" ​​​​
 

​An Emirati athlete who received life-changing surgery for a bowel condition is now able to pursue his Olympic dream.

Mohammad Hassan is a UAE Olympic hopeful and all-round athletic superstar. Following surgery to remove his colon in 2020, he has been given a new lease of life to participate in the many sports and activities he enjoys.

Mohammad was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis 15 years ago. The chronic condition causes inflammation of the gut, and symptoms can include pain, persistent diarrhea, weight loss and fatigue. Many patients can control ulcerative colitis with medication, but for Mohammad, they didn’t work. He visited doctors all over the world in an effort to find a cure. 

Always an active sports enthusiast, Mohammad enjoyed all sports and represented the UAE in rugby. However, when his condition began to deteriorate, he was forced to give up the game he loved.

Mohammad says, “I was really struggling – I was using the bathroom 15 to 20 times a day, which forced me to stop playing rugby. I didn’t want to let my team down, but the condition was controlling my life. I had to plan everything I did around having a toilet nearby.”

Although his bowel condition forced him to give up rugby, it did set him on an entirely new path, and he discovered a passion for surfing – something he found easier to manage with his condition. He travelled the world competing in the World Surfing League and set his sights on representing the UAE at the Tokyo Olympic Games. 

It was at this stage that a friend, who also suffers from ulcerative colitis, suggested that Mohammad visit Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi to finally take control of his condition. The care team recommended a colonoscopy, as patients with ulcerative colitis are at a higher risk of developing cancer. 

Dr. Zaher Koutoubi​, Consultant Gastroenterologist at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi says, “A colonoscopy revealed pre-cancerous cells in Mohammad’s colon. Our multidisciplinary team, including surgeons and pathologists, met to discuss Mohammad’s case and explore all possible treatment options. It was established that he should be referred for a total colectomy to remove his colon. In addition to stopping the cancer in its tracks, this would effectively cure his colitis and eliminate his symptoms.” 

Following surgery, Mohammad was fitted with a stoma and ostomy bag, which his care team taught him how to use and care for as he recovered. Doctors plan two more surgeries in the future to restore his bowel function by constructing a ‘j-pouch’ that will eliminate his need for a bag altogether, allowing him to use the toilet normally again.

Dr. Shafik Sidani, the colorectal surgeon who performed the surgery at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi said, “Because Mohammad’s surgery was performed using minimally invasive techniques, he was able to fly through his hospital stay and get back to his life – and sports challenges – very quickly. Patients are usually very reluctant to get a stoma, yet here’s Mohammad, proving you can not only live a normal life with one, but you can push athletic boundaries too! It’s inspiring.”

Following his recovery, Mohammad was keen to rebuild his strength and confidence, and show the world that he could still lead an active life. He found a new sense of freedom, no longer having to plan activities around toilet facilities. He participated in the Dubai Fitness Challenge 2020, playing thirty different sports in thirty days, to prove that his ostomy bag wouldn’t hold him back. 

Mohammad says, To be honest, I wish I’d done this surgery a long time ago. The last few months have been a rollercoaster and I have had to adapt to life with a stoma. I was worried I might have to give up playing sports, but I’m able to do things now that I could never do before. I want to show people there are plenty of sports you can do, whatever your ability level. I played underwater hockey, golf and even went freediving. No matter what, you can play any sport you want - even with a stoma. I’ve been quite emotional taking in this newfound freedom.

Mohammad is now planning his return to surfing and his road to the Tokyo Olympics. As he gets used to living with a stoma, he is keen to push his limits even further. His next opportunity will come at an international surfing competition in South America.

“Not long ago, I was surfing 55-foot waves in Portugal. Now, here I am playing ice hockey, and going diving to see just how far I can go. I was hesitant to lay on my board with my stoma, but that fear was all in my head. After my next surgery, I want to push my surfing to the next level – I want to go even bigger. At the moment, there are minimal waves in the UAE, but I want to be ready for when the first swells hit,” concludes Mohammad.​

Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!

​جراحة في الأمعاء تُمكِن لاعب رياضي إمارتي من مواصلة طموحة الأولمبي بعد خضوعه لجراحة في الأمعاء غيَرت مجرى حياته.

