​A young weightlifter aims to show others that despite being diagnosed with heart disease, life can go on.

Khaleel Al Herani, a 35-year-old Jordanian, was first diagnosed with advanced heart failure in 2018, and due to the seriousness of his condition, needed to receive a heart transplant. Whilst waiting for a transplant, Khaleel was fitted with an artificial heart pump that allowed him to continue to train as normal. Now, following a successful transplant at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, he wants to not only demonstrate to others that life can go on, but aims to raise awareness of the importance of organ donation and encourage young men to take better care of their health.

It was in July 2018 that Khaleel first experienced pain in his chest. Tests revealed his heart was enlarged and he was advised to take a break from his training regime until further tests could be carried out. 

Khaleel says, “My doctor explained the issue and told me not to worry. What I didn’t realize at the time was that he was telling me I was in the early stages of heart failure. Four days after seeing the doctor, I felt like I was going crazy without the gym, so I went back to lifting. I ignored the whole thing and honestly, at that time, I felt fine.”

Khaleel didn’t experience any further symptoms until the following year. His heart function suddenly began to decrease, and fluid built up on his lungs causing a pulmonary edema. Breathing became difficult and even walking up stairs made him uncomfortable. 

Khaleel says, “I avoided going to the doctor and didn’t connect my breathing issues with my heart condition. Then, one night I really struggled to breathe. My doctor referred me to a specialist, and it was only then that I remembered my previous heart episode and I became very scared.”

Due to the seriousness of Khaleel’s condition, and his rapid deterioration, it soon became apparent that he was in urgent need of a heart transplant. He was referred to Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, the UAE’s first and only multi-organ transplant center. Upon arrival, doctors determined that, due to the lack of donor hearts available, installing a left ventricular assistance devise (a pump), would greatly improve Khaleel’s condition while he waited for a transplant. 

Dr. Feras Bader, Director of the Heart Failure and Transplant Program at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi explains, “Khaleel came to us in desperate need of a transplant. Thanks to advances in technology, an artificial heart pump was able to give him a fantastic quality of life while we waited for a donor heart to become available.” 

Following the operation to fit the pump, Khaleel’s condition greatly improved. He was able to return to work and regular exercise once again. He continued to visit Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi regularly to manage his condition, and on visits that required him to stay overnight, he would even bring equipment so that he could work-out in his hospital room.  

“Khaleel really shatters the traditional image of a heart disease patient. When you look at him, you would never think he was a man with a heart problem. He is young, energetic, and looks like an athlete. Once the pump was fitted, we saw a total transformation in him” continues Dr. Bader.

Then, during a routine hospital stay, Khaleel got news that would change his life again. A donor heart had become available that was a match for him. His care team leapt into action and immediately prepared him for surgery.

Dr. Gurjyot Bajwa, Surgical Director of Mechanical Circulatory Support and Heart Transplantation at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, who led the surgery says, “The stars really aligned for Khaleel. He was about to be discharged when we got word that there was a heart available for him. In these situations, time is of the essence, so having him already in the hospital was fantastic. The surgery went very well, and I’m pleased to say he is making a fantastic recovery. Knowing Khaleel, I’m sure he will continue to go from strength to strength.”

Reflecting on his recent health challenges, Khaleel is committed to starting a new chapter in his life and to set an example to other young men experiencing heart disease. 

Khaleel says, “I always thought I was invincible; I’m young and I’ve always kept in shape. It was very hard for me to accept my heart diagnosis. I’ve realized that opening up about health challenges is an important part of overcoming them. I hope that I can inspire people, especially men, to speak up around their health issues and to really consider organ donation. I think that can only be a positive step for my generation.”

“I really want to thank the team at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, as meeting them really changed my mindset. When I think about life now, I’m just so grateful for everything that it has to offer. Sometimes challenges are put there for us to learn from and achieve something greater. That’s my plan now,” concludes Khaleel. 

Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!

​يهدف رافع الأثقال الشاب إلى أن يظهر للآخرين أنه على الرغم من تشخيص إصابته بمرض في القلب، يمكن للحياة أن تستمر

تم تشخيص حالة خليل الحيراني، أردني الجنسية ويبلغ من العمر 35 عاماً، بقصور متقدم بالقلب في عام 2018، وبسبب خطورة حالته، احتاج إلى عملية زراعة قلب. وأثناء انتظار العملية، تم تركيب مضخة قلب اصطناعية لخليل أتاحت له الاستمرار في تدريباته الرياضية كالمعتاد. والآن، وبعد إجراء عملية زراعة قلب ناجحة في مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، يرغب خليل في أن يثبت للآخرين أن الحياة يمكن أن تستمر، كما يهدف إلى نشر الوعي حول أهمية التبرع بالأعضاء وتشجيع الشباب على الاهتمام بصحتهم بشكل أفضل.

وفي يوليو 2018، شعر خليل للمرة الأولى بألم في صدره. وأظهرت الفحوصات أن خليل يعاني تضخماً في عضلة القلب، ونصحه الأطباء بالتوقف عن ممارسة التمارين لحين إجراء المزيد من الفحوصات. 

