Obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) is a common and serious sleep disorder that causes you to stop breathing during sleep. The block in airflow is usually caused by the collapse of the soft tissues in the back of the throat and tongue during sleep. When this happens, you may snore loudly or make choking noises as you try to breathe. Your brain and body become oxygen-deprived and you may wake up. Breathing pauses can last from a few seconds to minutes. People with untreated sleep apnea stop breathing repeatedly during their sleep, sometimes hundreds of times during the night. Sleep apnea can make you wake up in the morning feeling tired or un-refreshed even though you have had a full night of sleep.

How common is OSA?

OSA is more common in males. In Western countries, OSA is seen in around 4 percent of middle-aged men and in around 2 percent of middle-aged women.

What are the risk factors of OSA?

Anyone can have OSA regardless of gender, age or body type. If you have any of the following traits, you may be at increased risk:

  • Obesity (strongest risk factor)
  • Male gender
  • Older age (40+ for men and 50+ for women)
  • Large neck size (> 43 cm (17 inches) for men and > 41 cm (16 inches for women)) – A large neck will have more fatty tissue that can block your airway
  • Smoking
  • Sedative drugs
  • Excessive alcohol consumption
  • Family history
  • Possibly genetic tendency related to jaw morphology
  • Obese children (they have a higher prevalence and severity of OSA)

What are the signs and symptoms?

  • Excessive daytime sleepiness
  • Impaired concentration
  • Snoring
  • Unrefreshing sleep
  • Choking episodes during sleep
  • Witnessed apneas
  • Restless sleep
  • Irritability or personality changes
  • Nocturia (excessive urination during the night)
  • Decreased libido

How is OSA diagnosed?

Your physician may make an evaluation based on your signs and symptoms and may refer you to our Sleep Disorder Center to conduct a sleep study. During this test, wires and sensors will be connected to your head, face, chest, abdomen legs, etc. to monitor your breathing, heart, brain activity, arm and leg movements and blood oxygen levels while you sleep.

Why should you worry if you have OSA symptoms?

  • Excessive daytime sleepiness
  • Fluctuating oxygen levels
  • Increased heart rate
  • Chronic elevation in daytime blood pressure
  • Increased risk of stroke
  • Higher risk of death due to heart disease
  • Impaired glucose tolerance and insulin resistance
  • Impaired concentration
  • Mood changes
  • Increased risk of being involved in a deadly motor vehicle accident
  • Disturbed sleep of your bed partner

What are the treatments for OSA?

Conservative treatments: For milder cases of OSA, your physician may recommend only lifestyle changes, such as losing weight, quitting smoking and avoiding the use of alcohol and sleeping pills. For some people, using tennis balls or pillows to position themselves on their side is advised, especially if their OSA occurs when they sleep on their back. If you have nasal allergies, your physician will recommend treatment for your allergies.

Mechanical therapy: Positive Airway Pressure (PAP) therapy is the preferred initial treatment for most people with OSA. With PAP therapy, patients wear a mask over their nose, or sometimes over both their nose and mouth. An air blower gently forces air through the mask. The air pressure is adjusted so that it is just enough to prevent the upper airway tissues from collapsing during sleep. There are different types of devices based on the patients' problems, such as Continuous-PAP, Automatic-PAP and Bi-Level-PAP.

Mandibular advancement devices: These are devices for patients with mild to moderate OSA. Dental appliances or oral mandibular advancement devices help to prevent the tongue from blocking the throat and/or advance the lower jaw forward and keep the airway open during sleep.

Surgery: Surgical procedures may help people with OSA and others who snore but do not have sleep apnea. There are many types of surgical procedures for OSA, such as tonsillectomy and adenoidectomy, Uvulopalatopharyngoplasty and Somnoplasty. Some of these are performed as outpatient procedures.

