Overview of the PET.CT Molecular Imaging Program

Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s offers PET.CT Molecular Imaging through its program in Al Ain which supports  advanced imaging diagnostics in specialties such as oncology, cardiology, and neurology.

PET.CT imaging uses injections of small quantities of a radiotracer (radioactive dye) to produce three-dimensional, functional and anatomical images of an organ or the entire body. This important technology allows physicians to make much more accurate assessments of disease status and to create personalized, Patients First treatment plans.

Highly knowledgeable physicians care for patients in a state-of-the-art facility equipped with a PET.CT scanner and a Cyclotron, a machine that produces radiotracers for molecular imaging. These enable the PET.CT Molecular Imaging. Program to realize what are among the most advanced imaging studies in the region.

What We Treat

PET.CT molecular imaging is an invaluable, noninvasive diagnostic aid for physicians. It is instrumental in early detection and treatment planning for patients with conditions such as cancer, cardiovascular disease (CVD), neurological disease, and other illnesses. 

A cutting-edge technology, PET.CT provides information that other imaging tests do not, enabling physicians to identify diseases in their early stages and to determine the exact location of the problem. Because nuclear medicine scans provide imaging at the cellular and molecular level, PET.CT imaging can also assist in diagnosing an issue before symptoms occur, or before the condition can be detected with other kinds of tests.​​​

PET.CT imaging is used to diagnose and manage a wide range of conditions, including:

  • Coronary heart disease
  • Cancer
  • Brain disorders (including epilepsy and Alzheimer’s disease)

Diagnosis & Treatment with PET.CT Molecular Imaging

Patients are typically referred to the PET.CT Molecular Imaging Program by a specialist physician. Referring specialists may be cardiologists at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Heart & Vascular Institute, neurologists at the Neurological Institute, oncologists, or other physicians.

Prior to a PET.CT imaging study, the patient receives an intravenous injection with a radioactive dye, called a radiotracer, which either accumulates in a target organ or attaches to specific cells. The PET.CT scanning equipment is then able to detect the radiotracer and create pictures that show its distribution in the body. By looking at the way the radiotracer is distributed, physicians can evaluate the function of tissues and organs.

PET.CT imaging tests and procedures performed by expert physicians in the PET.CT Molecular Imaging Program include:

  • Absolute blood flow imaging (for coronary heart disease, pre-surgical evaluation in epilepsy, early diagnosis of dementia, bone tumors, and other cancers)​
  • Tests for myocardial (heart muscle) perfusion (blood flow), viability, and inflammation or infection
  • Assessing the spread of bone cancer​
  • Identifying causes of bone pain
  • Evaluation of epilepsy and Alzheimer’s disease
  • Evaluation of cancer

Following the study, the radiologist generates a complete report for the physician who referred the patient.

PET.CT Molecular Imaging Program Caregivers

The PET.CT Molecular Imaging Program at the Imaging Institute is composed of Western-board or equivalent certified physicians and other team members who possess an exceptional depth of expertise in the field. Specialists are cross-trained in radiology, nuclear medicine, and nuclear cardiology. Caregivers involved in patient care for this program are:

  • Radiologists
  • Technologists specializing in nuclear medicine​
  • Certified nurses trained to work with patients undergoing nuclear medicine studies​


Copyright © Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi LLC 2017​

نظرة عامة على برنامج التصوير الجزيئي

يقدم برنامج التصوير الجزيئي في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي دعمًا للتصوير المتقدم في مجال التشخيص في تخصصات متعددة مثل أمراض القلب والأعصاب والأورام.

يستخدم التصوير الجزيئي طريقة حقن كميات صغيرة من مادة مشعة (صبغة مشعة) لإنتاج صور ثلاثية الأبعاد، وظيفية وتشريحية لعضو معين في الجسم أو للجسم كله. وتسمح هذه التكنولوجيا الهامة للأطباء بإجراء تقييمات أكثر دقة لحالة المرض ووضع الخطط العلاجية بما يتناسب مع حالة كل مريض.

