How does Xenical work?

Xenical works if your diet contains fat, as it works by eliminating undigested fat from your body.

Therefore, if you skip a main meal or if you eat foods that do not contain fat, Xenical does not need to be taken.

Examples of meals with no fat include those that contain only fruits or vegetables, soft drinks or sugary sweets.

How to take Xenical?

Always take Xenical exactly as your doctor/pharmacist has told you. You should check with your doctor or pharmacist if you are not sure.

Xenical should be taken with each of the three main meals per day i.e. breakfast, lunch and dinner. It can be taken immediately before, during a meal or up to one hour after a meal. The capsule should be swallowed with water.

While taking Xenical you should aim to be eating a balanced healthy diet that is rich in fruit and vegetables. Following the healthy plate model ensures your diet is balanced and contains all the food groups you need; including the recommended intake of ~30% of the calories from fat.

Your daily intake of fat, carbohydrate and protein should be distributed over the three meals. To gain optimal benefits avoid the intake of food containing fat between meals, such as biscuits, chocolate and salty snacks.

One of the side effects of Xenical is diarrhea which can occur if you have oily foods or a “heavy meal” e.g. biryani or saloona (made with lots of oil) as this is how Xenical eliminates the undigested fat from your body.

It is a common misconception that Xenical only works if you have diarrhea as it flushes the fat out. If you are having diarrhea when taking Xenical this means you are not on track with making necessary dietary changes and you need to reduce your fat intake.

Xenical may reduce your body's ability to absorb Vitamins D, A, E and K from your food so you need to make sure you get enough of these from your diet and ensure you have a diet rich in fruit and vegetables, otherwise please see your doctor/dietitian who may advise you to take a multivitamin supplement. (If a multivitamin supplement is recommended, it should be taken at least two hours after taking the Xenical).

​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

كيف يعمل دواء زينيكال؟

يكون دواء زينيكال فعّالاً في حال كان نظامك الغذائي يحتوي على الدهون، إذ يقوم هذا الدواء بالتخلص من الدهون غير المهضومة في جسمك.

لهذا السبب، إذا فاتتك وجبة رئيسية أو تناولت طعاماً خالياً من الدهون فلا داعي لتناول دواء زينيكال.

وتعتبر الوجبات التي تحتوي على فواكه أو خضراوات أو مياه غازية أو حلويات سكّرية من الأمثلة على الطعام الخالي من الدهون.

كيفية تناول دواء زينيكال؟

احرص دوماً على تناول دواء زينيكال تماماً كما وصفه لك طبيبك أو الصيدلي، ويجب عليك مراجعة طبيبك أو الصيدلي في حال لم تكن متأكداً من طريقة استخدام الدواء.

هذا ويجب تناول دواء زينيكال يومياً مع كل وجبة من الوجبات الرئيسية الثلاث، أي الفطور والغداء والعشاء، ويتم ذلك من خلال تناول كبسولة من هذا الدواء مع كأس من الماء مباشرة قبل الوجبة أو أثناء تناولها أو بعد ساعة تقريباً من تناولها.

إضافة إلى هذا، نُوصيك بتناول دواء زينيكال مع وجبات طعام متوازنة وصحية غنية بالفواكه والخضراوات، ويمكنك الاستعانة بنموذج النظام الغذائي الصحي أدناه لتضمن أن طعامك متوازن ويحتوي على كافة فئات الطعام التي تحتاجها. كما نوصي بأن يكون ما نسبته 30% من السعرات الحرارية آتياً من الدهون.


كما نوصيك بتوزيع نسب الدهون والكربوهيدرات والبروتين على ثلاث وجبات في اليوم. ولكي تجني أكبر فائدة من نظامك الغذائي، تجنّب تناول ​الوجبات الخفيفة الدهنية، كالبسكويت و​الشوكولاته والوجبات الخفيفة المالحة، بين الوجبات الرئيسية.​  

من جهة أخرى، يُعتبر الإسهال واحداً من الآثار الجانبية لدواء زينيكال والذي قد يحدث عند تناول الأطعمة المليئة بالزيت أو "الوجبات الثقيلة"، كالبرياني أو السالونا (والتي تُستخدم فيها كميات كبيرة من الزيت) لأن هكذا وجبات هي التي تُساعد دواء زينيكال على التخلص من الدهون غير المهضومة في جسمك.

لكن هناك اعتقاد خاطئ بأن حدوث الإسهال دليل على أن دواء زينيكال قد أخذ مفعوله وأنه يقوم بالتخلص من الدهون في الجسم عن طريق الإسهال. لكن الحقيقة أن حدوث الإسهال أثناء تناول دواء زينيكال هو إشارة على أنك لم تلتزم بإجراء التغييرات الضرورية في نظامك الغذائي ويتوجب عليك التقليل من استهلاكك للدهون في الطعام.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن دواء زينيكال قد يعمل على إضعاف قدرة جسمك على امتصاص فيتامين دي، وإيه، وإي، وكيه في طعامك، لذا يجب أن تحرص على تناول كميات كافية من هذه الفيتامينات في طعامك والتأكد من أن نظامك الغذائي غني بالفواكه والخضراوات. من جهة أخرى، قد يطلب منك طبيبك أو أخصائي التغذية تناول مكمّل مُتعدد الفيتامينات في حال واجهت صعوبات في الحصول على الفيتامينات الضرورية. في هذه الحالة، إحرص على تناول المكمّل مُتعدد الفيتامينات بعد ساعتين على الأقل من تناول دواء زينيكال.