هنتنغتون
  • ضمور الأجهزة المتعدد
  • الارتجاج العضلي
  • الشلل الرعاش
  • متلازمة تململ الساقين
  • عسر الحركة المتأخر
  • متلازمة توريت
  • الرعاش
  • مرض ويلسون

العلاج والإجراءات​

يوفر المركز مجموعة من العلاجات المتطورة لمرض باركنسون واضطرابات الحركة. وتتضمن خدماته إجراء تشخيص سريري في البداية من خلال مراجعة التاريخ الصحي للمريض والفحص العصبي، وكذلك تقييم مرحلة المرض ومدى شدته، ثم مناقشة الاحتياجات الفردية للمريض وتحديد العلاج الأنسب له.

نإن مركزنا هوُ المركز الوحيد في دولة الإمارات، الذي يُقدم جميع طرق العلاج للمرضى الذين يعانون من المراحل المبكرة أو المتأخرة من مرض باركنسون. إن العلاج بالأدوية لمرض باركنسون فعَال، ويُمكن أن يساعد في تحسين الأعراض المرضية الحركية. إلى جانب العلاجات الطبية والجراحية، يحتاج المرضى إلى الخضوع لنهج رعاية شامل، لذلك نحرص على التعاون بشكل وثيق مع فريق إعادة التأهيل المتواجد لدينا، والذي يضم أطباء العلاج الطبيعي، أخصائي النطق والتخاطب، وأخصائي العلاج المهني والوظيفي المتخصصين في علاج مرض باركنسون واضطرابات الحركة الأخرى.

تتضمن الخيارات العلاجية لمرض باركنسون ما يلي:

التحفيز العميق للدماغ

تُعد تقنية التحفيز العميق للدماغ إجراء جراحي، وتتضمن زرع أقطاب  كهربائية في مناطق محددة من الدماغ لحجب الإشارات الشاذة التي تسبب مشاكل حركية لدى المصابين بداء باركنسون مثل الرعشات وغيرهاويُنصَح بهذه الجراحة للمرضى الذين يعانون من مرض باركنسون والارتعاش الشديد والتوتر العضلي والصرع والوسواس القهري. يتميز مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي بإجرائه العديد من جراحات التحفيز العميق للدماغ.

في تحفيز الدماغ العميق، يتم وضع أقطاب كهربائية في المناطق المستهدفة من الدماغ. ثم تتصل الأقطاب الكهربائية عن طريق الأسلاك بنوع من أجهزة يسمى مولد النبض القابل للزرع الذي يُوضع تحت جلد الصدر أسفل عظمة الترقوة.

بمجرد تنشيط التحفيز العميق للدماغ، يرسل مولد النبضات نبضات كهربائية مستمرة إلى المناطق المستهدفة في الدماغ، الأمر الذي يعمل على تعديل وعلاج النشاط الغير طبيعي في منطقة الدماغ التي تسبب الأعراض. يعمل نظام التحفيز العميق للدماغ بنفس الطريقة التي يعمل بها منظم ضربات القلب، حيث يشار إلى التحفيز العميق للدماغ على أنه "جهاز منظم الدماغ".

ال

علاج بمضخة جل ليفودوبا كاربيدوبا

هو من العلاجات الدوائية الأكثر فعالية لمرض باركنسون، حيث يقوم الجهاز بضخ عقار ليفودوبا كاربيدوبا ببطء على هيئة مادة هلامية (جل) من خلال ثقب صغير في جدار المعدة إلى أنبوب في الأمعاء. تقوم المضخة بعد ذلك بإرسال المادة الفعالة "دوبا" مباشرة إلى الأمعاء من خلال هذا الأنبوب، وذلك لتوصيل الدواء بشكل مستمر طوال اليوم، مما يمنح المريض القدرة على السيطرة على أعراضه على مدار اليوم.

