Overview of the Neurological Pain Management Program 

Pain is a condition that affects millions of people worldwide. It is a complex, challenging problem requiring careful investigation of symptoms and specialized care. For individuals suffering from acute, chronic, or cancer-related pain, the Neurological Pain Management Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Neurological Institute offers a full range of outpatient evaluation and treatment techniques.

The program’s board-certified healthcare professionals have special training in the management of pain through an interdisciplinary, Patients First approach. The team is comprised of anesthesiologists, spine surgeons, physical medicine specialists, and psychiatrists who are dedicated to the goals of alleviating pain and improving each patient’s quality of life.

What we treat

The Neurological Pain Management Program treats patients with a wide range of conditions for related pain. Conditions that may require pain management include: The Neurological Pain Management Program treats patients with a wide range of conditions for related pain. Conditions that may require pain management include:

  • ​Reflex sympathetic dystrophy: A​ disorder that may be caused by trauma or surgery, characterized by pain, swelling, tenderness, and vasomotor-related symptoms of the hands and feet (sweating, burning, or discoloration).​
  • Causalgia: A syndrome characterized by chronic, severe arm or leg pain after injury, surgery, stroke, or heart attack. The pain is much greater than it should be after these events and its cause is unknown.
  • Disc disease: Low back or neck pain caused by the wearing down of a spinal disc. It can sometimes also cause hot, sharp pains in the hands and feet, along with weakness and numbness.
  • Facet pain syndrome: Pain caused by injury to one of the facet joints (the joints between the vertebrae in the spine). This is one of the most common causes of back pain.
  • Myofascial pain syndrome (MFP): A chronic pain disorder affecting fascia (connective tissue covering the muscles). Myofascial pain syndrome can happen after a muscle has been contracted repeatedly, causing pain in the specific muscle and seemingly random areas of the body.
  • Peripheral neuropathy: Damage to the peripheral nerves (the nerves that carry messages from the brain, through the spinal cord, and to the rest of the body) that causes weakness, numbness, and pain. Pain is usually in the hands or feet, but can affect the rest of the body as well.
  • Radiculopathy: Also called a pinched nerve, a condition in which a nerve is damaged or compressed. This can cause radiating pain, weakness, and/or numbness.
  • Radicular pain: Pain that radiates (travels in waves) down the arm or leg.
  • Sacroiliac pain syndrome: Chronic pain in one of the sacroiliac joints (the two joints in the lower back, positioned on each side of the spine). This pain resonates in the lower back and can feel either dull or sharp.
  • Spinal pain: Pain that can occur anywhere between the bottom of the neck and the lower back. There are many different reasons for spinal pain, such as injury, bad posture, pressure on the spinal nerves, or a broken vertebra.
  • Spinal stenosis: A condition in which the spaces between the vertebrae narrow, causing pain and other complications. It is mostly caused by arthritis, but can also be caused by a herniated disc (slipped disc), injury, or tumor.
  • Abdominal pain: Pain that occurs anywhere in the stomach region. It can be caused by a broad variety of factors, such as indigestion, constipation, menstrual cramps, or gas. These causes of abdominal pain are usually not serious, but sometimes pain may indicate a problem with one of the organs in the abdomen.
  • Arthritis: Inflammation of the joints. Symptoms are pain, swelling, and stiffness in the joints that can appear gradually or very suddenly. While there are many types of arthritis, the two most common types are osteoarthritis (caused by wear on the joints) and rheumatoid arthritis (an autoimmune condition).
  • Post-surgical pain: After surgery, it is common to experience pain in the area that was operated on. How long this pain lasts depends heavily on what surgery was performed.
  • Failed back surgery syndrome: A condition in which patients continue to have back or spinal pain after back or spine surgery that was intended to eliminate pain. The most common cause of this is that the area operated on was not in fact the actual cause of pain. ​

Diagnosis & treatment of pain

Diagnosis of pain 

Neurological Pain Management Program physicians have access to the most advanced equipment for diagnosing the origin and causes of pain, enabling them to develop tailored treatment plans for patients. Diagnostic procedures may include:

  • Laboratory testing: Specific blood or urine sample analyses that may be ordered, depending on the patient’s symptoms.​​​​​
  • X-ray: A non-invasive imaging study that creates pictures of the inside of the body. X-rays are usually able to identify the cause of pain when it is a broken bone or a skeletal defect. ​​
  • Computed tomography (CT) scan: A non-invasive imaging study that uses x-rays to create cross-sectional images. It can be used to detect a range of abnormalities, including problems with the vertebral discs.
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI): A non-invasive medical test that uses a large magnet and radio waves to make clear images of the body. MRIs can detect brain and spinal cord injury, cancer, multiple sclerosis, stroke, heart attack, damage from a heart attack, disc problems, and other conditions.​​

Treatment of pain 

Based on the patient’s diagnosis, a specialized treatment plan is created by a multidisciplinary team of caregivers. Treatment plans are tailored to the unique needs of each patient and discussed with all physicians across Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi who are involved in the patient’s care.

Treatment may include a combination of several approaches, such as:

  • Medication​​
  • Physical therapy
  • Interventional pain procedures​​​

One of several types of interventional pain procedures may be recommended, including:

  • Nerve block: An injection of medication into a group of nerves. This medication numbs the nerves and blocks pain from reaching the specific part of the body.
  • Joint injection: A non-surgical treatment for arthritis in which an anesthetic (to numb the area) or a steroid (to block the pain in the area) is injected directly into the joint.
  • Trigger point injection: A pain medication injection into an area of muscles called a trigger point. This is a knot of muscle that does not relax. These injections usually contain an anesthetic (numbing medication).
  • Spinal cord stimulation: A procedure that supplies nerves in the spinal column with mild electrical stimulation that suppresses nerve communication with the brain to block pain. ​

Psychiatric evaluation or assessment for surgical treatment may also be recommended.

Neurological Pain Management Program caregivers 

The Neurological Pain Management Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Neurological Institute is comprised of experts who are specially trained in helping patients with a range of conditions that require pain management care.

Caregivers involved in patient care for this program are:

  • Pain physicians
  • Spine surgeons
  • Neurosurgeons
  • Neurologists 
  • Psychiatrists 
  • Interventional radiologists​

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Neurological Pain Management

​لمحة عن البرنامج

الألم حالة تُصيب ملايين الأشخاص حول العالم، ويمثل مشكلة صحية معقدة وصعبة تتطلب إجراء فحوصات دقيقة للأعراض وتقديم رعاية متخصصة. ، يوفر برنامج علاج الألم العصبي التابع لمعهد الأعصاب في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي مجموعة كاملة من خدمات التقييم والعلاج لحالات الآلام الحادة أو المزمنة أو المرتبطة بالسرطان.

يضم البرنامج أخصائيون حاصلون على شهادة البورد والتدريب المتخصص في علاج الألم والسيطرة عليه من خلال نهج متعدد التخصصات قائم على مبدأ "المريض أولاً". يتعاون أعضاء الفريق من الأخصائيين في التخدير وجراحة العمود الفقري والعلاج الطبيعي والطب النفسي لتخفيف الألم وتحسين نوعية حياة المرضى.

الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج

يوفّر برنامج علاج الألم العصبي خدماته لمجموعة واسعة من حالات الألم، ومنها:

