Overview of the Spine Care Program

The Spine Care Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Neurological Institute offers world class spine care, employing cutting-edge technology to provide a full continuum of care to patients with a range of spine conditions. The program treats patients who are otherwise healthy as well as those with more challenging medical problems. Spine treatment, which includes surgical treatment, is tailored according to individual patient needs and becomes part of a comprehensive care management plan.  

The program incorporates a multidisciplinary collaboration between well-respected neurosurgeons and orthopedic surgeons, pain management care providers, rehabilitation medicine physicians, physical therapists, and allied health professionals to provide Patients First care. Treatment includes all aspects of spine care, from simple to complex, in a hospital environment. 

What we treat

The Spine Care Program treats patients with a wide range of conditions of the spine, including:

    • Neck pain: Neck pain can cause a range of symptoms, including stiffness, soreness, sharp pain, tingling, weakness, or radiating pain (pain that travels in waves. This pain may also affect the arms. It can be the result of an injury, poor posture, repetitive motions, or whiplash.​​
    • Lumbar disc herniation: A slipped disc in the lower back that presses on the nerve root next to it. This can cause severe pain in the lower back, buttocks, and legs.
    • Cervical disc herniation: A slipped disc in the neck that presses on the nerve root next to it. This results in neck and arm pain that radiates from the affected disc.​
    • Sciatical/low back pain: A symptom of an underlying medical condition, sciatica is pain that originates in the lower back and radiates throughout the buttocks and legs. 
  • Spinal stenosis: A condition in which the spaces between the vertebrae narrow, causing pain and other health problems. It is mostly caused by arthritis, but can also be caused by herniated discs, injuries, or tumors. 
    • Spondylolisthesis: A condition that most commonly occurs in the lower spine, when a vertebra moves forward, squeezing the spinal cord and/or nerve roots. This causes pain or may make the legs to feel numb or weak.  
    • Spinal fracture: Serious orthopedic condition in which fractured or dislocated vertebrae cause damage or pinching of the spinal cord or nerves. Most spinal fractures result from trauma. Spinal fractures can cause pain, trouble walking, or no mobility in the arms or legs.
  • Spinal tumors: Cancer of the spine that can be primary (originating in the spine) or metastatic (a result of cancer that spreads from another part of the body). The spine is one of the most common site for cancer cells to metastasize to. 
    • Spinal infection: Rare infections of the vertebral bones, the intervertebral discs (discs between the vertebrae), the dural sac (spinal cord covering), or spinal canal. An infection can be caused by a bacteria, fungus, or virus, and can sometimes occur as a complication after surgery.  ​
    • Chiari malformation: A structural condition in which a small part of the brain extends into the upper spinal cord.

Diagnosis & treatment with Spine Care​​

Treatment planning is a multidisciplinary process undertaken by a team of expert caregivers. The Spine Care Program offers a variety of treatments, including:

  • Minimally invasive spine surgery: Surgery in which the physician repairs the spine through very small incisions, reducing damage to surrounding tissues.
  • Total disc replacement surgery: A procedure in which a disc that is worn or degenerated and causing pain is completely removed and replaced with a prosthetic implant.
  • Anterior lumbar interbody fusion (ALIF): A surgical procedure that involves welding together painful vertebrae to make strong, solid bone and eliminate pain.
  • Minimally invasive fusion surgeries: A procedure that uses very small incisions to join two or more vertebrae together in the cervical (neck), thoracic (middle back), or lumbar (lower back) spine.
  • Revision and reconstructive spine surgery: A type of surgery that is performed to correct problems caused by a previous spinal surgery.

The Spine Care Program makes use of state-of-the-art technology to maximize the safety and success of surgical procedures on the spine. Expert surgeons apply tools and techniques such as:

  • Endoscopic spine surgery: A minimally invasive surgical technique that makes use of an endoscope (a tube with a small camera on the end) to provide visibility during spine surgery that uses only tiny incisions.
  • Intraoperative neuro-monitoring (IOM): A set of technologies used to monitor cranial nerve function during an operation to minimize function loss post-surgery.
  • Intraoperative CT-guided navigation (O-arm): Cross-sectional x-ray imaging that guides surgeons during an operation. The O-arm system allows for the creation of multi-dimensional images that greatly improve visibility during the procedure.

