Overview of the Diabetes Mellitus Program

The Diabetes Mellitus Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi is committed to ensuring that adult patients with diabetes receive advanced medical care and effective patient education to prevent and manage complications of their disease. Because diet plays an important role in diabetes management, the program’s Patients First approach is tailored to meet the culturally diverse characteristics of the United Arab Emirates and the Gulf region. 

Diabetes Mellitus Program caregivers collaborate with other multidisciplinary programs and subspecialties across Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Institutes. This approach ensures that patients receive comprehensive, world class care and expert treatment for diabetes-related complications.

What We Treat

Patients with diabetes mellitus cannot maintain normal levels of glucose – the body’s main source of energy – in the blood. This happens because the body is unable to make enough insulin or because the body is unable to use insulin correctly. Insulin is the hormone produced in the pancreas that allows glucose (or blood sugar) to be transferred into cells and used to produce energy.

These patients often experience increased thirst and fatigue, and pass urine frequently. Other symptoms include infections that do not heal, blurred vision, hunger, irritability, and unexplained weight loss. Some patients do not experience any symptoms, which means that diabetes may not be diagnosed right away. Getting regular health screenings is important for patients to know if they are at risk. 

Diabetes can affect many parts of the body, causing serious health problems if it is not well managed. These include:

There are two main types of diabetes. 

Type 1 diabetes is an autoimmune condition in which the pancreas is attacked by antibodies (molecules created by the body’s immune system to fight infection), causing it to fail. Type 1 diabetes usually develops before adulthood and remains with a person throughout their life. This form of diabetes requires insulin injections to control blood glucose levels. 

Type 2 diabetes is mainly brought on by age, weight gain, and an unhealthy, inactive lifestyle. In this form of diabetes, the body still produces insulin, but does not respond to the hormone like it should. Type 2 diabetes can be prevented, managed, and even reversed by eating a healthy, balanced diet, maintaining a normal weight, and exercising regularly. Most patients, however, will at some point need medication to keep their blood glucose levels under control.

Diagnosis & Treatment 

The Diabetes Mellitus Program’s specially trained caregivers use state-of-the-art diagnostic tools to formulate treatment plans tailored to each patient’s diagnosis and lifestyle.

Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus

A patient’s first visit typically starts with a comprehensive history, review of symptoms, and physical examination. Lab tests to measure a patient’s blood glucose are usually done. In addition, patients may receive a computerized eye exam to check the retina (the back of the eye) to see if there is any diabetes-related damage to the blood vessels in the eye.

Treatment of Diabetes Mellitus 

Managing diabetes mellitus requires continuous follow-up care. At subsequent appointments with Diabetes Mellitus Program physicians, information is downloaded from a patient’s diabetes management home-use device (if available) to review glucose readings and other relevant data. Caregivers also review symptoms, and may order additional testing to check for diabetes-related complications, when necessary.

Because diabetes can cause complications that affect many parts of the body, the Diabetes Mellitus Program collaborates with other Institutes and subspecialties at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi. These include:

This multidisciplinary approach ensures that Diabetes Mellitus Program patients receive expert, coordinated care for related complications.

Diabetes Mellitus Program Caregivers

Diabetes Mellitus Program care is provided by a dedicated team that supports all aspects of the patient journey, working with physicians from across Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi. Caregivers involved in patient care for this program are:

  • Endocrinologists
  • Nurses
  • Dieticians​
  • Certified diabetes educators​

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Diabetes Mellitus​​

لمحة عن برنامج السكري

يلتزم فريق برنامج السكري في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي بتقديم الرعاية الطبية المتقدمة والتثقيف والإرشاد الفعال للبالغين المصابين به، وذلك للوقاية من الإصابة بمضاعفات السكري والتعامل معها في خال التعرّض لها. ونظراً إلى الدور الرئيسي الذي يلعبه النظام الغذائي في التعامل مع السكري، صُمم البرنامج الذي يعتمد على مبدأ "المريض أولًا" لتلبية احتياجات الأفراد في دولة الإمارات ومنطقة الخليج في ظل التنوع الثقافي. 

يتعاون أطباء برنامج السكري مع البرامج متعددة الاختصاصات والتخصصات الطبية الدقيقة ضمن معاهد كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، ويضمن هذا النهج حصول المرضى على الرعاية الشاملة عالمية المستوى والعلاج المتخصص للمضاعفات المرتبطة بالسكري. 

الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج

يحول مرض السكري دون الحفاظ على مستويات طبيعية من السكر في الدم الذي يعتبر المصدر الرئيسي للطاقة في الجسم، ويحدث ذلك بسبب عدم قدرة الجسم على إنتاج كمية كافية من الأنسولين أو بسبب عدم قدرة الجسم على استخدام الأنسولين بالشكل الصحيح. والأنسولين هو الهرمون الذي يفرزه البنكرياس ويسمح للسكر في الدم بالتحول إلى خلايا واستخدامه لإنتاج الطاقة.  

