​Overview of the Allergy & Immunology Program ​

The Allergy & Immunology Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Medical Subspecialties Institute specializes in the diagnosis and management of asthma and other allergy-related conditions. The program’s caregivers offer expert care to meet the needs of our patients with a wide range of allergic and immunologic conditions, including with immunodeficiencies (when the immune system is not working properly). 

Several state-of-the-art treatments are available, including allergen immunotherapy (desensitization) with injectable and non-injectable options. Working closely with specialists in pulmonary medicine; dermatology; ear, nose, and throat; and rheumatology, the Allergy & Immunology Program team provides coordinated, patient-centered care.  

What We Treat

Allergy & Immunology Program physicians specialize in several allergic and immunologic conditions, including: 

  • Allergic rhinitis (hay fever)
  • Asthma (both allergic and non-allergic) 
  • Urticaria (hives)
  • Angioedema (swelling)
  • Food and medication allergies
  • Atopic dermatitis (commonly known as eczema, characterized by red, itchy, and inflamed skin)

The program team sees patients with symptoms that may be caused by an allergy, such as coughs, sinus headaches, or itching. The team also treats patients suffering from less common conditions, such as recurrent infections due to problems with their immune systems. 

The highly trained Allergy & Immunology Program team co-manages patients with colleagues from other programs within the Medical Subspecialties Institute. These include specialists in pulmonary medicine; ear, nose, and throat; dermatology; gastroenterology; and rheumatology. The multidisciplinary approach allows patients to receive the most comprehensive treatment possible. For example, patients with celiac disease (gluten allergy) may see an allergist, a gastroenterologist, and a dietician. These specialists complement each other, resulting in care that puts Patients First.

​Diagnosis & Treatment 

The Medical Subspecialties Institute’s Allergy & Immunology Program offers a variety of cutting-edge techniques to diagnose and treat patients affected by allergic and immunologic conditions. 

Diagnosis with Allergy & Immunology​

​During the first visit, an Allergy & Immunology Program physician obtains a detailed patient history and conducts a physical examination. Based on this information, one or more of the following tests may be performed to help confirm the allergy and determine the best treatment for the patient:​

  • Skin prick and patch tests: Skin testing is a way to determine what’s causing a patient’s allergy symptoms. Concentrated amounts of allergens, such as dander, dust mites, mold, and foods, are placed on the patient’s skin to see if they cause a reaction, like redness and swelling you might get with a mosquito bite. With a skin prick test, the physician scratches the outer layer of the skin where the allergen was placed. A safe and simple test, it provides results in 15-20 minutes. During patch testing, patches with specific allergens are applied to the skin on the patient’s back. The results are then analyzed in the clinic after three days.  
  • Blood tests: These tests involve a single needle prick to obtain a blood sample, which is then tested at a laboratory. They measure levels of antibodies (a type of protein produced as part of the body’s defense against infection and disease) released in the blood during an allergic reaction. 
  • Lung function: One or more types of tests known as lung function tests help confirm a diagnosis of asthma. These tests measure breathing and show how well the patient’s lungs are working.
  • X-rays and CT scans: Imaging tests, such as a chest x-ray or CT scan, allow the physician look inside the patient’s body to see if anything else is causing asthma or allergy symptoms.
  • Challenge testing: If the results of allergy testing are inconclusive or if it is suspected that a patient is no longer allergic to a specific food or drug, an allergy challenge test may also be performed. In a challenge test, a very small amount of an allergen is inhaled or taken by mouth. These tests are performed under close supervision by our highly trained allergists in the day ward with full resuscitative (life- saving) facilities.​

Treatment with Allergy & Immunology

Once a diagnosis is confirmed, patients receive individualized care plans and training for the optimal use of inhalers, nasal sprays and adrenaline autoinjectors (EpiPens). Patients with a specific sensitivity may be offered the option of desensitization. This stimulates the immune system with gradually increasing doses of the substances to which a person is allergic to modify or stop the allergic response. This can be done either with or without injections for a wide range of allergens and drugs, such as aspirin. Patients with severe allergies or immunodeficiency or autoimmunity conditions are provided with state-of-the-art treatments based on international guidelines.

