Overview of the Neuro-oncology Program 

The Neuro-oncology Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Neurological Institute serves patients from across the country and around the world, providing state-of-the-art care to individuals who suffer from neurological cancers.

The skilled specialists at the Neuro-oncology Program, working in collaboration with specialists from other Institutes, offer a full range of advanced treatment options for adults with brain, pituitary, skull base, and spinal cord tumors. Every patient who comes to the program receives Patients First care throughout diagnosis and treatment, which may include surgery, chemotherapy, and innovative, advanced approaches to tumor treatment.

Led by experts in the field, the interdisciplinary program provides an optimized and individualized approach to each patient’s condition. Endocrinologists, neuro-radiologists, interventional neuro-radiologists, neuro-rehabilitation specialists, orbital ophthalmologists, and ENTs (ear, nose, and throat) specialists work hand-in-hand to establish a treatment plan for the best outcome of every patient.

What we treat

The Neuro-oncology Program diagnoses and treats patients with a range of neurological cancers: 

  • Primary brain tumors: Primary brain tumors initially develop in the brain tissue or the areas surrounding the brain (the meninges).
  • Secondary brain tumors: Secondary, or metastatic, brain tumors begin with cancer cells from a tumor in another part of the body, such as the breast or lung, that travel to the brain through the blood¬stream. Secondary brain tumors are more common than primary brain tumors, and occur more often in adults than in children.
  • Skull base tumors: Skull base tumors form in the area between the brain and the rest of the head. The principle goal of skull base surgery is to permit access to difficult-to-reach tumor locations while minimizing injury to the brain, cranial nerves, and blood vessels. Surgery on skull base tumors combines highly specialized techniques of interventional neuroradiology, otolaryngology, neurosurgery, ophthalmology, plastic surgery, and neuro-anesthesiology. 
  • Pituitary tumors: Pituitary tumors are responsible for the majority of hormone imbalances involving hormones made or controlled by the pituitary gland.
  • Spinal cord and spine tumors: Spinal cord and spine tumors can occur anywhere along the length of the spinal column. The Neuro-oncology Program team treats spinal cord tumors with ultrasound, microsurgery, and fluorescence imaging guidance to help restore functional mobility and relieve pain. Because neuro-rehabilitation is an integral part of treating spinal cord tumors and the patient’s recovery, program caregivers work in close collaboration with experts in the Neurological Institute’s Neuro-rehabilitation Program

Diagnosis & treatment of neurological cancers

Diagnosis of neurological cancers 

Neurological cancer diagnosis may be established through imaging testing and, in some cases, tumor biopsy. Tumor biopsy involves removing and testing a small sample of tumor tissue. The neuropathologist examines this sample to confirm the diagnosis and classify the tumor more specifically, according to the cell type it contains. This examinations helps to ensure that further treatment is planned appropriately.

Treatment of neurological cancers

The Neuro-oncology Program’s highly trained neurosurgeons use the latest neurosurgical techniques to ensure a precise and well-planned approach to the tumor for biopsy and tumor resection, or removal. Technological tools like intra-operative neuromonitoring, brain mapping, ultrasound-guided biopsy, and fluorescence-guided surgery assist the team in achieving the ultimate goal of removing the tumor while preserving quality of life for the patient. 

Neuro-oncology Program caregivers 

The Neuro-oncology Program is a multidisciplinary collaboration of leaders in the field. The program’s neurosurgenos are trained in surgery of the nervous system, with special expertise in surgical diagnosis and treatment of brain and spine tumors. The medical oncologist contributes specialized knowledge in the use of medical therapy, or chemotherapy, to treat cancer and other tumors. The endocrinologist treats hormonal imbalances that can result from surgery, medication, or tumor growth, like in the case of pituitary tumors. The care team also includes a pain physician, who manages the treatment of pain related to cancer and surgery and assures that pain is not a factor that reduces quality of life after treatment.

Caregivers involved in patient care for this program are:

  • Neurosurgeons
  • Oncologists
  • Endocrinologists
  • Pain physicians ​

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Neuro-oncology

لمحة عن البرنامج

يقدم برنامج الأورام العصبية التابع لمعهد الأعصاب في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي الخدمات الطبية والعلاجية للمرضى من جميع أنحاء الدولة والعالم، حيث يوفّر أفضل معايير الرعاية لحالات الأورام السرطانية العصبية.

يعمل الأخصائيون المتمرسون في البرنامج على تقديم مجموعة كاملة من الخيارات العلاجية المتقدمة للمرضى البالغين الذين يعانون من أورام في الدماغ والغدة النخامية وقاع الجمجمة والحبل الشوكي، وذلك بالتعاون مع أخصائيين من المعاهد الأخرى في المستشفى. يحرص فريق البرنامج على تطبيق مبدأ "المريض أولاً" في تقديم خدمات التشخيص والعلاج، مثل الجراحة والعلاج الكيماوي والطرق المبتكرة والمتقدمة لعلاج الأورام. 

يركز البرنامج متعدد التخصصات على اعتماد النهج الأمثل لكل حالة بما يلبي الاحتياجات الطبية والعلاجية الخاصة بكل مريض. حيث يتعاون أعضاء الفريق الطبي، من الأخصائيين في الغدد الصماء والأشعة العصبية والتدخلية وإعادة التأهيل العصبي وطب العيون والأنف والأذن والحنجرة، لوضع الخطة العلاجية الأمثل لكل مريض بما يضمن تحقيق أفضل النتائج.

الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج

يقدم برنامج الأورام العصبية خدمات تشخيصية وعلاجية لمجموعة متنوعة من الأورام السرطانية العصبية:

  • أورام الدماغ الأولية: تنشأ الأورام الدماغية الأولية في نسيج الدماغ أو المناطق المحيطة به المعروفة بـ "السحايا"
  • أورام الدماغ الثانوية: تنشأ أورام الدماغ الثانوية، أو ما يُعرف بالأورام النقيلية، نتيجة انتقال الخلايا السرطانية من ورم في جزء آخر من الجسم، مثل الثدي أو الرئة، إلى الدماغ عبر الدم. تُعتبر أورام الدماغ الثانوية أكثر شيوعاً مقارنةً بأورام الدماغ الأولية، وغالباً ما تُصيب البالغين أكثر من الأطفال
  • أورام قاع الجمجمة: تتكون أورام قاع الجمجمة في المنطقة الواقعة بين الدماغ وبقية الرأس. تتيح جراحة قاع الجمجمة الوصول إلى موضع الورم الذي يصعب الوصول إليه مع الحدّ من فرص تعرض الدماغ والأعصاب الدماغية والأوعية الدموية لأي إصابة. تجمع جراحة أورام قاع الجمجمة بين التقنيات فائقة الاختصاص في مجالات الأشعة العصبية التدخلية وطب الأنف والأذن والحنجرة وجراحة الأعصاب وطب العيون والجراحة التجميلية والتخدير العصبي
  • أورام الغدة النخامية: أورام الغدة النخامية هي السبب في حدوث معظم الاختلالات الهرمونية، سواء أكانت تتعلق بالهرمونات التي تفرزها الغدة النخامية أو تلك التي تتحكم بمستوياتها
  • أورام الحبل الشوكي والعمود الفقري: يمكن أن تحدث أورام الحبل الشوكي والعمود الفقري في أي موضع على امتداد العمود الفقري. يعمل فريق برنامج الأورام العصبية على علاج هذه الأورام باستخدام تقنيات التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية والجراحة المجهرية والتصوير الطبي باستخدام المواد المشعة للمساعدة في استعادة الحركة الوظيفية والتخفيف من الألم. ولأن إعادة التأهيل العصبي جزء لا يتجزأ من عملية علاج أورام النخاع الشوكي، يتعاون فريق البرنامج مع الخبراء المختصين في برنامج التأهيل العصبي التابع لمعهد الأعصاب في المستشفى

التشخيص والعلاج​

تشخيص الأورام السرطانية العصبية​

يمكن تشخيص الإصابة بالأورام السرطانية العصبية من خلال إجراء فحص التصوير الشعاعي. لكن بعض الحالات قد تتطلب أخذ خزعة للحصول على عينة صغيرة من نسيج الورم، حيث يقوم أخصائي الأعصاب بفحصها لتأكيد التشخيص وتصنيف نوع الورم بدقة بناءً على نوع الخلايا التي تتضمنها العينة. تساعد هذه الفحوصات على ضمان التخطيط للعلاج بشكل مناسب.

علاج الأورام السرطانية العصبية

يستخدم أخصائيو جراحة الأعصاب في البرنامج أحدث التقنيات المتوفرة في هذا المجال لضمان أعلى مستويات الدقة والسلامة عند أخذ الخزعة واستئصال الورم. تفيد معدات المراقبة العصبية أثناء العملية وجهاز تخطيط الدماغ وتقنية أخذ الخزعة بتوجيه الأشعة فوق الصوتية والجراحة التي تتم بتوجيه التصوير باستخدام المواد المشعة، وغيرها من المعدات التقنية الأخرى، في مساعدة الفريق على تحقيق الهدف المتمثل بإزالة الورم مع الحفاظ على جودة حياة المريض.

فريق البرنامج

​يقوم برنامج الأورام العصبية متعدد التخصصات على تضافر جهود أفضل الأطباء، حيث يضم أخصائيين في جراحة الأعصاب يتمتعون بمستوى رفيع من التدريب الطبي المتخصص والخبرة في تشخيص أورام الدماغ والعمود الفقري وعلاجها الجراحي، فيما يكرس الأخصائيون في الأورام معارفهم وخبراتهم المتخصصة في استخدام العلاج الطبي أو الكيماوي لمحاربة السرطان والأورام الأخرى. ويتولى الأخصائيون في أمراض الغدد الصماء علاج الاختلالات الهرمونية التي يمكن أن تنجم عن الجراحة أو الأدوية أو نمو الورم، كما في حالات أورام الغدة النخامية، بينما يتكفل الأخصائيون في علاج الألم بعلاج الآلام المصاحبة للأورام السرطانية والجراحات المتعلقة بها كي لا تؤثر على جودة حياة المريض بعد العلاج. 

يضم فريق البرنامج أخصائيين في:

  • جراحة أعصاب
  • الأورام
  • أمراض غدد صماء
  • علاج الألم

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين ببرنامج الأورام العصبية​​

​​​​​​