​Overview of the Musculoskeletal Imaging Program

The Musculoskeletal Imaging Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Imaging Institute provides expert imaging for bone, joint, and muscle disorders. The multidisciplinary team of caregivers makes use of a range of imaging technologies, including radiography, computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), and ultrasound.

In addition to a full breadth of musculoskeletal imaging services, the Musculoskeletal Imaging Program is unique for its deep medical focus on rheumatological disorders like rheumatoid arthritis and bone and joint disorders that are related to diabetes complications.

What We Treat

The Musculoskeletal Imaging Program supports physicians in other specialties at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, including rheumatologists in the Medical Subspecialties Institute, to facilitate timely and accurate diagnosis of bone, joint, and muscle disorders. Caregivers provide imaging support for conditions like:

  • Rheumatoid arthritis: Rheumatoid arthritis is a long-lasting autoimmune disorder that typically results in swollen and painful joints. Early detection and treatment of the condition is important for helping patients with rheumatoid arthritis to maintain their quality of life.
  • Bone and joint disorders related to complications of diabetes: Having diabetes is associated with a higher risk of bone and joint problems like osteoarthritis (inflammation of joint tissue) and Charcot foot (joint disease that occurs because of nerve damage). Imaging has a key role in determining whether a patient has one of these conditions, and how serious it is.
  • Bone tumors: Tumors, or masses of abnormal cells, that occur in the bones. Bone tumors can be benign (noncancerous) or malignant (cancerous).
  • Soft tissue tumors: Tumors in muscular tissue, which can be benign or malignant.

Diagnosis & Treatment with Musculoskeletal Imaging

The highly trained Musculoskeletal Imaging Program team offers the following imaging studies for bone, joint, and muscle disease diagnosis and treatment:

  • Bone, joint, and muscle imaging studies utilizing x-ray, computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound, and bone densitometry technologies
  • Fluoroscopic and MRI joint arthrograms (studies using x-rays or magnetic beams to generate a series of photos of a joint)
  • Image guidance for steroid and anesthetic injections, used for diagnostic procedures and pain management
  • Bone and soft tissue biopsies to check for tumors

In particular, MRI has become the gold standard imaging test for rheumatoid arthritis, surpassing x-ray in the detection and assessment of patients with the condition. MRI also plays a role in rheumatoid arthritis treatment. It is used to inform drug therapy, allowing sometimes expensive therapeutic medications to be used cost-effectively.

Focused on providing cutting-edge, Patients First care in imaging, the Musculoskeletal Imaging Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi aims to incorporate the newest diagnostic and therapeutic methods as they become available.

Musculoskeletal Imaging Program Caregivers

The multidisciplinary Musculoskeletal Imaging Program team at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Imaging Institute is composed of Western-trained, board certified physicians who work in close collaboration with clinical colleagues across a range of specialties. Caregivers involved patient care for this program are:

  • Radiologists
  • X-ray, CT, MRI, and ultrasound imaging technologists
  • Rheumatologists
  • Podiatrists
  • Surgeons
  • Neurologists 
  • Emergency medicine physicians

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Musculoskeletal Imaging​

Copyright © Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi LLC 2018

​لمحة عن البرنامج 

يقدم برنامج التصوير الشعاعي العضلي الهيكلي التابع لمعهد التصوير في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي صور اللازمة لأمراض العظام والمفاصل والعضلات. يستخدم الفريق متعدد الاختصاصات من مزودي الرعاية مجموعة من تقنيات التصوير بما فيها التصوير الشعاعي والتصوير المقطعي المحوسب والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي والتصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية.

بالإضافة إلى المجموعة الشاملة من خدمات التصوير الشعاعي العضلي الهيكلي، يتفرد برنامج التصوير الشعاعي العضلي الهيكلي بتركيزه الطبي العميق على أمراض الروماتيزم كالتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي وأمراض العظام والمفاصل المتعلقة بمضاعفات مرض السكري.

ما هي الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج؟

يقدم برنامج التصوير العضلي الهيكلي الدعم للأطباء ذوي التخصصات الأخرى في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، بمن فيهم أخصائيو الروماتيزم في معهد التخصصات الطبية الفرعية  وذلك لتوفير التشخيص الدقيق لأمراض العظام والمفاصل والعضلات. يوفر مزودو الرعاية خدمات التصوير لحالات تتضمن:

  • التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي: التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي هو مرض مزمن يصيب المناعة الذاتية وينتج عنه تورم وآلام المفاصل. ويعتبر التشخيص  والعلاج المبكر لهذه الحالة أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لمساعدة المصابين بالتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي على المحافظة على جودة حياتهم.
  • أمراض العظام والمفاصل المتعلقة بمضاعفات السكري: ترتبط الإصابة بمرض السكري بازدياد خطر التعرض لأمراض العظام والمفاصل كالفصال العظمي (التهاب نسيج المفاصل) وقدم شاركوت (أمراض المفاصل التي تحدث بسبب تضرر الأعصاب). للتصوير دور هام في تحديد ما إن كان المريض مصابًا بإحدى هذه الحالات ومدى حدتها.
  • أورام العظام: الأورام أو تكتل الخلايا غير الطبيعية في العظام. قد تكون أورام العظام حميدة (غير سرطانية) أو خبيثة (سرطانية).
  • أورام النسيج الرخو: الأورام في النسيج العضلي التي قد تكون حميدة أو خبيثة.

التشخيص والعلاج من خلال التصوير الشعاعي العضلي الهيكلي

يقدم فريق برنامج التصوير الشعاعي العضلي الهيكلي دراسات التصوير لتشخيص وعلاج العظام والمفاصل والعضلات كما يلي:

  • دراسات التصوير للعظام والمفاصل والعضلات باستخدام الأشعة السينية والتصوير المقطعي المحوسب والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي والتصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية وتقنيات قياس كثافة العظام.
  • الصور التنظيرية والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (دراسات باستخدام الأشعة السينية أو الموجات المغناطيسية لتوفير سلسلة من الصور للمفصل)
  • التوجيه باستخدام الصور لحقن الستيرويد والمسكنات التي تستخدم للإجراءات التشخيصية ومعالجة الألم.
  • خزعات العظم والنسيج الرخو لتحديد الإصابة بالأورام.

أصبح التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي على وجه الخصوص المعيار الرئيسي لاختبارات تصوير التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي وتفوق التصوير بالأشعة السينية في فحص وتقييم المرضى المصابين بهذه الحالة. كما لعب التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي دورًا هامًا في علاج التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي. فهو يستخدم لتقديم المعلومات المفيدة في وصف الأدوية مما يسمح باستخدام الأدوية العلاجية باهظة الثمن بشكل فعال من حيث التكلفة.

مرتكزًا على توفير أحدث مستويات الرعاية واتباع مبدأ المريض أولًا، يهدف برنامج التصوير الشعاعي العضلي الهيكلي في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي إلى استخدام أحدث الوسائل التشخيصية والعلاجية فور توفرها.

فريق البرنامج

يتكون فريق برنامج التصوير الشعاعي العضلي الهيكلي في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي من أطباء متدربين وحاصلين على شهادات البورد يتعاونون مع زملائهم في نطاق واسع من التخصصات. يضم الفريق أخصائيين في:

  • التصوير الشعاعي
  • التصوير بالأشعة السينية والتصوير الطبقي المحوري والتصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية
  • أمراض الروماتيزم
  • أمراض القدم
  • الجراحة
  • طب الأعصاب 
  • طب الطوارئ

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين ببرنامج التصوير الشعاعي العضلي الهيكلي

حقوق النشر محفوظة لدى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي ذ.م.م. 2018