Allergy & Immunology Program Caregivers

The Medical Subspecialties Institute’s Allergy & Immunology Program team is made up of expert caregivers who are highly trained in diagnosis and treatment of allergic and immunologic conditions, including skin prick testing, patch tests, challenge testing and desensitization procedures. 

Caregivers involved in patient care for this program include:​

  • Allergists
  • Immunologists​
  • Nurses

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Allergy & Immunology​​

Copyright © Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi LLC 2018

​لمحة عن طب الحساسية وطب المناعة

يختص برنامج طب المناعة وطب الحساسية التابع لمعهد التخصصات الطبية الدقيقة في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي بتشخيص وإدارة الربو والحالات المتعلقة بالحساسية. يقدم الطاقم الطبي القائم على البرنامج الرعاية المتميزة لتلبية الاحتياجات الصحية للمرضى المصابين بنطاق واسع من الحالات المتعلقة بالحساسية والمناعة، بما فيها العوز المناعي (اختلال وظيفة الجهاز المناعي).

يوفّر البرنامج عدّة أساليب علاجية حديثة ومتطورة، منها العلاج المناعي لمسببات الحساسية (إزالة التحسس أو نزع الحساسية) بخيارات الحقن أو غيرها. يقدّم الطاقم الطبي القائم على البرنامج رعاية متعددة التخصصات تتمحور حول المريض، وذلك بالتنسيق مع أخصائيو طب الرئة وطب الجلد والأذن والأنف والحنجرة وطبّ الروماتيزم.

الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج

يتخصص أطباء برنامج طب الحساسية وطب المناعة بالكثير من حالات الحساسية والمناعة، بما في ذلك: 

  • التهاب الأنف التحسسي (حمى القش)
  • الربو (التحسسي وغير التحسسي)
  • الشرى (مرض خلايا النحل) 
  • الوذمة الوعائية (التورم) 
  • الحساسية من الأطعمة والأدوية
  • التهاب الجلد التأتبي (المعروف بالأكزيما التي تسبب احمرار والتهاب وحكة الجلد)

يستقبل فريق البرنامج المرضى الذين يعانون من الأعراض التي تسببها الحساسية كالسعال والصداع الجيبي أو الحكة، ويعالج المرضى المصابين بالحالات الأقل شيوعاً كالالتهابات المتكررة بسبب مشكلات الجهاز المناعي. 

يشارك الأطباء المتمرسون في برنامج طب الحساسية وطب المناعة بإدارة حالات المرضى بالتعاون مع زملائهم في البرامج الأخرى ضمن معهد التخصصات الطبية الدقيقة، حيث يتضمن ذلك الأخصائيون في مجال طب الرئة وطب الأنف والأذن والحنجرة وطبّ الجلد وطبّ الجهاز الهضمي وطبّ الروماتيزم. وتتيح المنهجية متعددة الاختصاصات المتبعة للمرضى الحصول على العلاج الشامل، إذ يمكن للمرضى المصابين بمرض الاضطرابات الهضمية (حساسية الغلوتين) استشارة أخصائي طب الحساسية وأخصائي طب الجهاز الهضمي وأخصائي التغذية. تتكامل جهود هؤلاء الأخصائيين لتقديم رعاية فائقة تتبع مبدأ "المريض أولاً".

التشخيص والعلاج

يوفّر برنامج طب الحساسية وطب المناعة التابع لمعهد التخصصات الطبية الدقيقة مجموعة منوعة من التقنيات الحديثة المتطورة لتشخيص وعلاج المرضى الذين يعانون من الحالات المتعلقة بالحساسية والمناعة.