تظهر على مرضى السكري عدّة أعراض، وأبرزها: العطش والإرهاق والتبول المتكرر. وتتضمن الأعراض الأخرى الإصابة بالالتهابات التي لا تشفى والجوع والضيق والتهيّج ونقصان الوزن غير المبرر. وفي بعض الأحيان، لا تظهر هذه الأعراض على بعض المرضى نهائيًا مما يعني التأخر في تشخيص السكري، لذلك من المهم إجراء الفحوصات الصحية العامة حتى يعلم المريض إذا كان معرض لخطر الإصابة بالسكري.  

للسكري تأثيرات كثيرة على الأعضاء الأخرى في الجسم والتي تؤدي إلى مشكلات صحية خطيرة ما لم يتم التعامل معها بالطريقة المناسبة. وتتضمن هذه التأثيرات ما يلي: ​

هناك نوعان لمرض السكري: 

  • السكري من النوع الأول وهو اضطراب في المناعة الذاتية تهاجم فيه الأجسام المضادة (جزيئات ينتجها جهاز المناعة في الجسم لمحاربة العدوى) البنكرياس مما يؤدي إلى فشله في أداء وظيفته. غالبًا ما يصاب الشخص بالسكري من النوع الأول قبل سن البلوغ ويبقى مصابًا به طوال حياته، ويتطلب هذا النوع من المريض أخذ حقن الأنسولين لضبط مستويات السكر في الدم.   
  • السكري من النوع الثاني والذي يصاب به الشخص مع التقدم في السن وزيادة الوزن واتباع أسلوب حياة غير صحي مع قلة الحركة والنشاط. وفي هذا النوع من السكري، ينتج الجسم الأنسولين إلا أنه لا يستجيب للهرمون كما يجب. ويمكن الوقاية من السكري أو التعامل معه أو حتى علاجه باتباع نظام غذائي صحي ومتوازن والحفاظ على وزن مثالي للجسم وممارسة التمارين الرياضية بانتظام، وهذا لا يلغي حاجة غالبية المرضى إلى أخذ الأدوية التي تنظّم مستويات السكر في الدم.

التشخيص والعلاج 

يستخدم أطباء برنامج السكري المتمرسين والمدربين تدريباً دقيقاً أحدث الأدوات والوسائل التشخيصية المتقدمة لوضع الخطط العلاجية المصممة بما يناسب حالة كل مريض وأسلوب حياته.​

تشخيص السكري

تبدأ الزيارة الأولى للمريض بالاطلاع على تاريخه الطبي الكامل ومعاينة الأعراض التي يعاني منها وإجراء فحص جسدي وتحليل دم لقياس مستوى السكر في الدم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجري الأطباء اختبارًا للعين باستخدام جهاز الكمبيوتر لفحص الشبكية (الجزء الخلفي من العين) للتحقق من وجود أي ضرر في الأوعية الدموية في العين بسبب السكري.  

علاج السكري 

يتطلب مرض السكري المتابعة والرعاية المستمرة، وخلال مواعيد الزيارة التالية للمريض، يتم تحميل المعلومات من جهاز قياس السكر المنزلي الخاص بالمريض (إن وجد) وذلك لمراجعة قراءات السكر والبيانات الأخرى ذات الأهمية. كما يراجع الأخصائي الأعراض التي يعاني منها المريض وقد يطلب إجراء المزيد من الاختبارات والفحوصات للكشف عن الإصابة بالمضاعفات المتعلقة بالسكري عند الضرورة.

ولأن السكري يسبب مضاعفات تؤثر على عدة أعضاء في الجسم، يتعاون فريق برنامج السكري مع المعاهد والتخصصات الدقيقة الأخرى في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي. وتتضمن هذه المعاهد ما يلي:

تضمن هذه المنهجية متعددة الاختصاصات تلقي مرضى برنامج السكري الرعاية الشاملة المتكاملة للمضاعفات المرتبطة بالسكري.

فريق البرنامج

يتولى فريق متمرس تقديم الرعاية الطبية في إطار برنامج السكري والتي تشمل جميع جوانب رحلة المريض العلاجية، وذلك من خلال العمل مع الأطباء من مختلف التخصصات والمعاهد في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي. يضم فريق الرعاية ما يلي:

  • أخصائيي غدد صماء
  • طاقم تمريض
  • أخصائيي تغذية 
  • ​مرشدين مرخصين لمرضى السكري

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين ببرنامج السكري​​​