Surgery is reserved for people who have excessive or malformed tissue obstructing airflow through the nose or throat, such as a deviated nasal septum, markedly enlarged tonsils or small lower jaw with an overbite that causes the throat to be abnormally narrow. These procedures are typically performed after sleep apnea has failed to respond to conservative measures and a trial of CPAP.


Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم هو اضطرابٌ شائعٌ وخطير من اضطرابات النوم يؤدّي إلى توقّفك عن التنفّس أثناء النوم. يكون انسداد المجاري الهوائية ناتجًا عادةً عن ارتخاء الأنسجة اللينة في الجزء الخلفي من الحلق واللسان خلال النوم. وعندما يحصل ذلك، قد تبدأ بالشخير بصوتٍ عالٍ أو قد تصدر عنك أصوات أشبه بالاختناق فيما تحاول التنفّس. يحدثُ عندئذٍ نقصٌ في الأكسجين في دماغك وجسمك وقد تستيقظ من النوم. يمكن أن تدوم فترات انقطاع النَفَس لبضع ثوانٍ أو لعدّة دقائق. إذا لم يُعالَج هذا الاضطراب، قد يتوقّف الأشخاص المصابون به عن التنفّس عدّة مرّاتٍ أثناء نومهم، وصولًا في بعض الأحيان إلى مئات المرّات. وبسبب انقطاع التنفّس أثناء الليل، قد تشعر عند استيقاظك في الصباح بالتعب أو بعدم النشاط على الرغم من أنّك قضيت ليلة نوم كاملة.

إلى أيّ مدى يُعتبَر انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم شائعًا؟

انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم هو اضطرابٌ أكثر شيوعًا لدى الذكور. في البلدان الغربية، يطال هذا الاضطراب حوالى 4% من الرجال في منتصف العمر، وحوالى 2% من النساء في منتصف العمر.

ما هي عوامل الخطر المرتبطة بانقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم؟

يمكن أن يصاب أيُّ شخصٍ بانقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم بغضّ النظر عن الجنس، العمر، أو بنية الجسم. إذا كانت تنطبق عليك أيّ من الحالات التالية، قد تكون معرّضًا أكثر من غيرك لانقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي:

  • البدانة (عامل الخطر الأبرز)
  • الجنس (أكثر شيوعًا لدى الذكور)
  • التقدّم في السن (بعد عمر الأربعين للرجال وبعد عمر الخمسين للنساء)
  • الحجم الكبير للرقبة (أكثر من 43 سم (17 إنش) للرجال وأكثر من 41 سم (16 إنش)  للنساء) – الرقبة الكبيرة الحجم قد تحتوي على كمية أكبر من الأنسجة الدهنية التي قد تؤدّي إلى انسداد المجاري الهوائية لديك
  • التدخين
  • الأدوية المُنوِّمة
  • الإفراط في تناول الكحول
  • وجود حالات مماثلة لدى أفراد العائلة
  • احتمال وجود مَيْل وراثي مرتبط بشكل الفكّ
  • الأطفال المصابون بالبدانة (لديهم معدّلات أعلى وأشدّ من انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم)

ما هي العلامات والأعراض؟

  • النعاس المفرط في النهار
  • اختلال التركيز
  • الشخير
  • عدم الشعور بالنشاط بعد النوم
  • نوبات من الاختناق خلال النوم
  • حالات من انقطاع التنفّس يلاحظها الآخرون
  • النوم المضطرب
  • التوتّر أو التغيّرات في الشخصية
  • البوال الليلي (التبوّل المفرط أثناء الليل)
  • انخفاض الرغبة الجنسية

كيف يتمّ تشخيص  انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم؟

قد يُجري طبيبك الأخصائي تقييمًا لوضعك بالاستناد إلى المؤشرات والأعراض التي تعاني منها، وقد يُحيلك إلى مركز اضطرابات النوم لدينا لإجراء اختبارٍ للنوم. خلال هذا الفحص، يتمّ وصل أسلاك وأجهزة استشعار برأسِك ووجهك وصدرك وبطنِك ورجلَيك وغيرها من الأعضاء من أجل مراقبة تنفّسك وقلبك ونشاط دماغك وحركة ذراعَيك ورجلَيك ومستويات الأكسجين في الدم حين تكون نائمًا.