التشخيص ضمن برنامج طب الحساسية وطب المناعة

خلال الزيارة الأولى يحصل طبيب برنامج طب الحساسية وطب المناعة على التاريخ الصحي المفصّل للمريض ويجري المعاينة الجسدية، وبناءً على هذه المعلومات يمكن إجراء أحد الفحوصات التالية أو أكثر للمساعدة على تأكيد تشخيص الإصابة بالحساسية وتحديد العلاج الأمثل للمريض:

  • اختبارات وخز الجلد والرقع: اختبار الجلد هو طريقة لتحديد سبب ظهور أعراض الحساسية على المريض، توضع كميات مركزة من مسببات الحساسية مثل الوبر وعث الغبار والعفن والأطعمة على جلد المريض لمراقبة ردود الفعل كالاحمرار والتورم الناجم عن التعرّض للسعة بعوضة. يقوم الطبيب من خلال اختبار وخز الجلد بحك الطبقة الخارجية من الجلد، حيث توضع مسببات الحساسية، يجدر الذكر أنه اختبار آمن وبسيط ويوفّر النتائج المطلوبة في غضون 15-20 دقيقة. أمّا اختبار الرقع فينطوي على وضع رقع تحتوي على بعض مسببات الحساسية على ظهر المريض، ثم يتم تحليل النتائج في العيادة بعد مضي ثلاثة أيام.
  • تحليل الدم: ينطوي هذا التحليل على سحب عينة من الدم باستخدام إبرة واحدة لفحصها في المختبر، وذلك بهدف قياس مستويات الأجسام المضادة (نوع من البروتينات التي ينتجها الجسم للدفاع عن نفسه ضد العدوى والأمراض) التي تطلق في الدم على أثر رد الفعل التحسسي. 
  • اختبارات وظيفة الرئة: يساعد نوع أو أكثر من اختبارات وظيفة الرئة على تأكيد تشخيص الإصابة بالربو، حيث تقيس هذه الاختبارات القدرة على التنفس وتكشف عن مدى فعالية رئتي المريض في أداء وظيفتيهما. 
  • التصوير بالأشعة السينية والأشعة المقطعية: تسمح اختبارات التصوير الشعاعي كالأشعة السينية والأشعة المقطعية للطبيب برؤية ما بداخل جسم المريض والتعرّف على أسباب أعراض الربو أو الحساسية. 
  • اختبار التحدي: في حال لم تكن نتائج اختبار الحساسية قاطعة ومؤكدة أو الشك بأن المريض لم يعد يتحسس تجاه نوع معين من الأطعمة أو الأدوية، فإنه يتم إجراء اختبار التحدي الذي ينطوي على استنشاق كمية صغيرة جداً من أحد مسببات الحساسية أو تناولها عن طريق الفم. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنه يتم إجراء هذا النوع من الاختبارات تحت إشراف أحد أخصائيي طب الحساسية المتمرسين في عنبر رعاية اليوم الواحد مع ضرورة وجود معدات الإنعاش (المنقذة للحياة).

العلاج ضمن برنامج طب الحساسية وطب المناعة

عند التأكد من التشخيص الدقيق يُوضع للمرضى خطط علاجية مخصصة لهم ويتم تدريبهم على استخدام أجهزة الاستنشاق وبخاخات الأنف وحقن الأدرينالين الذاتية (إيبي بينز). ويُعرض على المرضى الذين يعانون من أنواع معيّنة من الحساسية خيار إجراء نزع الحساسية، والذي ينطوي على تحفيز الجهاز المناعي مع زيادة جرعات المواد التي يتحسس منها المريض تدريجياً، وذلك بهدف تعديل أو إيقاف الاستجابة التحسسية. ويمكن إجراء نزع الحساسية باستخدام الحقن أو دونها لنطاق واسع من مسببات الحساسية والأدوية مثل الأسبرين. يخضع المرضى الذين يعانون من الحساسية أو عوز المناعة أو الحالات المتعلقة بالمناعة الذاتية على للعلاج بأحدث الأساليب العلاجية المتقدمة وفقاً للمبادئ التوجيهية الإرشادية العالمية.

فريق البرنامج

يتألف فريق برنامج طب الحساسية وطب المناعة من أخصائيين متمرسين ومدرّبين على تشخيص وعلاج حالات الحساسية والمناعة الذاتية، بما فيها اختبار وخز الجلد والرقع واختبار التحدي وإجراءات إزالة الحساسية. ويضم فريق الرعاية:

  • أخصائيي طب الحساسية
  • أخصائيي طب المناعة
  • طاقم تمريض

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين ببرنامج طب الحساسية وطب المناعة

 حقوق النشر محفوظة لدى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي ذ.م.م. 2018