​Overview of the Uveitis Service

Uveitis, also called ocular inflammatory disease, occurs when there is inflammation inside the eye. Uveitis is a common cause of permanent blindness in developed countries. It is more common in the Middle East and North Africa than North America. Since it is often difficult to diagnose and treat, patients suffering from uveitis should be managed by a highly specialized physician to ensure optimal care. Uveitis specialists at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Eye Institute provide world-class, Patients First treatment to all patients affected by the disease.

What We Treat

Uveitis is the general term used to describe inflammation inside the eye. The Uveitis team at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Eye Institute carefully evaluates each patient to fully understand their particular condition.

The uvea is part of the inner layer of the eye, which is divided into three different structures: the iris, the ciliary body (behind the iris, where the fluid that nourishes the eye is produced), and the choroid (a highly vascularized layer under the retina). Sometimes inflammation affects other inner structures, like the retina or optic nerve, or the eye wall itself may become inflamed (this is referred to as scleritis). These conditions can affect people of all ages, including children.

Diagnosis & Treatment of Uveitis 

Diagnosis of Uveitis 

Uncovering the cause of inflammation requires a complete eye examination by a uveitis specialist. Imaging studies of the retina and other structures in the eye, as well as laboratory tests, are frequently needed for an accurate diagnosis. A sample of the aqueous humor (the liquid within the eye) may also be required to clarify the diagnosis and determine appropriate steps for managing the disease.

Treatment of Uveitis 

Uveitis treatment depends on the patient’s specific diagnosis. The most common treatment is medical therapy, including eye drops, injections, or oral medications. Rarely, surgery may be necessary.

Uveitis Program Caregivers 

An ophthalmologist specializing in inflammatory disease takes the lead in the care and treatment for the patient. The uveitis specialist is supported by retina and glaucoma specialists, as these diseases are among the most common complications of uveitis. Because many cases of uveitis are related to systemic infection or rheumatologic disease, specialists in these areas are also key members of the team. 

Caregivers involved in patient care for this program are:

  • Ophthalmologists specializing in inflammatory disease
  • Retina specialists
  • Glaucoma specialists
  • Infectious disease specialists
  • Rheumatology specialists
  • Specialized nurses
  • Specialized technicians

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Uveitis ​

Copyright © Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi LLC 2018​

​لمحة عن التهاب العنبية

يسمى أيضاً بالتهاب العين ويحدث عند وجود التهاب داخل العين، وهو مسبب شائع للعمى الدائم في الدول النامية. ينتشر هذا المرض في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا أكثر من أميركا الشمالية، وهو صعب التشخيص والعلاج، لذا يجب على المرضى المصابين به الحصول على رعاية طبيب متخصص لضمان تقديم أفضل رعاية لهم. يقدم أخصائيو التهاب العنبية في معهد العيون التابع لكليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي العلاج لجميع مرضى التهاب العنبية بالاعتماد على فلسفة "المريض أولاً".​

ما هي الحالات الطبية المشمولة بهذه الخدمات؟

التهاب العنبية هو المصطلح العام المستخدم لوصف الالتهابات التي تصيب الجزء الداخلي للعين. يعمل الفريق الطبي المعني بعلاج هذا المرض في معهد العيون التابع لكليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي على تقييم كل مريض للتوصل إلى فهم كامل لحالته الخاصة.

والعنبية هي الطبقة الداخلية للعين وتنقسم إلى ثلاثة تراكيب مختلفة: القزحية، الجسم الهدبي (يقع خلف القزحية حيث يتم إفراز السائل الذي يغذي العين) والمشيمية (طبقة تحتوي على الكثير من الأوعية الدموية أسفل القزحية). يؤثر الالتهاب على التراكيب الداخلية الأخرى في العين، مثل الشبكية أو العصب البصري، أو ربما يؤدي إلى التهاب جدار العين نفسه (الذي يعرف بالتهاب الصلبة). تصيب هذه الحالات جميع الأشخاص بمن فيهم الأطفال.

التشخيص والعلاج 

تشخيص التهاب العنبية 

يحتاج أخصائي التهاب العنبية إلى إجراء فحص كامل للعين لمعرفة السبب الذي أدى إلى الالتهاب، وغالباً ما يطلب الأطباء فحوصات تصوير للشبكية والتراكيب الأخرى في العين بالإضافة إلى الفحوصات المخبرية من أجل التوصل إلى تشخيص دقيق للحالة. كذلك من المحتمل أخذ عينة من الخلط المائي (السائل الذي يتم إفرازه داخل العين) لتوضيح التشخيص وتحديد الخطوات المناسبة لعلاج المرض.

علاج التهاب العنبية 

يعتمد علاج التهاب العنبية على التشخيص الدقيق لحالة المريض. العلاج الأكثر انتشاراً هو العلاج الدوائي الذي يتضمن استخدام قطرات العين والحقن والأدوية عن طريق الفم، ونادراً ما تبرز الحاجة إلى اللجوء إلى العمل الجراحي.​

الفريق الطبي

يحصل المريض على الرعاية والعلاج تحت إشراف طبيب العيون المتخصص بالتهاب العنبية بالتعاون مع أخصائيين بأمراض الشبكية والزرق باعتبارها من بين المضاعفات الأكثر شيوعاً لالتهاب العنبية. ويرتبط الكثير من حالات التهاب العنبية بالعدوى الجهازية أو مرض الروماتيزم، لذلك، يعد الأخصائيون في هذه الأمراض أعضاء رئيسيين في الفريق. 

يضم الفريق أخصائيين في:​

  • طب العيون/ الأمراض الالتهابية
  • أمراض الشبكية
  • الزرق
  • الأمراض السارية
  • الروماتيزم
  • ممرضين متخصصين

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين بالتهاب العنبية ​​

حقوق النشر محفوظة لدى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي ذ.م.م. 2018