Overview of the Headache Program 

The Headache Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Neurological Institute offers specialized care for patients experiencing headaches.

Headaches can be more complicated than most people realize: Different kinds of headaches can have their own sets of symptoms, happen for unique reasons, and require different kinds of treatment. The Headache Program team is highly trained in thorough diagnosis and treatment of headaches. Once the headache is correctly identified, caregivers work with patients to find the treatment plan that is most likely to alleviate and prevent their headaches.

What we treat

There are several different types of headaches, which are all diagnosed and treated by the Headache Program’s expert team. The most common headaches seen by program caregivers are:

  • Tension-type headache: Patients may experience mild to moderate pain, and usually have no other symptoms.
  • Migraine: With this condition, patients experience intense headaches that are often described as pounding, throbbing pain. A migraine can last from four hours to three days, and can occur several times per month or more frequently. Related symptoms may include sensitivity to light, noise, or smells; nausea; or vomiting.
  • Cluster headache: This is an intense headache that feels like a piercing pain behind or around one eye. It is the least common, but the most severe, type of headache. Cluster headaches occur in clusters of four to twelve weeks, and then resolve until the next clustering occurs.​
  • Sinus headache: A sinus headache is characterized by pain in the cheekbones, forehead, or bridge of the nose. It is caused by inflammation of the sinuses, the spaces located around these areas of the head. Most headaches around the sinuses that do not have associated nasal discharge are actually misdiagnosed migraines.​

Diagnosis & treatment of headache

Diagnosis of headache

Patients who come to the Headache Program are diagnosed using a thorough assessment of current symptoms and their medical history. In order to make the correct diagnosis, the caregiver may ask the patient about the initial onset of symptoms, previous treatment regimens for headaches, and current and past medications. It is also important to establish a history of triggers that have initiated the onset of headaches in the past, as well as detailed symptoms experienced before, during, and after headaches. 

If the patient has had imaging studies or other tests at other healthcare facilities, these reports should be presented at the clinical visit to complete the detailed assessment. If additional imaging tests are deemed necessary, these can be completed at the Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi Imaging Institute.

Treatment of headache

Headache treatment depends on the type of headache diagnosed, the cause of headache, and how often it occurs. The headache specialist develops a treatment plan to meet each patient’s specific needs. This may include further diagnostic testing, medication, behavioral modification, and/or keeping a diet and sleep history to help determine how lifestyle factors may be adjusted to reduce headaches.

Headache Program caregivers 

The Headache Program’s experienced team provides Patients First care to individuals experiencing headache. Headache specialists work with specialized nurses and pharmacists to optimize patient medication regimen and educate patients on lifestyle changes to manage their headaches. Caregivers involved in patient care for this program are:

  • Headache physicians
  • Nurses
  • Pharmacists

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Headache

​لمحة عن البرنامج 

يقدم برنامج علاج الصداع التابع لمعهد الأعصاب في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي الرعاية المتخصصة للمرضى الذين يعانون من الصداع.

يمكن أن يكون الصداع أكثر تعقيداً مما قد يظنه معظم الأشخاص عموماً، إذ أن لكل نوع من أنواعه أعراضه وأسبابه الخاصة، وهذا ما يتطلب اتباع أساليب وطرق مختلفة للعلاج. يتمتع فريق برنامج علاج الصداع بمستوى عالٍ من التدريب في مجال تشخيص حالات الصداع وعلاجها. وبعد تشخيص الحالة، يتعاون الفريق مع المريض لوضع الخطة العلاجية الأنسب للتخفيف من الصداع والوقاية منه.

الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج

يتضمن فريق البرنامج الخبرات والمؤهلات التي تجعله قادرًا على تشخيص وعلاج جميع أنواع الصداع، ومنها:

  • الصداع  المرتبط بالتوتر: قد يسبب ألمًا خفيفًا إلى متوسط دون أن تظهر على المريض أي أعراض أخرى عادة
  • الصداع النصفي (الشقيقة): يعاني مرضى هذه الحالة من صداع شديد يصاحبه الشعور بالخفقان أو النبض في موضع الألم بالرأس. وتستمر نوبات الصداع النصفي من أربع ساعات إلى ثلاثة أيام، ويمكن أن تتكرر لعدة مرات، أو أكثر، في الشهر وتتضمن أعراضها الحساسية للضوء أو الضوضاء أو الروائح، وغثيان أو قيء
  • الصداع العنقودي: هو أقل أنواع الصداع شيوعًا ولكنه أشدها ألمًا. يرافق هذا الصداع ألم خلف إحدى العينين أو حولها، وتدوم نوباته من أربعة إلى اثني عشر أسبوعاً، يعقبها فترة من الهدوء قبل أن تعود مجدداً
  • الصداع المرتبط بالجيوب الأنفية: يتميز هذا النوع من الصداع بألم يُصيب عظم الوجنتين أو الجبين أو جسر الأنف، وهو ينجم عن التهاب في الجيوب الأنفية والمساحات المحيطة بهذه المناطق من الرأس. يحدث التباس عادةً في تشخيص معظم حالات الصداع المرتبطة بالجيوب الأنفية التي لا تصاحبها إفرازات أنفية، فتشخص الحالة على أنها صداع نصفي (شقيقة)

التشخيص والعلاج

تشخيص حالات الصداع

يقوم فريق برنامج علاج الصداع بتقييم حالات المرضى من خلال دراسة شاملة  للأعراض التي يعانون منها والاطلاع على تاريخهم الطبي والاستفسار عن المرحلة الأولى لظهور الأعراض والعلاجات السابقة للصداع والأدوية المستخدمة حاليًا وسابقاً. من المهم أيضاً تحديد العوامل التي سببت نوبات الصداع سابقاً، إلى جانب الأعراض الدقيقة التي رافقت هذه النوبات الصداع أو تلك التي جاءت قبلها أو بعدها.

ينبغي على المريض إحضار نتائج وتقارير فحوصات التصوير الشعاعي أو أي تحاليل أو فحوصات أخرى يمكن أن يكون قد أجراها في عيادات أو مستشفيات أخرى، حتى يتسنى للطبيب الاطلاع عليها واستكمال عملية التقييم الطبي الدقيق والشامل. أما في حال استدعت الحالة الخضوع لفحوصات تصوير شعاعي إضافية، فيمكن إجراءها في معهد التصوير الشعاعي التابع لكليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي.

علاج حالات الصداع

يعتمد علاج الصداع على نوعه وأسبابه ومدى تكرار نوباته، حيث يقوم الأخصائي بوضع خطة علاجية تلبي الاحتياجات الطبية الخاصة بكل مريض. يمكن أن تتضمن هذه الخطة إجراء المزيد من الاختبارات والفحوصات التشخيصية ووصف أدوية معينة وإجراء بعض التغييرات السلوكية واتباع نظام غذائي صحي ومراقبة عادات وأنماط النوم، وذلك لتحديد ما يمكن تطبيقه من تغييرات حياتية للحد من نوبات الصداع.

فريق البرنامج 

يعتمد فريق برنامج علاج الصداع مبدأ "المريض أولاً" في تقديم الرعاية الصحية، ويتعاون أخصائيو علاج الصداع مع طاقم متخصص من الممرضين والصيادلة على لتحسين الفائدة من العلاج الدوائي وتوعية المرضى حول التغييرات االحياتية اللازمة للسيطرة على نوبات الصداع. ويضم فريق البرنامج ما يلي:

  • أطباء أخصائيون في علاج الصداع 
  • طاقم تمريض
  • صيادلة​

اطلع على​ ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين ببرنامج علاج الصداع​