تمكن الآن اللاعب الإماراتي محمد حسن،  من مواصلة طموحه الأولمبي، بعد خضوعه لعملية جراحية في الأمعاء بمستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي.

نجح فريق جراحة أمراض الكبد والجهاز الهضمي بمستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، بإعادة الأمل للمريض الإماراتي محمد حسن، بعد أن تكللت عملية جراحية له في الأمعاء بالنجاح، لتمنحه بذلك فرصه جديدة في الحياة وتضعه على أعتاب مرحلة مختلفة للمشاركة في العديد من الرياضات والأنشطة التي طالما استمتع بممارستها، وهو الآن نجم رياضي مفعم بالأمل والحياة.

تم تشخيص حالة محمد حسن بأنه مصاب بالتهاب القولون التقرحي منذ 15 عاماً، حيث تتسبب تلك الحالة المزمنة في التهاب الأمعاء، ويمكن أن تشمل الأعراض: الشعور بالألم، الإسهال المستمر، فقدان الوزن، الإرهاق والتعب. 

يُمكن للعديد من المرضى السيطرة على التهاب القولون التقرحي بالعلاج الدوائي، لكن بالنسبة لحالة المريض لم تنجح الأدوية في ذلك. زار محمد حسن العديد من الأطباء في جميع أنحاء العالم في محاولة منه للعثور على علاج.

كان محمد حسن شخصاً رياضياً مفعماً بالحماس والنشاط، وكان يستمتع بممارسة العديد من الألعاب الرياضية، حيث مثَل دولة الإمارات في رياضة الرجبي. إلا أنه عندما بدأت حالته بالتدهور، أجبر على التخلي عن الرياضة التي أحبها.

يقول محمد: "كنت أعاني حقاً، وكنت أتردد على دورة المياه من 15 إلى 20 مرة يومياً، مما أجبرني على التوقف عن ممارسة الرياضة التي أحبها. لم أكن أريد أن أخذل فريقي، لكن هذا المرض كان يتحكم في حياتي، وكان لزاماً علي أن أخطط لوجود مرحاض قريب من كل شئ أفعله".

على الرغم من أن مشكلة الأمعاء هذه قد أجبرته على الاستسلام والتخلي عن ممارسة رياضة الرجبي، إلا أنها وضعته على مسار جديد كلياً، ليكتشف شغفاً جديداً بركوب الأمواج، وهو الأمر الذي وجد أنه من السهل التعامل معه بالنظر إلى حالته. سافر المريض حول العالم للتنافس في الدوري العالمي لركوب الأمواج، واضعاَ نصب عينيه تمثيل دولته الإمارات في دورة الألعاب الأوليمبية بطوكيو.

في هذه المرحلة، اقترح عليَ صديق يعاني أيضاً من التهاب القولون التقرحي زيارة مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، لإيجاد حل وعلاج نهائي لحالتي. أوصى طاقم الرعاية الطبية بالمستشفى بإجراء تنظير للقولون، وذلك لأن المرضى الذين يعانون من التهاب القولون التقرحي يكونون أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالسرطان. 

يقول الدكتور زاهر كتبي استشاري أمراض الجهاز الهضمي والكبد في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي: "كشف تنظير القولون عن وجود خلايا محتملة التسرطن في قولون المريض، لذلك فقد اجتمع الطاقم الطبي مُتعدد التخصصات، بما في ذلك الجراحين وأخصائي علم الأمراض، لمناقشة حالة المريض محمد حسن واستعراض جميع الخيارات العلاجية الممكنة، وتوصلنا إلى أنه ينبغي إحالته لاستئصال القولون بالكامل. بالإضافة إلى وقف تطور الخلايا السرطانية، مما يعالج التهاب القولون بشكل فعال ويقضي على أعراضه".

