Overview of Our Interventional Pain Mana​gement Cen​​ter

Chronic pain is a complex issue, and we understand that it can be a burden on patients and their families. At the Interventional Pain Management Center, our team of experts offer the latest cutting edge, minimally invasive interventional methods to treat patients with acute, chronic pain, and cancer-related pain. 

Our goal is to reduce pain, and improve functional levels and quality of life, while eliminating addictive medicine. 

Our board-certified multidisciplinary team of interventional pain physicians, psychologists, and physical therapists focus on individually tailored treatment through the latest minimally invasive, evidence-based techniques.

Multidisciplinary Treatment for Pain Managem​​e​nt​

We believe in a multidisciplinary care model which includes non-addictive medications, physical therapy, psychology and interventional pain procedures.

  • Peripheral Nerve Stimulation (PNS): A minimally-invasive procedure that targets our peripheral nerves. A tiny wire delivers electrical stimulation at the exact source of the pain, which changes the way the brain perceives the pain. PNS is a safe and reversible procedure that can treat pain associated with chronic neuropathic pain of the upper and lower extremities, shoulder and knee pain, groin pain or nerve damage after surgery, chronic back pain and more. Read More​
  • Interventional Procedures for Pain Management: Differential Target Multiplexed (DTM) Spinal Cord Simulation (SCS):
    Offers patients the very latest interventional technique, with more than 80% reporting a notable reduction in chronic pain. The implanted DTM device targets neurons, as well as two types of cells involved the chronic pain pathway, to give exceptional pain relief results. DTM is especially effective in treating patients who are experiencing pain after surgery.
  • Spinal Cord Stimulation (SCS): A small device is implanted near the source of the chronic pain, and delivers electrical impulses which interfer with pain signals before they reach the brain.
  • Intrathecal Pump (ITP)​: A device is implanted that delivers pain medication to the spinal fluid. It helps patients suffering from chronic pain related to cancer or patients with chronic pain where other treatments weren’t successful.
  • Dorsal Root Ganglion Stimulation (DRG):  A novel devi​ce designed for patients suffering from focal neuropathic pain related to Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS). Similar to traditional Spinal Cord Stimulation, DRG delivers electrical signals to the dorsal root ganglion, a bundle of nerves just outside the spinal cord. 
  • Kyphoplasty and Vertebroplasty: These procedures can be effective in treating people with vertebral compression fractures due to trauma, osteoporosis, or cancer. Kyphoplasty involves cement insertion inside the vertebral body together with creation of a cavity using a balloon, which allows the cement to be injected before being removed.
  • Epidural Steroid Injections (ESIs): Often used to treat nerve pain, which radiates from the spine down and can cause sharp pains to shoot from the lower back into the legs, or from the neck into the shoulders and arms.
  • Medial Branch Blocks (MBB): Used for the diagnosis and treatment of pain related to arthritis of the small joints of the spine,including the neck, mid and low back pain. If the patient experiences good pain relief from the procedure, they can be a candidate for radiofrequency ablation.
  • Radiofrequency Ablation (RFA): A device is used to deliver an electrical current and heat to the small nerves of the spine and joints. It can provide long lasting pain relief to patients suffering from chronic neck and back pain as well as patients suffering from knee, hip and shoulder pain due to arthritis.
  • Cooled Radiofrequency ablation (COLIEF): A device that can help patients suffering from knee, hip and shoulder pain. This minimally invasive treatment targets nerves that transmit pain signals, and it’s the first and only radiofrequency treatment FDA-cleared for the relief of osteoarthritis knee pain.
  • Transdiscal Biacuplasty: A novel procedure, used to treat back pain due to intrinsic intervertebral disc problems, or “lumbar discogenic pain”, which applies heat to the outer part of the disc between the lumbar spine vertebrae and ablate the neurons that generate pain sensations.

