​Overview of the Rheumatology Program 

The Rheumatology Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Medical Subspecialties Institute is dedicated to diagnosing and treating patients with systemic autoimmune diseases, all forms of arthritis, and other conditions of the musculoskeletal system. 

Rheumatologists at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi are recognized nationally and internationally for their clinical expertise and research. In addition to evaluating patients with common rheumatic diseases, the rheumatology team is highly trained in treating patients with complicated autoimmune diseases. The Rheumatology Program is committed to its mission of serving as a local, national, and international leader in advancing the treatment of autoimmune diseases through excellence in clinical care, teaching, and research.​

What We Treat​

The Rheumatology Program is committed to treating patients above the age of 14 who have been diagnosed with a wide range of conditions, including: ​

  • Rheumatoid arthritis: A chronic, autoimmune disease that causes inflammation and pain in the joints. 
  • Systemic lupus erythematosus: An autoimmune disease that causes inflammation of the connective tissues. Systemic lupus erythematosus is the most common type of lupus. 
  • Gout: A form of arthritis that causes inflammation after a substance called uric acid crystallizes in the joints. 
  • Osteoarthritis: A form of arthritis that develops when tissues in the joints, called cartilage, wear down. 
  • Psoriatic arthritis: An autoimmune disease that results in inflammation of the skin and the joints. This type of arthritis typically affects individuals who have psoriasis (an autoimmune condition of the skin). 
  • Ankylosing spondylitis: A form of arthritis that affects the joints in the spine.
  • Vasculitis: A group of diseases characterized by inflammation in the blood vessels (the arteries and veins). 

Autoinflammatory syndromes are also treated, and include:

  • Familial Mediterranean fever: An inherited genetic condition that causes repeated fever and inflammation in the abdomen, chest, and joints.  
  • Inflammatory myositis: A condition that causes inflammation of the muscles. 
  • Scleroderma: A group of diseases, also called systemic sclerosis, that cause an overproduction of a substance called collagen, which forms connective tissues. This condition results in the progressive hardening of the skin, blood vessels, and muscles. ​

Diagnosis with Rheumatology ​

On the initial visit to the Rheumatology Program clinic, and on subsequent follow-up appointments, each patient will have a full clinical assessment. Patients are expected to provide a full medical history as well as describe their symptoms to the physician. The physician will also conduct a physical examination, which is the diagnostic cornerstone of autoimmune diseases.

Diagnosis with Rheumatology 

In order to make an accurate diagnosis, the physician may require the following tests:

  • Routine blood test: A laboratory test that requires a blood sample to test for the presence or levels of certain substances in the blood. 
  • Special investigation test: Blood tests that aim to detect antibodies in the blood.
  • Biopsy: A sample of tissue that is collected during a procedure and analyzed for certain substances, such as antibodies. ​
  • X-ray: An imaging test that uses radiation to produce images of the bones.​

Treatment with Rheumatology 

The goal in treating autoimmune conditions is to achieve the lowest possible level of disease activity and, if possible, remission. The expert Rheumatology Program team works hard to improve outcomes, reduce pain, and enhance physical function and quality of life for patients. 

Most patients are treated with carefully managed medication therapy. Patients with an established diagnosis of an autoimmune condition are typically treated with one of three classes of medications: 

  • Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory agents (NSAIDs): NSAIDs are medications that reduce pain and inflammation by blocking the action of a protein called COX. They also reduce blood clotting. This class of medication has a short onset of action, meaning that the therapy starts working quickly.
  • Corticosteroids: Corticosteroids reduce inflammation by mimicking the actions of adrenal gland hormones. They also suppress immune system function. This class of medication has a short onset of action, meaning that the therapy starts working quickly.
  • Disease modifying anti-rheumatic drugs (DMARDs): There are three categories of DMARDs, each of which works through a unique mechanism to reduce inflammation. Conventional synthetic DMARDs suppress immune system function overall while targeted synthetic DMARDs block specific functions in immune cells. Biologic synthetic DMARDs, which are made from animal or human proteins, block the action of proteins called cytokines. This class of medication can take several weeks or months to demonstrate an effect.

