Overview of the Glaucoma Service

Glaucoma is an eye disease caused by a group of conditions that result in progressive loss of peripheral vision. If left untreated, glaucoma can eventually lead to loss of central vision and total blindness. Many patients with glaucoma lose vision without being aware of the problem, until the condition becomes very advanced. The disease is treated by lowering pressure within the eye. 

Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Eye Institute has the latest technology for the diagnosis and treatment of all forms of glaucoma. In addition, Glaucoma specialist physicians are specifically trained and experienced in managing the most complex cases of glaucoma.

What We Treat

Glaucoma treatment is aimed at reducing the amount of pressure in the eye in order to prevent vision loss from occurring. Increases in eye pressure can occur for many reasons. The most common types of glaucoma develop as a result of hereditary conditions that affect the way fluid flows out of the eye. When the naturally occurring eye fluid cannot drain properly due to blockage, pressure builds up and leads to damage to the optic nerve, which connects the eye to the brain. An increase in eye pressure can also occur as a complication of other diseases, such as diabetes.

Diagnosis & Treatment of Glaucoma

Diagnosis of Glaucoma

At Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, the diagnosis of glaucoma is guided by specialized examination techniques performed by our glaucoma specialists using advanced imaging technologies. It is important to establish a good baseline of test results so that careful monitoring can detect if the disease is progressing. 

Treatment of Glaucoma

The treatment for each patient with glaucoma is individualized, taking into account the underlying cause and severity of the disease and the patient’s wishes. Treatment often includes the use of eye drops to lower the pressure, but many patients may also require laser treatment or surgery. As with any eye procedure, patients need to arrange for assistance with transportation home after glaucoma treatment.

Glaucoma Caregivers

The Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi Eye Institute’s glaucoma specialists are fellowship-trained and have many years of experience treating patients from around the world, with disease ranging from common to rare types of glaucoma.

Caregivers involved in patient care for this service are:

  • Ophthalmologists specialized in glaucoma treatment
  • Optometrists with extensive glaucoma experience
  • Specialized nurses
  • Technicians​

VIEW ALL DOCTORS WHO CAN HELP WITH Glaucoma

 Copyright © Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi LLC 2018​

​لمحة عن الزرق​

الزرق هو مرض يصيب العين وينتج عن مجموعة من الأمراض التي تؤدي إلى فقدان تدريجي في الرؤية الجانبية. ويمكن لمرض الزرق أن يؤدي إلى فقدان الرؤية المركزية والإصابة بالعمى الكلي في حال تُرك المرض دون علاج. ويفقد العديد من المرضى المصابين بمرض الزرق الرؤية حتى قبل أن يُدركوا أنهم مصابون بهذا المرض ويكون الأوان حينها قد فات لعلاجه. 

يتم علاج مرض الزرق عن طريق تقليل الضغط داخل العين.

يمتلك معهد العيون في كليفلاند كلينك أبو ظبي أحدث التقنيات لتشخيص وعلاج الزرق بجميع أشكاله. كما يتمتع الأطباء الأخصائيون بعلاج الزرق بالخبرة الواسعة والمهارة المتقدمة في التعامل مع أكثر حالات الزرق تعقيداً.

ما هي الحالات الطبية المشمولة بهذه الخدمات​؟

يهدف علاج مرض الزرق بشكل رئيسي إلى تقليل الضغط داخل العين لكي لا يفقد المريض الرؤية. وهناك عدة أسباب تؤدي إلى ارتفاع الضغط داخل العين، وتتطور الأنواع الأكثر شيوعاً من الزرق نتيجة لبعض الظروف الوراثية التي تؤثر على تدفق السوائل إلى خارج العين. عندما لا يتم تصريف السائل الذي تنتجه العين بشكل طبيعي كما يجب بسبب انسدادٍ ما، يبدأ مستوى ضغط السائل بالارتفاع داخل العين، ما يُلحق الضرر بالعصب البصري الذي يربط العين بالدماغ. كما يمكن أن يكون الارتفاع في ضغط السائل داخل العين واحداً من مضاعفات أمراض أخرى مثل السكري.​

التشخيص والعلاج

تشخيص الزرق

يقوم الأطباء الأخصائيون في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي بتشخيص الزرق وعلاجه باستخدام أساليب فحص متطورة تعتمد على أحدث تقنيات التصوير. من المهم وضع أساس جيد لنتائج الفحص بحيث تنجح المراقبة الدقيقة في اكتشاف تطور المرض.

علاج الزرق

يتم استخدام العلاج المناسب لحالة المريض المصاب بالزرق، مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار الأسباب الكامنة وراء المرض وشدته ورغبات المريض. يتضمن العلاج غالباً استخدام قطرات العين لتقليل الضغط، فيما تتطلب الكثير من الحالات اللجوء إلى الجراحة أو العلاج بالليزر. كما هو الحال بالنسبة لأي إجراء طبي في العين، يحتاج المرضى إلى اتخاذ الترتيبات اللازمة لنقلهم إلى المنزل بعد الخضوع لعلاج الزرق.​

الفريق الطبي​

يضم معهد العيون في كيلفلاند كلينك أبوظبي أطباء حاصلين على شهادات الزمالة بعلاج الزرق ولديهم خبرات طويلة في علاج حالات الزرق بمختلف أنواعها النادرة والشائعة في جميع أنحاء العالم.​

يضم الفريق:​

  • أخصائيين في طب العيون متخصصين بعلاج الزرق​
  • أخصائيين فحص وتصحيح النظر 
  • ممرضين مختصين
  • فنيّين

اطلع على ملفات جميع الأطباء المعنيين ​​بالزرق

حقوق النشر محفوظة لدى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي ذ.م.م. 2018