Other pain management procedures we offer include:

  • ​Joint and bursa injections for knee, shoulder, hip and other peripheral joints using ultrasound or X-ray guidance.
  • Sacroiliac joint steroid injections for back/buttock pain related to sacroiliac joint (SIJ) dysfunction.
  • Intercostal nerve blocks for chest wall pain.
  • Superficial nerve blocks for headache such as occipital nerve blocks, sphenopalatine ganglion block and BOTOX injections.
  • Nerve blocks for shoulder pain including suprascapular, axillary nerve blocks.  
  • Trigeminal nerve blocks for trigeminal neuralgia.
  • Nerve blocks for abdominal pain including ilioinguinal, iliohypogastric, TAP, celiac plexus blocks.
  • Nerve blocks to treat pelvic pain such as ganglion impar blocks, superior hypogastric blocks and pudendal nerve blocks. 
  • Sympathetic nerve blocks to treat Complex Regional Pain Syndrome CRPS: lumbar sympathetic block, stellate ganglion block..
  • Discogram for diagnosis of lumbar discogenic pain
  • Trigger point injections for myofascial muscle pain
  • Epidural blood patch to treat post-dural puncture headaches.

What do we treat?

  • Cancer-related pain
  • Cervical degenerative disc disease
  • Chronic abdominal pain
  • Chronic back pain
  • Chronic headache and facial pain
  • Chronic hip pain and osteoarthritis
  • Chronic knee pain and osteoarthritis
  • Chronic neck pain
  • Chronic pelvic pain
  • Chronic shoulder pain
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome CRPS
  • Failed back surgery syndrome
  • Lumbar degenerative disc disease
  • Myofascial muscle pain
  • Neuropathy including diabetic neuropathy
  • Osteoarthritis of the spine​
  • Pain after back/spine surgery
  • Pain after peripheral nerve injuries
  • Post-dural puncture headache PDPH
  • Sciatica
  • Shingles pain and post herpetic neuralgia PHN
  • Spinal Stenosis
  • Vertebral Compression Fractures

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Interventional Pain Management 

Copyright © Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi LLC 2020

​​​
Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!

​لمحة عن المركز

يوفر فريق العمل في مركز علاج الألم التدخلي علاجات حديثة قليلة التدخل لحل مشكلة الألم المزمن التي يمكن أن تشكل عبء على المرضى وعائلاتهم ومساعدة المرضى الذين يعانون من الألم المزمن والحاد والألم الناجم عن السرطان. 

يهدف المركز إلى تخفيف الألم وتحسين جودة حياة المريض وتجنب الإدمان على الأدوية. 

يضم فريق العمل خبراء حاصلين على شهادات البورد في عدة تخصصات، مثل علاج الألم التدخلي والطب النفسي والعلاج الفيزيائي، وهو يركز على إعداد خطة علاج تناسب الاحتياجات الفردية لكل مريض باستخدام تقنيات حديثة قليلة التدخل مبنية على الأدلة.

نهج متعدد التخصصات لعلاج الألم

نحن نثق بنموذج الرعاية متعددة التخصصات التي تتضمن الأدوية التي لا تؤدي إلى الإدمان والعلاج الفيزيائي وطب النفس والإجراءات التدخلية.

  • تحفيز العصب المحيطي(PNS): هو إجراء طفيف التوغل لاستهداف الأعصاب المحيطية. يتم زراعة سلك رفيع بهدف توصيل النبضات الكهربائية إلى الأعصاب الطرفية (المحيطية) المسببة للألم، مما يؤدي إلى تغيير الطريقة التي يستقبل بها الدماغ الألم. يعد التحفيز العصبي المحيطي إجراء آمن وقابل للعكس، يتم استخدامه لعلاج الآلام المزمنة المصاحبة للعديد من الحالات المرضية مثل آلام الأعصاب في الأطراف العلوية والسفلية، آلام الكتف والركبة المستمرة، إصابات الاعصاب عقب الجراحة وآلام الظهر المزمنة. اقرأ المزيد​
  • الإجراءات التدخلية لعلاج الألم: محاكي الحبل الشوكي التفاضلي ذو الاستهداف المضاعف(DTM) :
    يقدم هذا الإجراء للمرضى أحدث التقنيات التداخلية، حيث أفاد ما يزيد عن 80 % من إجمالي الحالات بانخفاض ملحوظ في حدة الآلام المزمنة. يقوم هذا الجهاز الذي يتم استزراعة باستهداف الخلايا العصبية، بالإضافة إلى نوعين آخرين من الخلايا المسؤولة عن آلية حدوث الآلام المزمنة، وذلك للحصول على نتائج علاجية مدهشة لتخ​فيف حدة الشعور بالألم. يتسم هذا الجهاز بالفاعلية المتميزة في علاج المرضى الذين يعانون من الألم بعد الخضوع للجراحة.
  • تحفيز الحبل الشوكي (SCS): يتم زرع جهاز صغير بالقرب من مصدر الألم المزمن، حيث يقوم بإرسال نبضات كهربائية تتداخل مع إشارات الألم قبل وصولها إلى الدماغ.
  • جهاز حقن داخل القراب النخاعي (ITP): هو جهاز يتم زراعته كي يقوم بتوصيل مسكنات الألم إلى السائل النخاعي. يساعد هذا الجهاز المرضى الذين يعانون من الآلام المزمنة الناجمة عن الأورام السرطانية، كما يمكن استخدامه مع المرضى الذين يعانون من الآلام المزمنة التي أخفقت العلاجات الأخرى في شفائها.
  • تحفيز العقدة الجذرية الظهرية (DRG): هو جهاز جديد مصمم للمرضى الذين يعانون من آلام الأعصاب البؤرية المرتبطة بمتلازمة الألم الناحي المركب. على غرار التحفيز التقليدي للحبل الشوكي، يقوم محفز العقدة الجذرية الظهرية بإرسال وتوصيل إشارات كهربية إلى العقدة الجذرية الظهرية، وهي مجموعة من الأعصاب تقع خارج الحبل الشوكي.
  • تقويم الفقرات ورأب العمود الفقري: يمكن أن تكون هذه الإجراءات فعالة في علاج الأشخاص الذين يعانون من كسور ضاغطة بالعمود الفقري ناجمة عن التعرض للرضوح أو هشاشة العظام أو السرطان.
  • حقن الستيرويد فوق الجافية (ESIs): غالباً ما يستخدم لعلاج آلام الأعصاب، والتي تنتشر من العمود الفقري إلى أسفل، ويمكن أن تسبب آلاما حادة تنتقل من أسفل الظهر إلى الساقين، أو من الرقبة إلى الكتفين والذراعين.
  • تخدير فروع الأعصاب الأنسية (MBB): تستخدم هذه الطريقة لتشخيص وعلاج الآلام المتعلقة بالتهاب المفاصل الصغيرة بالعمود الفقري، بما في ذلك آلام الرقبة ومنتصف الظهر وأسفل الظهر. بالنسبة للمرضى الذين يصادفون تحسناً كبيراً على صعيد الألم بعد الخضوع لهذا الإجراء، فيمكنهم أن يكونوا مرشحين لتقنية الاستئصال باستخدام ترددات موجات الراديو.
  • الاستئصال بواسطة ترددات موجات الراديو (RFA): هو جهاز يستخدم لتوصيل التيار الكهربي والحرارة للأعصاب الدقيقة الموجودة في العمود الفقري والمفاصل. يمكن أن توفر هذه التقنية تسكين طويل الأمد للمرضى الذين يعانون من آلام الرقبة والظهر المزمنة، بالإضافة إلى المرضى الذين يعانون من آلام الركبة والورك والكتف الناجمة عن التهاب المفاصل.
  • الاستئصال المبرد بواسطة ترددات موجات الراديو (COLIEF): هو جهاز يمكن أن يساعد المرضى الذين يعانون من آلام الركبة والورك والكتف. يستهدف هذا العلاج طفيف التوغل الأعصاب التي تنقل إشارات الألم، وهي الوسيلة العلاجية الأولى والوحيدة باستخدام ترددات موجات الراديو المصرح بها من قبل إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير للتخفيف من آلام التهاب مفاصل الركبة.
  • ازالة الخلايا العصبية عن الأقراص: هو إجراء حديث يستخدم لعلاج آلام الظهر الناتجة عن مشكلات القرص الغضروفي الموجود بين الفقرات، والتي تعرف أيضا باسم "آلام الأقراص القطنية". يعتمد هذا الإجراء على استخدام الحرارة على الجزء الخارجي من القرص الغضروفي الموجود بين الفقرات القطنية، مما يؤدي إلى استئصال الخلايا العصبية المسئولة عن الشعور بالألم.​

كما تتضمن إجراءات إدارة الألم الأخرى التي نقدمها ما يلي:

  • الحقن المفصلي والجرابي في الركبة والكتف والورك والمفاصل الطرفية الأخرى بتوجيه التصوير بالأشعة السينية أو الموجات فوق الصوتية
  • الحقن الستيرويدية للمفصل العجزي الحرقفي لعلاج آلام الظهر أو الأرداف المتعلقة بخلل في المفصل العجزي الحرقفي
  • تخدير العصب الوربي لعلاج ألم جدار الصدر
  • تخدير الأعصاب السطحية لعلاج الصداع، مثل تخدير الأعصاب القذالية والعقدة الوريدية وحقن البوتوكس
  • تخدير الأعصاب لعلاج آلام الكتف، مثل تخدير الأعصاب في منطقتي الإبط وفوق الكتف
  • تخدير العصب الثلاثي التوائم لعلاج الألم الناجم عنه
  • تخدير الأعصاب لعلاج آلام البطن، مثل العصب الحرقفي الإربي والعصب الحرقفي الخثلي وأعصاب الضفيرة البطنية
  • تخدير الأعصاب لعلاج آلام الحوض
  • تخدير الأعصاب الودية لعلاج متلازمة الألم الموضعية المعقدة
  • صورة القرص بين الفقرات لتشخيص الآلام الناجمة عن أقراص الفقرات القطنية
  • حقن النقطة المسببة لآلام اللفافات العضلية
  • حقن الدم فوق الجافية لعلاج الصداع بعد ثقب فوق الجافية

الحالات التي يعالجها المركز

  • الألم الناجم عن السرطان
  • الديسك التنكسي في الفقرات الرقبية
  • ألم البطن المزمن
  • ألم الظهر المزمن
  • الصداع وألم الوجه المزمنين
  • الألم والالتهاب المزمن في مفصل الورك
  • الألم والالتهاب المزمن في مفصل الركبة
  • ألم الرقبة المزمن
  • ألم الحوض المزمن
  • ألم الكتف المزمن
  • متلازمة الألم الموضعية المعقدة CRPS
  • متلازمة فشل جراحة الظهر 
  • مرض الديسك التنكسي في الفقرات القطنية
  • ألم عضلات الوجه
  • اعتلال الأعصاب، مثل اعتلال الأعصاب السكري
  • التهاب مفاصل العمود الفقري التنكسي
  • الألم بعد جراحة العمود الفقري
  • الألم بعد إصابات الأعصاب الطرفية
  • صداع ما بعد ثقب الجافية PDPH
  • عرق النسا
  • ألم القوباء المنطقية وما بعد الألم العصبي الهربسي
  • التضيق الشوكي
  • كسور الفقرات الانضغاطية

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين بعلاج الألم التدخلي​

حقوق النشر محفوظة لدى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي ذ.م.م. 2020

​​​​
Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!