Rheumatology Program Caregivers 

The Rheumatology Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Medical Subspecialties Institute is a multidisciplinary collaboration of caregivers committed to providing superior, Patients First care. The core program team of highly trained rheumatologists and nurses coordinates with surgeons, radiologists, ophthalmologists, physical therapists, and podiatrists to diagnose and treat patients.

Caregivers involved in patient care for this program are:

  • Rheumatologists
  • Nurses​

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Rheumatology​

Copyright © Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi LLC 2018

لمحة عن برنامج طبّ الروماتيزم

يختص برنامج طب الروماتيزم التابع لمعهد التخصصات الطبية الدقيقة في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي بتشخيص وعلاج المرضى المصابين باضطرابات المناعة الذاتية وجميع أشكال التهاب المفاصل والحالات الأخرى التي تُصيب الجهاز العضلي الهيكلي.

يتمتع أخصائيو طب الروماتيزم في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي بشهرة محلية وعالمية بفضل خبراتهم الطبية والبحثية. كما يتميز فريق طب الروماتيزم بتمرسه في مجال علاج المرضى المصابين باضطرابات المناعة الذاتية المعقدة إلى جانب تقييم حالة المرضى المصابين بأمراض الروماتيزم الشائعة. ويلتزم برنامج طب الروماتيزم برسالته المتجسدة في الريادة على المستويات المحلية والإقليمية والعالمية في تقديم العلاجات المتقدمة لاضطرابات المناعة الذاتية من خلال التميّز في مجالات الرعاية الطبية والتعليم والبحث.

الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج

يقدم برنامج طبّ الروماتيزم خدمات علاج المرضى فوق سن الرابعة عشر الذين تم تشخصيهم بنطاق واسع من الحالات المرضية، بما فيها: 

  • التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي: مرض مزمن يُصيب المناعة الذاتية ويُسبب التهاب وآلام المفاصل.
  • الذئبة الحمامية الشاملة: مرض يُصيب المناعة الذاتية ويُسبب التهاب في الأنسجة الضامة، وهو من أكثر أنواع الذئبة شيوعاً. 
  • النقرس: شكل من أشكال التهاب المفاصل يؤدي إلى الالتهاب بعد تبلور مادة تسمى "حمض اليوريك" في المفاصل. 
  • الفصال العظمي: شكل من أشكال التهاب المفاصل يتطور عندما تتآكل الأنسجة الموجودة في المفاصل والتي تُعرف بالغضاريف. 
  • التهاب المفاصل الصدفي: مرض يُصيب المناعة الذاتية يؤدي إلى التهاب الجلد والمفاصل، وهذا النوع من التهاب المفاصل يُصيب الأفراد المصابين بالصدفية (حالة طبية تصيب المناعة الذاتية في الجلد). 
  • التهاب الفقار المقسط (التهاب الفقار اللاصق): شكل من أشكال التهاب المفاصل يُصيب المفاصل في العمود الفقري. 
  • التهاب الأوعية الدموية: مجموعة من الاضطرابات التي تتضمن التهاب الأوعية الدموية (الشرايين والأوردة). 

كما يوفر البرنامج علاجات المتلازمات الالتهابية الذاتية التي تتضمن:

  • حمى البحر الأبيض المتوسط العائلية: حالة جينية وراثية تُسبب الإصابة المتكررة بالحمى والالتهابات في منطقة البطن والصدر والمفاصل.
  • الالتهاب العضلي: حالة تُسبب التهاب العضلات.
  • تصلب الجلد: مجموعة من الاضطرابات التي تؤدي إلى الإفراط في إنتاج مادة تسمى "الكولاجين" المسؤولة عن تشكّل الأنسجة الضامة. وينتج عن هذه الحالة تصلب الجلد والأوعية الدموية والعضلات بشكل مستمر.

التشخيص والعلاج ضمن برنامج طبّ الروماتيزم

في الزيارة الأولى لعيادة برنامج طبّ الروماتيزم، وخلال مواعيد المتابعة الصحية، يحصل المريض على تقييم طبي شامل متكامل. وعلى المرضى تقديم تاريخهم الطبي الشامل بالإضافة إلى وصف الأعراض التي يعانون منها للطبيب، الذي بدوره سيجري المعاينة الجسدية التي تعتبر الركيزة الأساسية لتشخيص أمراض المناعة الذاتية.