مخاطر أعراض انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم

  • النعاس المفرط في النهار
  • تقلّب مستويات الأكسجين
  • تسارع دقّات القلب
  • ارتفاع ضغط الدم المزمن أثناء النهار
  • زيادة خطر الإصابة بالسكتة الدماغية
  • ارتفاع خطر الوفاة بسبب أمراض القلب
  • خلل في تحمّل الجلوكوز ومقاومة الأنسولين
  • اختلال التركيز
  • تقلّبات المزاج
  • زيادة خطر حصول حوادث سير مميتة
  • التسبّب باختلال النوم لدى شريكك في السرير

ما هي علاجات انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم؟

العلاجات الوقائية: في الحالات الطفيفة، قد يوصيك طبيبك الأخصائي بالاكتفاء بإجراء بعض التغييرات في أسلوب حياتك، كخسارة الوزن والإقلاع عن التدخين وتفادي تناول الكحول والأقراص المُنوِّمة. بالنسبة إلى البعض، قد يُنصَح باستخدام طابات التنس أو الوسادات الخاصة للنوم في وضعية جانبية، وخصوصًا إذا كانوا يُصابون بانقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي عندما ينامون على ظهورهم. وإذا كنتَ مصابًا بحساسيات أنفية، سوف يوصي طبيبك الأخصائي بمعالجة هذه الحساسيات.

العلاج الميكانيكي: العلاج ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي (PAPهو العلاج الأوّلي الأفضل لمعظم الأشخاص المصابين بانقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم. يقوم هذا العلاج على تزويد المرضى بقناع يوضَع على أنفهم أو على أنفهم وفَمِهم أحيانًا. وبواسطة منفاخٍ خاص، يضخ الجهاز الهواء بلطف عبر القناع. تُضبَط نسبة ضغط الهواء لتكون كافية لمنع الأنسجة الهوائية العلوية من الارتخاء أثناء النوم. تتعدّد أنواع الأجهزة بحسب اختلاف مشاكل المرضى، ومنها مثلًا: ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي المتواصل، وضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي التلقائي، وضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي الثنائي المستوى.

أجهزة تقديم الفكّ السفلي: إنّها أجهزة خاصة للمرضى الذين يعانون من حالات طفيفة أو معتدلة من انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم. تساعد الأجهزة الخاصة بالأسنان أو أجهزة تقديم الفكّ السفلي على منع اللسان من سدّ الحلق و/أو تقديم الفكّ السفلي إلى الأمام وإبقاء المجرى الهوائي مفتوحًا أثناء النوم.

الجراحة: العمليات الجراحية قد تساعد الأشخاص المصابين بانقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم وغيرهم من الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الشخير وغير المصابين بانقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي. هناك أنواع كثيرة من الجراحات لهذه الحالة، مثل استئصال اللوزتَين واستئصال اللحمية وشدّ سقف الحلق وإزالة اللوز واللهاة والجراحة الخاصة باضطرابات النوم. يمكن القيام ببعض هذه العمليات كإجراءات بسيطة في العيادات الخارجية.

يتمّ اللجوء إلى الجراحة لدى الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أنسجة مفرطة أو مشوّهة تسدّ المجاري الهوائية عبر الأنف أو الحلق، كانحراف الحاجز الأنفي أو تضخّم اللوزتين أو صغر الفكّ السفلي مع تراكبٍ للعضّة يسبّب ضيقًا غيرَ طبيعي في الحلق. تُجرى عادةً هذه العمليات بعد فشل تجاوُب حالة انقطاع التنفّس مع التدابير الوقائية ومحاولة استخدام ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي المتواص (CPAP ).


​​​