Advanced treatment for advanced Parkinson’s disease put patient back in the driving Seat

حقن

ومضخة الأبومو

رفين

 يعد عقار الأبومورفين أحد الأدوية الداعمة / المناهضة للدوبامين، والتي تساعد في السيطرة على مرض باركنسون. يتم استخدام الأبومورفين من خلال الحقن تحت الجلد، ويعمل بسرعة كبيرة، إلا أن تأثيره يستمر لفترة تتراوح بين 60 – 90 دقيقة فقط. لذلك يمكن استخدام الأبومورفين كعلاج طارئ في حالات الانخفاض أو التوقف المفاجئ بمستوى الدوبامين. يمكن توصيل الدواء بشكل مستمر باستخدام مضخة الأبومورفين، والتي يتم توصيلها بواسطة إبرة يتم وضعها تحت الجلد.

العلاج باستخدام البوتولينوم / العلاج الكيميائي لخلل التوتر العضلي واضطرابات الحركة الأخرى

:

يمكن استخدام مادة البوتولينوم (البوتوكس) في علاج العديد من المشكلات العصبية، وهي مادة تتكون بواسطة بكتيريا تعرف باسم "كلوستريديوم بوتولينوم"، والتي يتم فصلها وتنقيتها لعلاج العديد من الحالات العصبية، مثل: خلل التوتر العضلي، التشنج (تصلب العضلات)، سيلان اللعاب المفرط، التعرق المفرط، رعشة الأطراف، حالات مرضية مثل مرض باركنسون والرعاش التوتري والرعاش مجهول السبب.

هناك العديد من الأنواع لخلل التوتر العضلي، ولكل منها أعراض مختلفة، مثل:

  • خلل التوتر العضلي أو انفتال العنق (تشنج الرقبة): عندما تكون استدارة الرقبة إلى جانب واحد.
  • خلل التوتر العضلي العنقي: التواء في العنق أو الرأس
  • .
  • خلل التوتر العضلي في الأطراف: تشنج في اليدين مع التواء اليدين أو الساقين أثناء المشي أو الراحة.
  • تشنج جفن العين: الرمش المفرط أو الإغلاق اللإرادي للعين.
  • تشنجات نصف الوجه: ارتعاشات في الوجه.
  • سيلان اللعاب ا
  • لمفرط.
  • فرط التعرق الزائد في راحتي اليد أو القدمين أو الإبطين.

هناك العديد من الحالات الأخرى التي يُمكن علاجها بشكل فعَال عن طريق حقن مادة البوتولينوم بعناية، ويستمر تأثيرها العلاجي لفترة تتراوح بين 3 – 6 أشهر.

يُعد مركز أبحاث علاج مرض باركنسون في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي المركز الوحيد في دولة الإمارات، الذي يُقدم علاجات بالحقن، يتم توجيهها باستخدام تخطيط كهربية العضل، وذلك لعلاج اضطرابات الحركة المعقدة، والتي يقوم بإجرائها طبيب أعصاب متخصص في اضطرابات الحركة. كما يضم المركز فريق من أطباء الأعصاب الذين يستخدمون مادة البوتولينوم في علاج حالات الصداع وتشنج العضلات.


فريق المركز

يعمل فريقنا متعدد التخصصات من مقدمي الرعاية الطبية من ذوي الخبرة معاً بهدف توفير أفضل النتائج العلاجية الممكنة للمرضى. يضم فريق المركز ما يلي:  

  • أطباء أعصاب متخصصين في اضطرابات الحركة
  • جراحي الأعصاب والعلاج الوظيفي
  • أطباء الأمراض النفسية والعصبية
  • أطباء العلاج الوظيفي.
  • أخصائيو العلاج الطبيعي
  •  أخصائيون في علاج النطق والتخاطب
  • مساعدين في إعادة التأهيل
  • كوادر تمريضية متخصصة​

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين بعلاج مرض باركنسون واضطرابات الحركة

حقوق النشر محفوظة لدى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي ذ.م.م. 2020

Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!