​Overview of the Pediatric Myopia Clinic 

Myopia, also known as near- or shortsightedness, is a common condition in children that affects distance and intermediate vision. The number of pediatric cases is on the rise. 

Myopia can be compensated for by prescription glasses. However, onset in early childhood can progress to high levels, which poses a serious risk for lifelong vision impairment and blindness. Myopia can impact health and quality of life substantially, and should not be ignored.

At Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Pediatric Myopia Clinic, our main goal is to slow down myopia progression through evidence-based treatment. Myopia progresses most rapidly throughout childhood and the early teenage years, but early detection and intervention can decrease the risks and burden of high myopia (a higher degree of shortsightedness than average).  

What we treat

  • Childhood-onset myopia​

Diagnosis & Treatment 

Diagnosis of Myopia 

Myopia is a common refractive disorder and is typically related to an abnormally long eye.  Light focuses in front of the retina instead of on it.  This leads to blurry distance and intermediate vision. Myopia in children can be very easily diagnosed with a simple eye exam or vision screening.  

Treatment of Pediatric Myopia

Once pediatric myopia has been diagnosed, it can be compensated for with prescription glasses. In addition, lifestyle modifications are important to reduce the risk of progression, such as decreasing screen time as much as possible. If myopia continues to progress, we treat it with evidence-based approaches. This may include a pharmacological option or therapeutic contact lenses, or in some cases, a combination of both.

Treating myopia progression needs commitment on the part of the parents and their children, but the outcome is very rewarding. Book an appointment with one of our pediatric myopia experts now.

Pediatric Myopia Clinic Caregivers

Our Pediatric Myopia Clinic brings together a multidisciplinary team of healthcare experts including:

  • Pediatric ophthalmologists
  • Orthoptists
  • Nurses​
  • Technicians

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Pediatric Myopia

Copyright © Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi LLC 2021​​

Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!

​لمحة عامة عن عيادة علاج قصر النظر عند الأطفال:

قصر النظر هو حالة مرضية شائعة عند الأطفال، تؤثر على رؤية الأشياء التي تقع على مسافات بعيدة أو متوسطة، ويلاحظ أن عدد حالات قصر النظر لدى الأطفال في تزايد مستمر.

يمكن إصلاح قصر النظر عن طريق استخدام النظارات الطبية، إلا أن ظهور المرض في مرحلة مبكرة من الطفولة يمكن أن يؤدي إلى زيادة حدَته وشدته، الأمر الذي يشكل خطراً حقيقاً على مستوى الإبصار، واحتمالية الإصابة بالعمى الدائم. لذا يمكننا القول أن الإصابة بقصر النظر وتأثيره على الصحة العامة وعلى نوعية الحياة التي يحياها المريض كبير ولا ينبغي تجاهله

يتمثل هدفنا في عيادة علاج قصر النظر عند الأطفال في المقام الأول إلى إبطاء تقدم قصر النظر، الذي يتطور بسرعة أكبر خلال مرحلة الطفولة والسنوات الأولى من المراهقة، إلا أن الاكتشاف المبكر للمرض والتدخل العلاجي السريع من شأنه أن يقلل من مخاطر ومضاعفات قصر النظر. تُقدم كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي تدابير علاجية قائمة على أحدث ما توصلت إليه العلوم الطبية، وذلك للحد من تطور قصر النظر لدى الأطفال.

ما هي الحالات الطبية المشمولة بالبرنامج:

  • قصر النظر في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة​

التشخيص والعلاج

تشخيص قصر النظر

يعتبر قصر النظر أحد العيوب الانسكارية الشائعة بالعين، حيث يتركز الضوء أمام الشبكية بدلا من التركيز على الشبكية نفسها، الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى الرؤية الضبابية عند النظر إلى الأشياء من مسافات بعيدة نسبيا. يمكن تشخيص قصر النظر عند الأطفال بسهولة، وذلك من خلال إجراء فحص بسيط للعين أو قياس مستوى الرؤية.

علاج قصر النظر عند الأطفال

بمجرد تشخيص قصر النظر عند الأطفال، يمكن إصلاح الأمر باستخدام النظارات الطبية. علاوة على ذلك، يمكن إجراء بعض التعديلات في نمط الحياة، وذلك لتقليل مخاطر تقدم المرض وزيادة حدته، مثل تقليل وقت الجلوس أمام الشاشات (التلفاز، الحاسوب، الهواتف، إلخ) قدر الإمكان. إذا استمر قصر النظر في التطور والتزايد، فإننا نتعامل معه بتدابير علاجية وفقاً لأحدث ما توصلت إليه العلوم الطبية. قد يشمل ذلك خيارات دوائية أو عدسات لاصقة علاجية، أو أكثر من خيار علاجي في ذات الوقت.

يحتاج علاج الحالات المتقدمة من قصر النظر إلى الالتزام من جانب الآباء وأطفالهم، وذلك للحصول على أفضل النتائج العلاجية الممكنة. يمكنكم حجز موعداً لدينا مع أحد أطبائنا المختصين في علاج قصر النظر عند الأطفال.

​الفريق الطبي للبرنامج 

تضم عيادة علاج قصر النظر لدى الأطفال فريقاً متعدد التخصصات من خبراء الرعاية الصحية والذي يتضمن ما يلي:

  • أطباء عيون الأطفال.
  • أخصائيو تقويم الإبصار.
  • كوادر تمريضية متخصصة.
  • الفنيين.

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين بعلاج قصر النظر عند الأطفال

 حقوق النشر محفوظة لدى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي ذ.م.م. 2021​
​​​
Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!