يتولى أطباء متمرسون رعاية المرضى في منشأة مجهزة بأحدث أجهزة المسح بالتصوير الجزيئي والسيكلوترون، وهو عبارة عن جهاز يصدر مادة مشعة للتصوير الجزيئي. وهو ما يمكن برنامج التصوير الجزيئي من الاستفادة من دراسات وأبحاث التصوير الأكثر تقدمًا في المنطقة.

ما هي الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج؟

يمثل التصوير الجزيئي للأطباء تقنية لا تقدر بثمن لتشخيص الأمراض دون الحاجة للتدخل الجراحي. وهو فعال في الكشف المبكر عن الأمراض ووضع الخطط العلاجية للمرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض مثل السرطان وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية، والأمراض العصبية، وغيرها من الأمراض.

الجزيئي المتطورة بقدرتها على توفير معلومات تعجز تقنيات التصوير الأخرى عن توفيرها، وهو ما يمكن الأطباء من تشخيص الأمراض في مراحلها المبكرة وتحديد مكان العلة بالضبط. ونظرًا لقدرة التصوير بتكنولوجيا الطب النووي على توفير صور على المستوى الخلوي والجزيئي، يمكن للتصوير الجزيئي أيضًا المساعدة في تشخيص العلة قبل ظهور الأعراض، أو قبل اكتشاف الحالة بتقنيات الفحص الأخرى.

ويستخدم التصوير الجزيئي لتشخيص وعلاج مجموعة واسعة من الحالات المرضية، مثل:       

  • داء الشريان التاجي
  • السرطان
  • اضطرابات المخ (بما في ذلك الصّرع والزهايمر)​

التشخيص والعلاج بتكنولوجيا التصوير الجزيئي

عادة ما يتم تحويل المرضى إلى برنامج التصوير الجزيئي من قبل طبيب متخصص. ويمكن أن تتم عملية التحويل بمعرفة طبيب أمراض القلب في معهد القلب والأوعية الدموية  بمركز كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، أو طبيب مخ وأعصاب في معهد الأعصاب، أو أخصائي أورام، أو غيرهم من الأطباء.

وقبل إجراء التصوير الجزيئي، يتلقى المريض حقنة في الوريد بصبغة مشعة، تسمى "راديوتراسر"، والتي إما تتراكم في العضو المستهدف بالتشخيص أو تعلق بخلايا محددة. وبذلك يتمكن جهاز التصوير الجزيئي من الكشف عن المادة المشعة وعمل صور تظهر توزيعها في الجسم. ومن خلال رؤية طريقة توزيع المادة المشعة، يمكن للأطباء تقييم وظيفة الأنسجة والأعضاء.

وتتم فحوص وإجراءات التصوير الجزيئي بمعرفة أطباء متمرسين في برنامج التصوير الجزيئي، والتي تشمل ما يلي:

  • التصوير الحر لتدفق الدم (داء الشريان التاجي، وتقييم ما قبل الجراحة في حالتا الصرع، والتشخيص المبكر للخرف، وأورام العظام، وغيرها من أنواع السرطان)
  •  فحوص نضح عضلة القلب (عضلة القلب)، وحيوية عضلة القلب (الدورة الدموية)، والتهاب عضلة القلب أو العدوى
  •  فحص انتشار سرطان العظام
  •  تحديد أسباب آلم العظام
  •  فحص الصّرع ومرض الزهايمر
  • فحص السرطان​

مقدمو الرعاية ببرنامج التصوير الجزيئي

يتألف برنامج التصوير الجزيئي في معهد التصوير الشعاعي من أطباء معتمدين من قبل ويسترن بورد أو ما يعادلها من شهادات الاعتماد وأعضاء الفريق الآخرين الذين يمتلكون خبرات استثنائية عريضة في هذا المجال. ويتم تدريب الأخصائيين في الطب الإشعاعي، والطب النووي، وأمراض القلب النووية. يضم فريق البرنامج ما يلي:

  • أخصائيي التصوير الشعاعي
  • فنيين متخصصين في الطب النووي
  •  ممرضين معتمدين مدربين على العمل مع المرضى الذين يخضعون لفحوصات الطب النووي​


اطلع على ملفات جميع الطباء المعنيين ببرنامج التصوير الجزيئي​

حقوق النشر محفوظة لدى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي ذ.م.م. 2017​