  • الألم الناحي المركب: اضطراب قد ينتج عن التعرّض لإصابة جسدية أو عملية جراحية، ومن أبرز أعراضه الإصابة بألم وتورم وطراوة في المنطقة المصابة، بالإضافة إلى مشاكل مرتبطة بالحركة الوعائية لليدين والقدمين، مثل التعرّق أو الحرقان أو التغير في لون البشرة
  • ألم الحراق: متلازمة تتسم بألم مزمن وشديد في الذراع أو الساق نتيجة التعرض لإصابة جسدية أو سكتة دماغية أو نوبة قلبية أو عملية جراحية، حيث يكون الألم أشد مما هو عليه عادة في هذه الحالات، ويكون سببه مجهولاً
  • الانزلاق الغضروفي (الديسك): ألم يُصيب أسفل الظهر أو الرقبة نتيجة انزلاق غضروفي في فقرات العمود الفقري، ما قد يُسبب في بعض الأحيان آلاماً حادة في اليدين والقدمين، إلى جانب الضعف والخدر
  • ألم مفاصل العمود الفقري: ألم ناجم عن إصابة أحد المفاصل بين فقرات العمود الفقري. تعد هذه الحالة من الأسباب الأكثر شيوعاً وراء آلام الظهر
  • الألم العضلي الليفي: ألم مزمن يُصيب النسيج الضام الذي يغطي العضلات بسبب تقلص العضلات وتشنجها بصورة متكررة، ما ينجم عنه ظهور ألم في العضلة المصابة ومناطق متفرقة من الجسم
  • اعتلال الأعصاب الطرفية المحيطية: ضرر يُصيب الأعصاب الطرفية المسؤولة عن حمل الرسائل ونقلها من الدماغ، عبر الحبل الشوكي، إلى بقية أعضاء الجسم، ما يُسبب الإصابة بالضعف والخدر والألم. وعلى الرغم من أن الألم عادةً ما يظهر في اليدين أو القدمين، إلّا أنه يمكن أن يُصيب بقية أجزاء الجسم أيضاً
  • اعتلال الجذور العصبية: حالة تُعرف أيضاً بـ "العصب المضغوط" ويكون فيها العصب متضرراً أو مضغوطاً، ما ينجم عن الإصابة بألم متشعب وضعف وخدر
  • ألم الجذور العصبية: ألم ينتشر ويتشعب بالاتجاه نحو أسفل الذراع أو الساق
  • ألم المفصل العجزي في الحوض والورك: ألم مزمن يُصيب أحد المفصلين العجزيين الموجودين في أسفل الظهر على جانبي العمود الفقري، حيث يظهر هذا الألم بشكل خفيف أو حاد في منطقة أسفل الظهر
  • ألم العمود الفقري: ألم يمكن أن يحدث في أي مكان عبر المنطقة الممتدة من أسفل الرقبة إلى أسفل الظهر وهو ينجم عن العديد من الأسباب، منها التعرض لإصابة، أو وضعيات الجسم الخاطئة، أو ضغط على أعصاب الحبل الشوكي، أو كسر في إحدى الفقرات
  • انضغاط فقرات العمود الفقري: حالة تضيق فيها الفراغات الفاصلة بين الفقرات مسببةً الألم ومضاعفات أخرى. غالبًا ما تنجم هذه الحالة عن االتهاب المفاصل، ولكن يمكن أن يكون الانزلاق الغضروفي أو التعرض لإصابة أو حدوث ورم ضمن الأسباب الأخرى التي قد تقف وراء انضغاط فقرات العمود الفقري
  • ألم البطن: ألم يُصيب أي مكان في منطقة البطن بسبب مجموعة واسعة من العوامل المسببة، مثل عسر الهضم والإمساك والغازات والتشنجات والتقلصات المصاحبة للطمث. عادةً لا تكون الأسباب وراء آلام البطن خطيرة، ولكن في بعض الأحيان قد يشير الألم إلى وجود مشكلة صحية في أحد الأعضاء في منطقة البطن
  •  التهاب المفاصل: يُصاحب التهاب المفاصل عدد من الأعراض، مثل ألم وتورم وتصلب في المفاصل يمكن أن يظهر تدريجياً أو بصورة مفاجأة. تتعدد أنواع التهاب المفاصل، إلا أن هشاشة العظام (الناجمة عن تآكل العظام ونقص كثافتها)، والتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي (أحد أمراض المناعة الذاتية) هما الأكثر شيوعاً
  • ألم ما بعد الجراحة: من الشائع بعد الخضوع لأي جراحة أن يشعر المريض بالألم في المنطقة التي أُجريت فيها العملية. ويعتمد طول المدة التي يستمر فيها الألم بشكل كبير على نوع العملية الجراحية
  • متلازمة فشل عملية الظهر: حالة تستمر معها معاناة المرضى من آلام الظهر أو العمود الفقري بعد الخضوع لعلاج جراحي في الظهر أو العمود الفقري. ويعود السبب في هذه الحالة في معظم الحالات إلى أن منطقة الجراحة ليست هي المصدر الفعلي للألم

التشخيص والعلاج

تشخيص الألم​​​​

يستخدم الأطباء في هذا البرنامج أحدث المعدات والوسائل المتقدمة لتشخيص حالات الألم ومعرفة مصدره ومسبباته ووضع الخطط العلاجية المصممة التي تلبي الاحتياجات الفردية لكل مريض. تتضمن الإجراءات التشخيصية:

  • Iلتحاليل المخبرية:​ تحليل لعينات الدم والبول التي قد يطلبها الطبيب حسب الأعراض التي يشكو منها المريض
  • الأشعة السينية: فحص تصوير طبي غير جراحي يُتيح الحصول على صور للأجزاء الداخلية من الجسم مما يساعد الطبيب في تحديد سبب الألم في حالات كسور العظام أو عيوب الهيكل العظمي
  • التصوير الطبقي المحوري: فحص تصوير طبي غير جراحي تستخدم فيه الأشعة للحصول على صور مقطعية لأعضاء الجسم الداخلية تساعد في الكشف عن مجموعة من التشوهات، بما فيها المشاكل الصحية المرتبطة بفقرات العمود الفقري
  • الرنين المغناطيسي: فحص طبي غير جراحي يستخدم فيه مغناطيس كبير الحجم وموجات إشعاعية للحصول على صور واضحة لأجزاء الجسم. ويساعد الرنين على كشف إصابات الدماغ والحبل الشركي والأمراض السرطانية والتصلب العصبي المتعدد والسكتة الدماغية والنوبة القلبية والأضرار الصحية الناجمة عن النوبة القلبية ومشاكل الديسك والفقرات وغيرها من الحالات

علاج الألم

بعد التوصل إلى التشخيص الطبي للحالة، يعمل فريق متعدد التخصصات من الأطباء على وضع خطة علاجية مصممة لتلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة للمريض. تتم مناقشة خطة العلاج مع سائر الأطباء المعنيين بتقديم الرعاية الصحية للمريض في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي. وقد يشمل العلاج مجموعة من الأساليب والوسائل المتبعة، منها:

  • الأدوية
  • العلاج الطبيعي​
  • الإجراءات التداخلية لعلاج الألم​

قد يوصي الطبيب المعالج بأحد الإجراءات التداخلية التالية المتبعة لعلاج الألم:​

  • تخدير الأعصاب: حقن دواء معين في منطقة معينة لحصر مجموعة من الأعصاب التي تسبب الألم في منطقة ما أو عضو ما، حيث يعمل هذا الدواء على تخدير الأعصاب ومنع الألم من الوصول إلى جزء محدد من الجسم
  • حقن المفاصل الموضعية: أسلوب غير جراحي لعلاج التهاب المفاصل يتم من خلاله حقن المفصل مباشرةً بدواء مخدر (لتخدير المنطقة) أو عقار مضاد للالتهابات (لمنع وصول الألم إلى المنطقة)
  • حقن النقطة المحفزة: حقن دواء مضاد للألم في منطقة عضلية تسمى "النقطة المحفزة"، وفيها تصاب العضلات بتشنج مزمن، حيث تعمل هذه الحقن على تسكين الألم بفعل الدواء المخدر
  • تحفيز الحبل الشوكي: إجراء يمد الأعصاب في العمود الفقري بتحفيز كهربائي خفيف يمنع الاتصال العصبي مع الدماغ لإيقاف الألم.

قد تتم التوصية بإجراء تقييم للحالة النفسية أو للعلاج الجراحي.

فريق البرنامج 

يضم برنامج علاج الألم العصبي التابع لمعهد الأعصاب في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي خبراء متمرسين حاصلين على تدريب خاص في مساعدة مرضى الكثير من الحالات التي تتطلب تقديم رعاية خاصة لعلاج الألم. 

يضم فريق البرنامج أخصائيين في:

  • علاج الألم
  • جراحة العمود الفقري
  •  جراحة الأعصاب
  • الطب النفسي
  •  الأشعة التدخلية

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين بعلاج الألم​