Overview of the Adrenal Disorders Program 

The Adrenal Disorders Program in Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Medical Subspecialties Institute specializes in the diagnosis and treatment of conditions of the adrenal glands. Located above the kidneys, the adrenal glands are part of the endocrine system, and produce hormones that help the body regulate metabolism, control blood pressure, and carry out other essential functions. 

The Adrenal Disorders Program’s highly trained physicians offer patients a variety of special diagnostic methods to pinpoint if they have an adrenal disorder, and to determine the best way to treat it. 

What We Treat

The adrenal glands produce important hormones that regulate blood pressure, control blood sugar, burn fat and protein, and help the body react to stress, among their many functions. When a patient has an adrenal gland disorder, the glands make either too little or too much of the hormones they are responsible for. This condition can occur in patients of any age, and symptoms can include fatigue, weight gain or loss, and high blood pressure.  

Causes of adrenal gland disorders include:

  • Genetic mutations
  • Tumors 
  • Infections
  • Certain medications
  • A problem in another endocrine gland, such as the pituitary gland, which helps to regulate the adrenal gland

The caregivers in the Adrenal Disorders Program put Patients First, tailoring treatment plans based on each patient’s condition and physician’s assessment. 

Diagnosis & Treatment 

The type of diagnostic tests and methods used by physicians in the Adrenal Disorders Program is dependent on each patient’s clinical examination. Surgery or medications can treat many adrenal gland disorders.

Diagnosis of Adrenal Disorders 

At the first appointment, each patient is asked to give a thorough medical history. Patients may receive a hormonal evaluation and additional tests, depending upon their symptoms.  

Some patients may require imaging with a CT or MRI scan to closely examine their adrenal glands. Depending on blood test and imaging results, further studies may be ordered.

The Adrenal Disorders Program in Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Medical Subspecialties Institute also offers patients an advanced diagnostic test called adrenal venous sampling. This technology allows physicians to test the blood in the veins around the adrenal glands to see if they are working properly.

Treatment of Adrenal Disorders 

The expert physicians in the Adrenal Disorders Program are highly trained in the latest treatment options to provide the highest standard of care to their patients, and have access to state-of-the-art treatments to meet the needs of the patients. Depending on the diagnosis, examples of treatments may include:

  • Medication to slow down the release of excess hormones from the adrenal glands
  • Hormone replacement therapy (if a patient’s adrenal glands are not making enough hormones)
  • Surgery to remove tumors in the adrenal glands

Adrenal Disorders Program Caregivers

The Adrenal Disorders Program physicians in Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Medical Subspecialties Institute work with a highly dedicated team of nurses. The program team also coordinates with the Endocrine Surgeons within the Digestive Disease Institute to offer patients multidisciplinary treatments and the best possible care before, during, and after surgery. Caregivers involved in patient care for this program are: 

  • Endocrinologists
  • Pathologists
  • Radiologists
  • Psychiatrists
  • Surgeons
  • Nurses
  • Dieticians
  • Patient educators

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Adrenal Disorders

لمحة عن برنامج اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية

يتخصص برنامج اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية في معهد التخصصات الطبية الدقيقة في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي في تشخيص وعلاج الحالات الطبية التي تصيب الغدة الكظرية، وهي الغدة التي تقع فوق الكليتين وتعتبر جزءًا من نظام الغدد الصماء في الجسم. تعمل الغدة الكظرية على إنتاج الهرمونات التي تساعد الجسم على تنظيم عملية الأيض والتحكم بمستوى ضغط الدم إلى جانب تأدية وظائف حيوية أخرى في الجسم.​

يستخدم فريق الأطباء المتمرسين في برنامج اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية أحدث الوسائل التشخيصية لرصد اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية وتحديد أفضل طرق لعلاجها.​

الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج

تفرز الغدة الكظرية هرمونات مهمة تقوم بالكثير من الوظائف، منها تنظيم مستوى ضغط الدم وضبط مستوى السكر في الدم وحرق الدهون والبروتينات ومساعدة الجسم على الاستجابة للإجهاد. يؤدي اضطراب الغدة الكظرية إلى حدوث زيادة أو نقصان في إنتاج هذه الهرمونات، وقد تحدث هذه الحالة في أي عمر، وتتضمن أعراضها الإرهاق وارتفاع ضغط الدم ونقصان الوزن أو زيادته.  ​

ومن الأسباب التي تقف وراء الإصابة باضطرابات الغدة الكظرية:​

  • الطفرات الجينية​
  • الأورام ​
  • الالتهابات​
  • استخدام أنواع معينة من الأدوية​
  • وجود اضطراب في غدة صماء أخرى كالغدة النخامية التي تساعد في تنظيم عمل الغدة الكظرية​

يعتمد عمل فريق برنامج اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية على فلسفة"المريض أولًا"، ويتجلى ذلك من خلال خطط العلاج التي توضع اعتمادًا على حالة المريض وتقييم الطبيب.​ ​

التشخيص والعلاج 

تعتمد أنواع الاختبارات التشخيصية التي يتبعها الأطباء في برنامج اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية على الفحص السريري للمريض، ومن الممكن علاج الكثير من هذه الاضطرابات عن طريق الأدوية أو الجراحة.​

تشخيص اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية

عند الزيارة الأولى، يُطلب من المريض تقديم معلومات مفصلة عن تاريخه الطبي، وقد يحتاج إلى إجراء الاختبارات الهرمونية وغيرها من التحاليل والفحوصات الإضافية، وذلك حسب الأعراض التي يعاني منها.  

كما قد تتطلب بعض الحالات إجراء فحوصات التصوير بالأشعة المقطعية أو الرنين المغناطيسي، وذلك لفحص الغدة الكظرية بدقة. وبعد صدور نتائج تحليل الدم وفحوصات التصوير الشعاعي، يمكن للطبيب أن يطلب المزيد من الفحوصات الأخرى.

يوفّر برنامج اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية التابع لمعهد التخصصات الطبية الدقيقة في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي للمرضى اختبارًا تشخيصيًا متطورًا يتضمن أخذ عينة من الأوردة الكظرية. وتسمح هذه التقنية للأطباء بإجراء تحليل للدم الموجود في الأوردة المحيطة بالغدة الكظرية والتأكد من تأدية وظيفتها بالشكل المطلوب. ​

علاج اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية

يتمتع أطباء برنامج اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية بمستوى عالٍ من التدريب على أحدث الخيارات العلاجية بهدف توفير أعلى معايير الرعاية وأحدث الوسائل العلاجية المتقدمة لتلبية احتياجات المرضى. يتم اختيار العلاج حسب التشخيص، وتتضمن العلاجات المتوفرة في المستشفى:​​

  • الأدوية المثبطة لفرط إفراز الهرمونات في الغدة الكظرية​
  • العلاج بالهرمونات البديلة (في حال عدم إفراز الغدة كمية كافية من الهرمونات)​
  • الجراحة لاستئصال الأورام في الغدة الكظرية​

فريق البرنامج 

يتعاون فريق الأطباء في برنامج اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية التابع لمعهد التخصصات الطبية الدقيقة في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي مع كادر متخصص من الممرضين، كما يعمل بالتنسيق مع أخصائيي جراحة الغدد الصماء في المعهد لتوفير العلاج متعدد التخصصات وتزويد أفضل مستويات الرعاية أثناء الجراحة وقبلها وبعدها. ويضم فريق البرنامج أخصائيين في: ​​

  • مراض الغدد الصماء​
  • علم الأمراض​
  • التصوير الشعاعي​
  • الطب النفسي​
  • الجراحة​
  • التمريض​
  • التغذية​
  • التوعية الصحية​

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين ببرنامج اضطرابات الغدة الكظرية​ ​​

 حقوق النشر محفوظة لدى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي ذ.م.م. 2018​