التشخيص ضمن برنامج طبّ الروماتيزم 

يُجري الطبيب الفحوصات التالية التي تساعده على التوصل إلى التشخيص الدقيق:

  • تحليل الدم الروتيني: اختبار يتطلب سحب عينة دم للكشف عن وجود بعض المواد في الدم أو تفحص مستوياتها.
  • اختبارات الفحص الخاص: تحاليل دم تهدف إلى الكشف عن الأجسام المضادة في الجسم.
  • الخزعة: عينة من الأنسجة يتم أخذها خلال إجراء طبي وتُحلّل للكشف عن وجود بعض المواد فيها كالأجسام المضادة. 
  • الأشعة السينية: اختبار تصوير شعاعي يستخدم الأشعة لتوفير صور للعظام. 

العلاج ضمن برنامج طبّ الروماتيزم 

إن هدف علاج حالات المناعة الذاتية هو تحقيق أقل مستوى من نشاط المرض أو إخماده إن أمكن ذلك، حيث يبذل أطباء برنامج طبّ الروماتيزم كل ما بوسعهم لتخفيف آلام المرضى وتحسين النتائج المحققة لهم والوظائف الجسدية لديهم والارتقاء بجودة حياتهم.

ويتلقى المرضى العلاج الدوائي وفق إدارة ورقابة طبية دقيقة، إذ يُعالج مرضى اضطرابات المناعة الذاتية باستخدام ثلاثة أصناف من الأدوية: 

  • مضادات الالتهاب اللاستيرويدية: أدوية تخفف من حدة الألم والالتهاب من خلال تثبيط عمل بروتين يسمى "السيكلواوكسيجيناز"، كما أنها تمنع تخثر الدم. لهذا الصنف من الأدوية بداية مفعول سريعة، أي أن مفعول العلاج يبدأ بالظهور بسرعة.
  • الكورتيكوستيرويد: تقلل أدوية الكورتيكوستيرويد الالتهاب من خلال تقليد وظيفة هرمونات الغدة الكظرية، كما أنها تثبط وظيفة الجهاز المناعي. لهذا الصنف من الأدوية بداية مفعول سريعة، أي أن مفعول العلاج يبدأ بالظهور بسرعة.
  • الأدوية المضادة للروماتويد والمُعدّلة لسير المرض: هناك ثلاثة فئات للأدوية المضادة للروماتويد والمُعدّلة لسير المرض تعمل كل منها بتقنية متميزة للحدّ من الالتهاب. تعمل الأدوية المضادة للروماتويد والمُعدّلة لسير المرض الصناعية التقليدية على تثبيط وظيفة الجهاز المناعي، بينما تعمل على منع وظائف محددة في الخلايا المناعية. أما الأدوية المضادة للروماتويد والمُعدّلة لسير المرض البيولوجية الصناعية والمكونة من بروتينات حيوانية أو بشرية فهي تمنع وظيفة بروتينات تسمى "السيتوكينات". وتستغرق هذه الفئة من الأدوية عدّة أسابيع أو أشهر حتى يبدأ تأثيرها بالظهور.

فريق البرنامج

يتميز برنامج طبّ الروماتيزم التابع لمعهد التخصصات الطبية الدقيقة في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي بالتعاون متعدد الاختصاصات ما بين مزودي الرعاية الملتزمين بتوفير الرعاية الفائقة عملاً بمبدأ "المريض أولاً". يعمل الفريق الأساسي للبرنامج المدرّب تدريباً متقدماً بما فيه من أخصائيين في طب الروماتيزم وطاقم تمريض بالتعاون والتنسيق مع الأطباء الجراحين وأخصائيي التصوير الشعاعي وأخصائيي العلاج الطبيعي وأخصائيي القدم بهدف تشخيص وعلاج المرضى، ويضم فريق مزودي الرعاية في البرنامج ما يلي:

  • أخصائيي أمراض الروماتيزم
  • طاقم تمريض

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين ببرنامج طبّ الروماتيزم

 حقوق النشر محفوظة لدى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي ذ.م.م. 2018