ويقول خليل: "شرح لي طبيبي الأمر ونصحني بعدم القلق. ما لم أدركه في ذلك الوقت هو أنه كان يخبرني أنني في المراحل الأولى من قصور القلب. وبعد أربعة أيام من رؤية الطبيب، شعرت أنني سأصاب بالجنون بسبب عدم الذهاب إلى صالة الألعاب الرياضية، لذا عدت إلى رفع الأثقال. لقد تجاهلت كل شيء وبصراحة، كنت أشعر أنني بخير في ذلك الوقت".  

لم تظهر على خليل أية أعراض أخرى حتى العام التالي. ومع انخفاض في وظائف القلب، بدأ السائل يتراكم في رئتيه، وهي حالة مرضية تسمى الوذمة الرئوية. وتراكم السائل جعل تنفسه أكثر صعوبة، حتى أنه كان يشعر بالتعب من صعود السلالم.

ويضيف خليل: "كنت أتحاشى الذهاب إلى الطبيب، ولم أنتبه مطلقاً لوجود صلة بين صعوبة تنفسي، ومشكلة قلبي، إلى أن جاءت ليلة لم أذق فيها طعم النوم لأن تنفسي كان صعباً للغاية. لكن حينما أحالني الطبيب إلى طبيب القلب، تذكرتُ وقتها ما مر بي في العام السابق. وعند ذلك شعرت بالخوف حقاً."

وبسبب خطورة حالته الصحية والتدهور السريع الذي تعرض له، أصبح من الواضح أن خليل بحاجة ماسة إلى عملية زراعة قلب. وتمت إحالته إلى مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، وهو المركز الأول والوحيد لزراعة الأعضاء في دولة الإمارات. وعند وصوله، قرر الأطباء أن تركيب جهاز مساعدة البطين الأيسر سيحسن حالة خليل بشكل كبير، وسيمكنه من أن يعيش حياة طبيعية، في فترة انتظاره لعملية زراعة القلب.

ويقول الدكتور فراس بدر، مدير برنامج قصور القلب وزرع القلب في مستشفى "كليفلاند كلينك أبو ظبي": "جاء خليل إلى مستشفى "كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي" في وقت كانت حالته تسوء بشكل كبير، وكان واضحاً أنه بحاجة ماسة إلى عملية زراعة قلب؛ ثم بفضل التقدم التكنولوجي، أتاحت مضخة القلب الاصطناعية حياة رائعة له أثناء انتظار توفر قلب جديد."

وبعد العملية، تحسنت حالة خليل بشكل كبير، إذ أصبح قادرًا على العودة إلى عمله وممارسة تمارينه الرياضية مرة أخرى. وواصل خليل زيارة مستشفى "كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي" بانتظام لمتابعة حالته، وفي الزيارات التي كانت تتطلب منه أن يبقى في المستشفى طوال الليل، كان يأتي ومعه أدواته الرياضية حتى يتمكن من ممارسة التمارين في غرفته بالمستشفى.

ويتابع الدكتور بدر قائلاً: "لقد غير خليل الصورة التقليدية لمريض القلب، فعندما تنظر إليه، لم تكن تلحظ أبدًا أنه كان يعاني مشكلة في قلبه، إذ كانت تبدو عليه نُضْرَةُ الشاب وحيويتُه، كما لو كان رياضياً يمارس ألعاب القوى. لقد رأينا تحولًا كُليَّاً في حالته منذ أن رَكَّبَ مضخة القلب."

وخلال إقامته الروتينية في مستشفى "كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي"، تلقى خليل أخبارًا غيرت حياته مرة أخرى، فقد توفر قلبٌ مناسبٌ له، تبرع به أحد الأشخاص؛ وبما أن خليل كان في المستشفى بالفعل، فقد بدأ فريق الرعاية الطبية الذي كان يتابع حالته في العمل فوراً، وأجرى له الفحوصات النهائية وأعده للجراحة.

وتقول الدكتورة غورجيوت باجوا، المدير الجراحي للدعم الميكانيكي للجهاز الدوري وزراعة القلب في مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، وهي الطبيبة التي قادت الفريق الجراحي: "خليل شخص محظوظ، إذ إنه كان على وشك مغادرة المستشفى عندما علمنا بتوافر قلب له من أحد المتبرعين. وفي مثل هذه المواقف، يكون الوقت حاسماً، لذا فإن وجوده بالمستشفى قريباً من الأطباء كان أمرًا رائعًا. وقد سارت الجراحة على خير ما يرام، ويسرني أن أقول إن خليل يتعافى الآن، وبحالة طيبة. أنا أعرف خليل جيداً، ومتأكدة من أن صحته ستتحسن بشكل مستمر".

وعندما يتأمل خليل ما مر به من تحديات صحية في الفترة الماضية، يجدد عزمه على أن يبدأ فصلاً جديداً من حياته ويكون قدوةً للشباب الذين يعانون من أمراض القلب.  

ويختتم خليل حديثه قائلاً: "أود أن أشكر الفريق الطبي في مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، فقد ساهم لقائي معهم في تغيير الطريقة التي كنت أفكر بها. وحينما أفكر في حياتي التي أعيشها الآن، أشعر بالامتنان والعرفان لكل ما تُقَدِّمُه لي هذه الحياة. فأحيانا ما تعترض طريقَنا عقباتٌ، فنتعلم منها ونحقق أموراً أعظم وأكبر. وهذه هي خطتي التي أنتهجها الآن."

Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!