Spine Care Program caregivers 

The Spine Care Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Neurological Institute is a close collaboration of physicians and allied health professionals from a number of subspecialties.

Caregivers involved in patient care for this program are: 

  • Neurosurgical spine surgeons​
  • Orthopedic spine surgeons
  • Neuro-rehabilitation physicians
  • Pain medicine physicians
  • Neurologists who specialize in back pain 
  • Physical therapists 
  • Occupational therapists 
  • Clinical nurses

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Spine Care​

لمحة عن البرنامج​ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

يقدم برنامج علاج العمود الفقري في معهد الأعصاب في مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي رعاية طبية عالمية المستوى للمرضى الذين يعانون من مشاكل في العمود الفقري باستخدام أحدث الوسائل التقنية. تُصمم خطط المُتّبعة في هذا البرنامج، والتي تشمل أيضاً العلاج الجراحي، لتلبية الاحتياجات الفردية للمرضى بحسب حالتهم الصحية، وتصبح جزءاً من خطة إدارة الرعاية الصحية الشاملة التي يحصل عليها المريض. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

يضمّ البرنامج طاقماً من مختلف التخصصات الطبية، مثل الأخصائيين في جراحة الأعصاب وجراحة العظام وإعادة التأهيل وإدارة الألم والعلاج الطبيعي وغيرهم، يعملون معًا من أجل توفير رعاية صحية تستند إلى مبدأ "المريض أولاً" وتقديم علاج يشمل كل الجوانب البسيطة والمعقدة المتعلقة برعاية العمود الفقري. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ما هي الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج؟

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

يوفر البرنامج علاجاً للمرضى الذين يعانون من مجموعة متنوعة من مشاكل العمود الفقري، منها:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  • انزلاق القرص العُنقي: هو انزلاق أحد الأقراص العنقية ما يُؤدي إلى الضغط على جذر العصب المجاور، ما يؤدي إلى حدوث ألم يمتد من القرص المُنزلق وصولاً إلى منطقة الرقبة والذراع
  • انزلاق القرص القطني: هو انزلاق أحد الأقراص القطنية الموجودة في منطقة أسفل الظهر ما يؤدي إلى الضغط على جذر العصب المجاور للقرص مُسبّباً ألماً شديداً في منطقة أسفل الظهر والأرداف والأرجل
  • ألم الرقبة: قد تؤدي آلام الرقبة إلى ظهور عدد من الأعراض، مثل التيبّس والألم الحاد والتنميل والضعف، كما يمكن أن تحدث ألمًا يمتد من مكان الإصابة إلى مناطق أخرى في الجسم كالذراعين. ويحدث هذا الألم نتيجة التعرض لإصابة معينة، أو بسبب وضعية الوقوف أو الجلوس غير السليمة، أو الحركات الجسدية المُتكررة، أو شد الرقبة المفاجئ
  • ألم العصب الوركي/ألم أسفل الظهر: هو ألم ينشأ من منطقة أسفل الظهر ويمتد إلى الأرداف والأرجل، وهو أحد الأعراض المرضية التي تدل على وجود مشكلة صحية
  • تضيق العمود الفقري: هي حالة طبية تتقلّص فيها المسافة بين الفقرات فتسبب ألماً ومشاكل صحية أخرى. تحدث هذه الحالة عادة نتيجة الإصابة بالتهاب المفاصل، وفي بعض الحالات نتيجة الأورام أو الإصابات أو انزلاق أحد الأقراص
  • انزلاق الفقرات: يحدث عادة في الجزء السفلي من العمود الفقري، إذ تنزلق إحدى الفقرات من مكانها وتضغط على الحبل الشوكي و/أو جذر العصب ما يُسبب ألماً في تلك المنطقة أو تنميلاً أو شعوراً بالضعف في الأرجل
  • كسر العمود الفقري: هي حالة طبية خطيرة يحدث فيها كسر أو خلع في إحدى فقرات العمود الفقري يؤدي إلى الضغط على الحبل الشوكي أو الأعصاب ما قد يُسبب ضرراً فيها. تحدث غالبية حالات كسر العمود الفقري نتيجة الإصابة بالرضّات، وتُسبب هذه الكسور عادة شعوراً بالألم وصعوبة في الحركة أو فقدان الحركة في الذراعين أو الرجلين
  • ورم العمود الفقري: هو ​سرطان يُصيب العمود الفقري، وقد يكون أولياً (أي ناشئاً من العمود الفقري نفسه) أو انتقالياً (أي ناشئاً من جزء آخر من الجسم). ويعد العمود الفقري من أكثر المناطق التي تنتقل إليها الخلايا السرطانية
  • التهاب العمود الفقري: هي التهابات نادرة تُصيب عظام الفقرات أو الأقراص بين الفقرات أو كيس الجافية (غطاء الحبل الشوكي) أو القناة الشوكية. وتحدث هذه الالتهابات بسبب البكتيريا أو الفطر أو بعض الفيروسات، وفي بعض الحالات تكون هذه الالتهابات من مضاعفات ما بعد الجراحة
  • تشوّه خياري: هو حالة مرضية يمتد فيها جزء من الدماغ إلى الجزء العلوي من الحبل الشوكي
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

