Chronic Headaches Develop Into Life-Threatening Symptoms

Marwa Ahm, a 30-year-old office administrator, had been suffering from worsening headaches and muscle pain for years. At first, Marwa attributed her symptoms to poor sitting posture and sought help for muscle pain relief. But after returning from holiday in October 2017, her symptoms began to get progressively worse: over-the-counter pain medications no longer worked to relieve her headaches, which would often return stronger within a couple of hours. She experienced vomiting, dizziness 24 hours a day, and started to feel heaviness in her left leg and arm. 

At this point, Marwa knew she needed to seek medical help and consulted with physicians at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi. “I was dizzy all the time,” says Marwa. “I wasn’t eating because of severe nausea and headaches. I was no longer able to walk alone. I was worried I was going to fall at any time.”

Rare Emergency Surgery Brings Relief

Within two weeks of meeting with neurologists at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, Marwa was given her diagnosis: a 4.5-centimeter benign (non-cancerous) tumor on the left side of her brain, at the base of the skull, was affecting the nerves and causing her symptoms. The type of tumor that Marwa had occurs in only four out of every 100,000 people.

The nature of her diagnosis meant that she needed to have surgical intervention as soon as possible. First, Marwa had surgery to implant a device called a ventriculoperitoneal (VP) shunt, a thin tube that drains fluid from the brain to relieve pressure in the area. A few days later, she had a highly complex surgery to remove the tumor.

The risky operation Marwa underwent is unique to Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi -- it is not offered anywhere else in the country. Marwa was treated by Dr. Florian Roser, Chief of Neurosurgery at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, and his neurology team.

Possible risks include numbness in the face, double vision, stroke-like symptoms, and the possibility of not being able to swallow. 

Marwa shares, “Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi is one amazing place. I don’t like hospitals, but honestly, I got my life back again because of the people that helped me. With all of the suffering and pain that I’d gone through, they were helpful, kind and amazing people. Even my family was treated very kindly.” She declares, “It was the best place I could ever be.”

A Brand New Beginning

Marwa returned to work just one month after the procedure to remove the tumor. She is currently free of symptoms and able to return to doing the things she loves with a new sense of purpose. 

“I have become a much stronger person through this process. Life is worth taking good care of yourself. It’s not about getting the perfect job, buying a certain car or going shopping. There is no life without health. That’s what’s important. If you have good health, you’re living. If you’re not in good health, you’re not living.”

​صداع مُزمن يتحوّل إلى مرض خطير  

ظنت مروة أحمد، وهي موظفة تبلغ من العمر 30 عاماً، أن وضعية الجلوس غير الصحية أثناء العمل هي السبب في معاناتها من الصداع والألم العضلي على مدى سنوات. لكن بعد عودتها من عُطلة في شهر أكتوبر 2017، لاحظت مروة أن حالتها الصحية بدأت تتفاقم تدريجياً، وأن المُسكّنات لم تعد مجدية في تخفيف الصداع الذي كان سرعان ما يعود إليها، هذا بالإضافة إلى وجود أعراض أخرى مثل التقيؤ والشعور الدائم بالدوار، كما بدأت تشعر بثقلٍ في ساقها وذراعها الُيسرى. 

تقول مروة: "كنت أشعر بدوار طوال الوقت، ولم أتمكن من تناول الطعام بسبب الغثيان وشدة الصداع وأصبحت غير قادرة على المشي بمفردي خوفاً من التعرض للسقوط في أي وقت". في تلك المرحلة، أدركت حاجتها للرعاية الطبية العاجلة، فقررت استشارة الأطباء في مستشفى "كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي".

جراحة طارئة نادرة تُنهي معاناة مروة

بعد أسبوعين من زيارة الأخصائيين في طب الأعصاب في مستشفى "كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي"، علمت مروة أن نتائج تشخيصها تشير إلى وجود ورمٍ حميد (غير سرطاني) قطره 4.5 سنتيمتراً في الجانب الأيسر من الدماغ عند قاعدة الجمجمة. وأفاد الأطباء بأن الورم كان يضغط على الأعصاب ما أدى إلى ظهور تلك الأعراض لديها. يصيب نوع الورم الذي اكتُشف لدى مروة أربعة من بين كلّ 100 ألف شخص، وهو من الحالات المرضية التي تستدعي عملية جراحية عاجلة. 

وكخطوة أولى، قام الأطباء بزرع جهاز طبي يعرف باسم "التحويلة البطينية الصفاقية"، وهو عبارة عن أنبوب رفيع يتم إدخاله إلى الدماغ لصرف السوائل الزائدة والتخفيف من الضغط داخله، وبعد ذلك بعدة أيام، استأصلوا الورم عن طريق عملية جراحية شديدة التعقيد. 

وينفرد مستشفى "كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي" في إجراء هذه الجراحة الخطيرة التي لا تتوفر في أي مستشفى آخر داخل دولة الإمارات. وقد تولّى الدكتور فلوريان روزر، رئيس قسم جراحة الأعصاب في مستشفى "كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي"، وفريقه الجراحي علاج المريضة. وتنطوي هذه الجراحة المعقدة على مضاعفات محتملة، مثل الشعور بخدر في الوجه وازدواجية الرؤية وما يشبه أعراض السكتة الدماغية، بالإضافة إلى احتمال فقدان القدرة على البلع.

وفي وصفها لتجربتها قالت مروة: " "كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي" مستشفى رائع فعلاً. وبالرغم من أنني لا أحب المستشفيات، لكنّني صدقاً ما كُنت لأتجاوز محنتي ومُعاناتي تلك لولا ما حظيت به من مساعدة ودعم من قبل طاقم عمل المستشفى. لقد كانوا لُطفاء في تعاملهم معي ومع عائلتي".

بداية جديدة

بعد شهر واحد من استئصال الورم الدماغي، عادت مروة لممارسة عملها بشكل طبيعي وتلاشت أعراض المرض لديها، إذ تقول: "جعلتني تلك التجربة أكثر قوة من ذي قبل، وأدركت بأن على المرء الاهتمام بنفسه جيداً. أدركت بأن السعادة الحقيقية في الحياة ليست في الحصول على عمل مناسب، أو شراء سيارة، أو التسوّق، بل في المحافظة على الصحة. هذا هو الأمر المهم. الصحة الجيدة هي أهم ما نملك، وبدونها  نفقد جوهَر الحياة". ​