بعد الجراحة، تم تزويد محمد حسن بكيس الفغرة، والتي قام طاقم الرعاية الطبية بتدريبه على كيفية استخدامه والعناية به أثناء رحلة تعافيه. يعتزم الأطباء مستقبلاً إجراء عمليتين جراحيتين أخُرتين، بهدف استعادة وظيفة الأمعاء من خلال بناء "كيس J" أو ما يعرف بالجراب الشرجي، والذي سيلغي تماماً حاجة المريض إلى كيس الفغرة، مما يسمح له باستخدام المرحاض بشكل طبيعي مرة أخرى.

يقول دكتور شفيق سيداني، طبيب وجراح القولون والمستقيم الذي أجرى الجراحة في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي: "نظراً لأن الجراحة الخاصة بالمريض قد أجريت باستخدام تقنيات طفيفة التوغل، لذا فقد كان قادراً على السفر جواً والعودة إلى حياته بمجرد الخروج من المستشفى، واستئناف التحديات الرياضية بسرعة كبيرة. عادة ما يكون المرضى مترددين جداً بخصوص مسألة إجراء فغرة الأمعاء، لكن ها هو المريض محمد حسن، الذي أثبت أنه لا يمكنك فقط أن تحيا حياة طبيعية مع كيس الفغرة، بل يمكنك أيضاً تخطي الحدود الرياضية! إنه أمر ملهم للغاية".

بعد التماثل للشفاء، كان محمد حسن حريصاً على إعادة بناء قوته وثقته بنفسه، وإظهار  قدرته على الحياة للعالم، حيث لا يزال بإمكانه أن يعيش حياة يملؤها النشاط. وجد المريض احساساً جديداً بالحرية، ولم يعد مضطراً إلى التخطيط لأنشطته كي تكون حول المراحيض أو بالقرب من دورات المياه. كما شارك المريض في تحدي دبي للياقة البدنية 2020، حيث لعب 30 رياضة مختلفة في 30 يوماً، ليثبت أن كيس الفغرة الخاص به لم يكن ليشكل عائقاً بالنسبة له.

يقول محمد حسن: "بصراحة، كنت أتمنى أن أجرى هذه الجراحة منذ وقت طويل. كانت الأشهر القليلة الماضية بمثابة دوامة سريعة التقلب والتحول وتحولاً حقيقياً بالنسبة لي، واضطررت إلى التكيف مع الحياة باستخدام كيس الفغرة. كنت قلقاً من أنني قد أضطر إلى التخلي عن ممارسة الرياضة، لكنني الآن قادر على القيام بأشياء لم أكن أستطيع القيام بها من قبل. أريد أن أظهر للناس أن هناك الكثير من الرياضات التي يمكنك ممارستها مهما كان مستوى قدرتك. مهما كان الأمر، يمكنك ممارسة أي رياضة تريدها، حتى باستخدام هذه الفغرة. كنت مشحوناً بالكثير من العواطف مع الوصول إلى هذه الحرية الجديدة".

يخطط الآن محمد حسن للعودة إلى رياضة ركوب الأمواج واستكمال طريقه نحو أولمبياد طوكيو، لاسيما مع اعتياده على التعايش مع هذه الفغرة، لذا فهو حريص على رفع سقف طموحاته إلى أبعد حد. سيكون اللاعب الإماراتي محمد حسن على موعد مع تحد آخر في مسابقة دولية لركوب الأمواج في أمريكا الجنوبية.

يختتم محمد حسن سياق حديثه قائلاً: " منذ وقت ليس ببعيد، كنت أتزلج على الأمواج التي يبلغ ارتفاعها 55 قدماً. أما الآن، أنا ألعب هوكي الجليد، وأذهب للغوص لأرى إلى أي مدى يمكنني الذهاب. كنت متردداً في الاستلقاء على لوح التزلج مع كيس الفغرة الخاص بي، لكن هذا الخوف كان كله في رأسي. بعد الجراحة التالية، أريد مواصلة المزيد من نشاطي الخاص بركوب الأمواج للوصول إلى مستوى آخر جديد. في الوقت الحالي، لا تزال الأمواج في دولة الإمارات منخفضة نسبياً، لكني أطمح أن أكون مستعداً لركوب الأمواج العالية عندما تبدأ في الظهور".​​

Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!