التشخيص والعلاج

 
 
 

التخطيط للعلاج هو عملية متعددة التخصصات ينفذها فريق من المتخصصين في البرنامج ويتم من خلالها توفير العلاجات التالية:

 

  • جراحة استبدال القرص بالكامل: هي عملية جراحية يتم فيها استئصال القرص المتآكل أو المُتحلل المُسبب للألم بشكل كامل واستبداله بقرص اصطناعي
  • عملية دمج أجسام الفقرات القطنية الأمامية: هي عملية جراحية يتم فيها لحمُ أو دمج الفقرات المُسببة للألم من أجل تقوية العظم المكون للعمود الفقري والقضاء على الألم
  • جراحات دمج الفقرات بأقل قدر من التدخل الجراحي: هي عملية يتم فيها إحداث شقوق صغيرة جداً بهدف دمج فقرتين أو أكثر مع بعضهما في الفقرات العنقية (الرقبة)، أو الفقرات الصدرية (وسط الظهر)، أو الفقرات القطنية (أسفل الظهر)
  • جراحة تصحيح وترميم العمود الفقري: هي عملية جراحية يتم فيها تصحيح مشاكل العمود الفقري الناجمة عن عمليات جراحية سابقة
 

يستخدم برنامج علاج العمود الفقري أحدث التقنيات لتعزيز مستوى سلامة جراحات العمود الفقري وتعزيز فرص نجاحها، منها: 

 
  • جراحة العمود الفقري بالمنظار: هي تقنية جراحية تتم بأقل قدر من التدخل الجراحي وتتم عبر شقوق صغيرة جداً لأن المنظار المستخدم فيها (وهو عبارة عن أنبوب مُزود بكاميرا صغيرة في نهايته) يُساعد الجرّاح على رؤية المنطقة ​​الخاضعة​ للجراحة بشكل أفضل
  • المراقبة العصبية أثناء العملية: هي مجموعة من التقنيات التي تُستخدم لمراقبة أداء العصب العنقي أثناء العملية الجراحية بهدف التقليل من احتمالية فقدان العضو لوظيفته بعد الجراحة
  •  الإجراء الموجه بواسطة التصوير الطبقي المحوري أثناء العملية: يتم خلالها استخدام التصوير المقطعي العرضي بأشعة إكس لإرشاد الجراحين، حيث تنتج هذه التقنية ب صورًا ثلاثية الأبعاد تفيد في تحسين مستوى الرؤية أثناء العملية
 
 
 

فريق البرنامج

يضمّ برنامج علاج العمود الفقري في مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي طاقماً من الكوادر الطبية من مُختلف التخصصات، مثل الأخصائيين في:

  • جراحة أعصاب العمود الفقري
  • جراحة العمود الفقري العظمية
  • إعادة التأهيل العصبي
  • أدوية علاج الألم
  • جراحة الأعصاب المتخصصة بألم الظهر
  • العلاج الطبيعي
  • العلاج المهني
  • التمريض​

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين في برنامج رعاية العمود الفقري: