Overview of the Cranial Neurosurgery Program 

Cranial neurosurgery is a specialty that includes head surgeries in which the neurosurgeon has to make an opening in the skull to treat a medical issue. The multidisciplinary team at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Cranial Neurosurgery Program is experienced in a wide range of surgical approaches for treating patients who require cranial neurosurgery. 

As part of Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Patients First approach to care, the Cranial Neurosurgery Program offers cutting-edge services that are unique in the region. Tools like medical navigation systems, endoscopic equipment, continuous electrophysiological intraoperative neuromonitoring (IOM), and fluorescence guided microsurgery are all available. These technologies make it possible to ensure that each surgical procedure is safe, and that the most appropriate course of action is taken for the individual patient. 

What we treat

There are a number of conditions of the brain that can potentially require surgery. In many cases, modern medicine reduces the need for surgical intervention with the help of highly specialized medical treatments. However, surgery may sometimes be necessary.

Brain tumors 

One condition that may require cranial neurosurgery is a brain tumor, which can be fast-growing or slow-growing. A cure for brain tumors is hard to achieve because they tend to infiltrate the surrounding, healthy tissue. This increases the risk of recurrence, even after the tumor has been completely removed.

Cancerous brain tumors typically arise within the tissue of the brain itself. This is referred to as a glial tumor. A glial tumor may originate in the brain or spinal cord, or may be a result of cancer originating in a different area of the body and spreading, with tumors occurring in the brain. While radiation therapy or chemotherapy are often used to control the growth of a brain tumor, a surgical approach is sometimes required. If the tumor is life threatening and easily accessible, safe removal with cranial neurosurgery is recommended. 

Benign tumors of the brain are most often located within the skull, but outside the brain. They grow very slowly, but over the course of years, they can reach a very large size, compressing the brain and growing around nerves and vessels at the base of the skull. Tumors can also compromise the hormonal balance of the body when they compress the pituitary gland (which controls the production and release of hormones). Surgeons need to work carefully to remove these benign brain tumors without causing disability or compromising quality of life. 

Pain syndromes

Some types of pain syndromes, such as trigeminal neuralgia (when even a light touch on the face causes pain) or hemifacial spasm (twitching of the face), are also treated in the Cranial Neurosurgery Program. In these conditions, one of the twelve cranial nerves, the nerves traveling out from the brain, may be compressed. Patients with these conditions may require a small craniotomy (a surgery in which a part of the skull needs to be removed to access the brain) to decompress the affected cranial nerve. Performed by Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s experienced neurosurgeons, this is a very low risk, highly successful procedure used to alleviate pain or spasm. 

Congenital malformations

Congenital malformations are issues that are present at birth, occurring when an organ did not develop properly during gestation. Several congenital malformations may be treated with cranial neurosurgery, including:

  • Chiari malformation: A structural issue in which a part of the brain extends into the upper spinal cord.
  • Neurofibromatosis: A hereditary condition in which tumors occur in brain, spinal cord, and nerve tissue.
  • Hippel-Lindau disease: A genetic condition in which tumors occur in the blood vessels of the eyes, brain, and spinal cord.
  • Tuberous sclerosis:  A hereditaury condition in which benign tumors occur in multiple organs. 

Individuals with these conditions may require a craniotomy at some point to address intracranial tumors or lesions.

Vascular conditions 

If weakness or rupture of intracranial vessels (blood vessels in the brain) is identified, a craniotomy (a surgery in which a small part of the skull is removed) is needed to repair the vessel or the vascular malformation. In some situations, this may require emergency surgery. Surgery may be performed for:
 
  • Intracranial aneurysm: A weakened blood vessel in the brain that causes a bulge that is at risk for rupturing, or breaking. A brain aneurysm is a medical emergency.
  • Arteriovenousa malformation: A condition present at birth in which a cluster of veins and arteries connect in an abnormal way. An AVM in the brain can result in headaches, bleeding in the brain, seizures, or bleeding in the brain.
  • Cavernoma: A blood vessel cluster characterized by a series of small bulges, occurring in the brain or spinal cord. Cavernomas may cause headaches, seizures, or bleeding in the brain.
  • Arteriovenous (AV) fistula: A direct connection between an artery and a vein, without capillaries that carry oxygen and nutrients to the tissue. AV fistulas can occur anywhere, including the brain, and they become problematic when they are large.​

Hydrocephalus

Hydrocephalus is an accumulation of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF, or the liquid around the brain). Sometimes CSF does not drain properly. Patients with this condition require a small craniotomy to place a shunt, a device that uses a thin tube to drain excess CSF into the abdomen.

Diagnosis & treatment with cranial neurosurgery

Diagnosis with cranial neurosurgery

Choosing the safest trajectory to the problem within the skull requires extremely careful pre-surgical planning. Whether this means a minimally invasive procedure with a small opening in the skull or a combined approach through the base of the skull (such as through the nose, the mouth, or behind the ear) depends on the underlying issue. A multidisciplinary approach is necessary for safe surgical preparation and treatment. For instance, patients with tumors involving the skull base are evaluated by a team of caregivers that includes otolaryngologists, endocrinologists, and ophthalmologists in addition to surgeons.

Because pre-operative planning is the mainstay of success, the expert Cranial Neurosurgery Program team makes extensive use of imaging technologies in preparation for surgery. Modern magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans provide invaluable information about the individual’s skull anatomy and the location and behavior of the tumor or other disorder. Sometimes, diagnosis also requires laboratory testing of the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF).

Treatment with cranial neurosurgery 

Expert surgeons and supporting caregivers at the Cranial Neurosurgery Program make use of a number of important technologies that maximize the safety and success of craniotomies. These include:

  • Imaging: Imaging technology is incorporated in the navigation system and the microscope during surgery to allow better visibility during the procedure.
  • Intraoperative neuromonitoring (IOM): This is a technology used to monitor the function of cranial nerves as well as overall body function during surgery. This approach can greatly increase success, leading to fewer side effects, better outcomes, and more complete removal of brain tumors.
  • Fluorescence guided surgery: This state-of-the-art method uses special dyes and lamps to distinguish tumor tissue from adjacent brain tissue.

For patients with vascular malformations that require cranial neurosurgery, caregivers may offer neuro-interventional (minimally invasive) treatment, surgical treatment, or a combination of both, focusing on what is best for the patient. 

Cranial Neurosurgery Program caregivers 

The Cranial Neurosurgery Program at Cleveland Clinic’s Neurological Institute is a multidisciplinary collaboration of highly trained medical professionals with broad expertise in planning and performing brain surgeries.

Caregivers involved in patient care for this program are:

  • Neurosurgeons
  • Ear, nose, and throat (ENT) surgeons
  • Vascular surgeons
  • Endocrinologist
  • Ophthalmologist
  • Oncologist
  • Neuro-anesthesiologists
  • Neuro-intensive care unit (ICU) physicians
  • Psychologists
  • Neuro-rehabilitation physicians
  • Physical therapists
  • Occupational therapists
  • Speech therapists
  • Social workers

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Cranial Neurosurgery

لمحة عن البرنامج 
 

الجراحة العصبية القحفية هي تخصص طبي يتضمن جراحات الرأس التي يقوم جرّاح الأعصاب من خلالها بعمل فتحة في الجمجمة ليتمكن من معالجة مشكلة طبية. يتمتع الفريق متعدد التخصصات في برنامج الجراحة العصبية القحفية في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي بخبرة واسعة في استخدام العديد من الأساليب الجراحية لعلاج المرضى الذين يحتاجون إلى هذا النوع من الجراحة.

 

وفي إطار التزام كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي بتطبيق مبدأ "المريض أولاً"، يقدم برنامج الجراحة العصبية القحفية أحدث الخدمات العلاجية المتطورة الفريدة من نوعها على مستوى المنطقة. ويستخدم فريق البرنامج أحدث الأدوات والمعدات والتقنيات، مثل أنظمة الملاحة الطبية ومعدات التنظير والمراقبة والمتابعة العصبية المستمرة أثناء عمليات الفسيولوجيا الكهربائية والجراحة الدقيقة بتوجيه التصوير باستخدام المواد المشعة. يفيد استخدام هذه التقنيات في ضمان أمن وسلامة الإجراء الجراحي وتقديم العلاج الأمثل الذي يلبي احتياجات كل مريض.

الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج

هناك عدد من الحالات التي تُصيب الدماغ وقد يتطلب علاجها تدخلاً جراحياً. لكن الطب الحديث بات يسهم، في الكثير من الحالات، في الحدّ من الحاجة إلى التدخل الجراحي بفضل توفر العلاجات الطبية المتطورة والمتخصصة. ومع ذلك، قد تكون الجراحة ضرورية في بعض الأحيان.

أورام الدماغ

من الحالات التي قد يتطلب علاجها إجراء جراحة في الأعصاب الدماغية أورام الدماغ، التي قد تكون سريعة أو بطيئة النمو. ويصعب شفاء أورام الدماغ بشكل تام، وذلك لأنها تميل إلى الانتشار إلى الأنسجة السليمة المحيطة مما يزيد من احتمال عودتها، حتى بعد أن يتم استئصالها بشكل كامل.

تنشأ أورام الدماغ السرطانية عادةً داخل نسيج الدماغ نفسه، فيما يُعرف بـ "الأورام الدبقية". يمكن أن ينشأ الورم الدبقي في الدماغ أو الحبل الشوكي، أو يحدث نتيجة انتشار السرطان من منطقة أخرى في الجسم وانتقاله إلى الدماغ وتشكيل أورام فيه. غالبًا ما يُستخدم العلاج الإشعاعي أو الكيماوي للسيطرة على أورام الدماغ والحدّ من نموها، لكن يمكن أن تتطلب الحالات في بعض الأحيان اللجوء إلى الأسلوب الجراحي الذي يُنصح به لاستئصال الورم في حال كان خطيرًا جدًا مع وجود إمكانية الوصول إليه بسهولة.

تحدث أورام الدماغ الحميدة في الغالب داخل الجمجمة، ولكن خارج الدماغ. تنمو هذه الأورام ببطء شديد، لكنها يمكن أن تصل مع مر الأعوام إلى حجم كبير جداً فتضغط على الدماغ وتنمو حول الأعصاب والأوعية الدموية الموجودة في قاع الجمجمة. كما يمكن للأورام أن تؤثر على التوازن الهرموني في الجسم عندما تضغط على الغدة النخامية المسؤولة عن إنتاج الهرمونات وإفرازها. ونظراً للموقع الحساس الذي تظهر فيه أورام الدماغ الحميدة، يحتاج الجراحون إلى العمل بدقة فائقة وحذر شديد عند استئصالها لتفادي التسبب في العجز أو إلحاق أضرار تؤثر على جودة حياة المريض.

متلازمات الألم

يشرف برنامج الجراحة العصبية القحفية كذلك على علاج بعض متلازمات الألم، مثل ألم العصب الثلاثي (حدوث ألم حتى مع الملامسة الخفيفة للوجه)، أو تشنج الوجه النصفي (ارتعاش في الوجه)، التي تنجم عن ضغط أحد الأعصاب الدماغية الاثني عشر، وهي الأعصاب الخارجة من الدماغ. قد يحتاج مرضى هذه الحالات إلى جراحة صغيرة لفتح الجمجمة والوصول إلى الدماغ لإزالة الضغط الحاصل على العصب الدماغي. تعتبر هذه الجراحة التي يجريها الأخصائيون في جراحة الأعصاب في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، أسلوبًا علاجيًا محدود المخاطر وفعال في التخفيف من حدّة الألم وشدة التشنج.

التشوهات الخلقية

تُعرف التشوهات الخلقية على أنها عيوب توجد مع الولادة، وتحصل نتيجة حدوث مشكلة تمنع نمو العضو بصورة سليمة أثناء فترة الحمل. ويمكن علاج العديد من حالات التشوهات الخلقية باللجوء إلى جراحة الأعصاب الدماغية، ويُذكر منها:

  • تشوه خياري: عيب في تركيب الدماغ ينجم عنه امتداد جزء من الدماغ إلى داخل الجزء العلوي من الحبل الشوكي
  • الورم العصبي الليفي: حالة وراثية تحدث فيها الأورام في الدماغ والحبل الشوكي والأنسجة العصبية
  • مرض هيبل لينداو: حالة وراثية تحدث فيها الأورام في الأوعية الدموية الموجودة في العين والدماغ والحبل الشوكي
  • التصلب الدرني: حالة وراثية تحدث فيها أورام حميدة في عدة أعضاء

قد يحتاج المرضى الذين يعانون من هذه التشوهات في مرحلة ما إلى عملية لفتح الجمجمة لمعالجة الأورام والآفات في الدماغ.

مشاكل الأوعية الدموية

عند الكشف عن وجود ضعف أو تمزق في الأوعية الدموية داخل الجمجمة (الأوعية الدموية في الدماغ)، يلجأ الأطباء إلى فتح الجمجمة للوصول إلى الدماغ من أجل إصلاح الوعاء الدموي أو معالجة التشوه الحاصل فيه. في بعض الحالات، قد يستدعي الأمر إجراء جراحة طارئة. يتم اللجوء إلى الجراحة من أجل علاج الحالات التالية:

  • تمدد الأوعية الدموية داخل الدماغ: حدوث ضعف في الأوعية الدموية الموجودة في الدماغ ما يُسبب انتفاخها وبالتالي تعرضها لخطر التمزق
  • التشوه الشرياني الوريدي: حالة تشوه منذ الولادة تترابط وتتشابك فيها مجموعة من الأوردة والشرايين بطريقة غير طبيعية، وقد تؤدي إلى صداع، أو نزيف في الدماغ، أو اختلاجات، أو إعاقة
  • الورم الوعائي الدماغي: تشوه يحدث في مجموعة من الأوعية الدموية على شكل انتفاخات صغيرة. يحدث هذا التشوه في الدماغ أو الحبل الشوكي ويؤدي إلى صداع، أو اختلاجات، أو نزيف في الدماغ
  • الناسور الشرياني: حالة يحدث فيها اتصال مباشر بين الشريان والوريد، دون الشعيرات الدموية التي تحمل الأوكسجين والعناصر الغذائية إلى الأنسجة. ويمكن أن يحدث الناسور الشرياني في أي مكان بالجسم، بما في ذلك الدماغ، ولكن وجوده لا يُشكّل مشكلة إلا بعد أن يكبر حجمه

استسقاء الدماغ

 

حالة يحدث فيها تجمع للسائل النخاعي، الذي يُعرف بـ "السائل الدماغي"، أي السائل الموجود حول الدماغ، نتيجة عدم تصريف السائل الدماغي بالشكل الصحيح. لعلاج هذه الحالة، يلجأ إلى إجراء عملية يجري خلالها فتح الجمجمة للوصول إلى الدماغ من أجل وضع أنبوب رفيع لتصريف السائل الدماغي الزائد عبر البطن.

 
 
 

​​التشخيص والعلاج

 
 
 

التشخيص في برنامج الجراحة العصبية القحفية

 
 
 

يتطلب اختيار المنهج الأكثر أماناً للوصول إلى موضع المشكلة داخل الجمجمة إلى تخطيط مسبق ودقيق قبل الجراحة، التي قد تكون عملية بسيطة تتم عن طريق إحداث فتحة صغيرة في الجمجمة أو إجراء جراحي من خلال قاعدة الجمجمة (مثل الأنف أو الفم أو منطقة خلف الأذن)، وذلك حسب طبيعة الحالة. ويعد اتباع النهج متعدد التخصصات ضرورياً من أجل ضمان سلامة وفعالية الجراحة والعلاج. فعلى سبيل المثال، يتم تقييم حالات المرضى المصابين بأورام تتعلق بقاع الجمجمة على يد فريق يضم أخصائيين في الجراحة والأنف والأذن والحنجرة وأمراض الغدد الصماء وطب العيون.

 

 

 

نظرًا لأن التخطيط المسبق هو الركيزة الأساسية التي يقوم عليها نجاح العمليات الجراحية، يلجأ فريق البرنامج إلى استخدام نطاق واسع من تقنيات التصوير الطبي المتقدمة، مثل التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي والتصوير الطبقي المحوري، في إطار التحضير للجراحة. تتيح الفحوصات باستخدام هذه التقنيات توفير معلومات مهمة عن تركيب الجمجمة وموقع الورم وطبيعته وتطوره ومشكلات أخرى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يتطلب التشخيص في بعض الأحيان إجراء تحاليل مخبرية للسائل النخاعي.

 

 

 

العلاج في برنامج الجراحة العصبية القحفية

 
 
 

يلجأ الجراحون والكوادر الطبية الأخرى في البرنامج إلى عدد من التقنيات المهمة التي ترفع من مستوى السلامة ونسبة النجاح عند إحداث فتحة صغيرة في الجمجمة للوصول إلى الدماغ. وتشمل هذه التقنيات ما يلي:

  •  التصوير الطبي الشعاعي: تقنية تصوير في نظام الملاحة والمجهر المستخدم أثناء الجراحة تُمكن الجراح من الحصول على رؤية أفضل أثناء العملية

 

  • المراقبة والمتابعة العصبية أثناء العملية: تستخدم هذه التقنية لمراقبة وظائف الأعصاب الدماغية بالإضافة إلى وظائف الجسم ككل أثناء الجراحة. تزيد هذه التقنية من احتمال نجاح العملية بشكل كبير، مما يؤدي إلى الحدّ من الآثار الجانبية وتحقيق نتائج أفضل وتعزيز فرص الاستئصال الكامل لأورام الدماغ
  • التصوير الطبي باستخدام المواد المشعة: تستخدم هذه الطريقة المتطورة أحدث المواد الصبغية والمشعة للتعرف على أنسجة الورم وتمييزها عن أنسجة الدماغ المجاورة

 

 

 

في الحالات التي تتميز بوجود تشوهات في الأوعية الدموية تتطلب إجراء جراحة في الأعصاب الدماغية، يلجأ فريق البرنامج إلى العلاج التدخلي أو الجراحي، أو كليهما معًا، حسبما يرونه مناسبًا لحالة المريض.

 

فريق البرنامج

يتألف فريق برنامج الجراحة العصبية القحفية التابع لمعهد الأعصاب في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي من كادر متعدد التخصصات من الأطباء الحائزين على شهادات البورد والمتمرسين في التخطيط لجراحات الدماغ وإجرائها. ويضم الفريق أخصائيين في:

  • جراحة الأعصاب
  • جراحة الأنف والأذن والحنجرة
  • جراحة الأوعية الدموية
  • أمراض الغدد الصماء​
  • طب العيون
  • الأورام
  • تخدير الجراحات العصبية
  • العناية العصبية المركزة
  • الطب النفسي
  • إعادة التأهيل العصبي
  • العلاج الطبيعي​
  • العلاج الوظيفي
  • علاج النطق
  • الخدمات الاجتماعية

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين ببرنامج الجراحة العصبية القحفية​​