What are varicose veins?

Varicose veins are abnormal, elongated, bulging, superficial, dilated blood vessels caused by a weakening in the vessel or valve wall. These veins and valves have permanently lost their ability to maintain the normal upward flow and allow reversal of blood flow. They may appear as clusters of blue or purple veins and are sometimes surrounded by thin red capillaries known as spider veins (group of small blood vessels located close to the surface of the skin).

Varicose and spider veins can appear anywhere, but most often appear on the legs and in the pelvic area. Most varicose veins develop near the surface of the skin. Deeper varicose veins can’t be seen but may cause the skin above them to swell, become darker or hard.

What causes varicose veins?

There are a number of factors that predispose a person to varicose and spider veins.

These include:

  • Heredity.
  • Occupations that involve a lot of standing, such as, nurses, beauticians, teachers and factory workers.
  • Obesity.
  • Hormonal influences during pregnancy.
  • The use of birth control pills.
  • Post-menopausal hormonal replacement.
  • Toe and foot sores that do not heal.

Who is affected by varicose and spider veins?

Varicose and spider veins are seen more often in women than in men. They increase in frequency with age and have been reported to affect between 30 percent to 60 percent of the adult population.

What are the symptoms of varicose veins?

Symptoms usually appear before the age of 40 and may include:

  • Swollen, twisted clusters of purple or blue veins.
  • Swollen legs.
  • Muscle cramps, soreness or aching in the legs.
  • Itching around the vein.
  • Leg muscles that tire easily.
  • Brown discoloration of the skin.
  • Leg ulcers.

How are varicose veins diagnosed?

During a physical exam, the doctor will check your legs while you are standing. Your doctor may also request that you have a Doppler scan, an ultrasound exam to check the blood flow in the veins near the skin’s surface (called superficial) and deep veins.

Should I be concerned?

Varicose and spider veins do not always require medical treatment. If varicose veins make walking or standing painful, you should call your doctor for advice. You should also call your doctor if a sore develops on or near a varicose vein or if your feet or ankles swell.

What are the treatment options for varicose and spider veins?

There are three major forms of therapy for varicose and spider vein problems.

Conservative Approaches

The most conservative approach is simply to wear properly-fitting support hose, especially when the veins cause painful or uncomfortable symptoms. These stockings can generally be purchased at any surgical supply store and some pharmacies. They come in below-the-knee, above-the-knee and pantyhose styles. They also come in different compressions, varying from 18 to 20 mmHg and up to 40 to 50 mmHg.

Sclerotherapy

Sclerotherapy, which has been available since the 1930s, is another treatment option. This procedure uses highly concentrated salt water or medication to obliterate the veins. The solution is injected directly into the vein, causing the vein to disappear gradually over 1 to 4 weeks. The procedure is simple and can be performed in an outpatient setting. Complications are minimal but do include blisters and rarely the formation of an ulcer. Patients are encouraged to maintain their active lifestyle immediately following the injections. They are able to drive themselves home after the procedure, as no sedation is needed for this relatively painless procedure. Unfortunately, sclerotherapy is not an effective means of treating large varicose veins.

Surgery

There are a number of surgical options for varicose veins. If the veins are severe and if they are accompanied by leaky valves in the groin, the large superficial vein (the greater saphenous vein) can be either tied off at the level of the groin, ligated, or removed entirely. When it is removed entirely, this procedure is called stripping.

Alternatively, if the veins are only of moderate size, a procedure known as a “stab avulsion” can be performed. In this procedure, tiny incisions are made to remove the veins. You may have as many as 10-30 tiny incisions on each leg. Sutures are not usually used and the incisions heal with a very tiny scar or almost no scar at all.

  • In each case you will arrive in the morning, have the procedure (generally lasting less than one hour) and then return home on the same day after a short stay in the recovery room.
  • Sutures (stitches) if used, will be under the skin, dissolvable, and therefore will not need to be removed. The incisions will be covered with steri-strips (small paper strips) applied over a sticky solution known as Benzoin. Plastic adhered dressing will be placed over these. You should leave these plastic dressings in place for one week, but then you can remove them yourself by gently pulling the plastic from one corner. The steri-strips may also be removed at this time.

Your leg will be wrapped in an elastic bandage. This bandage should be applied relatively firmly, especially when you are returning home following the surgery. However, once you are home the leg should be elevated above the level of your heart. Once the leg has been elevated above your heart, the Ace wrap may be removed. It is important, however, to reapply the Ace wrap before the leg is returned to a level below the heart. The Ace wrap should be worn for the first 36-48 hours following the procedure, but, again, it may be removed if the leg is elevated above the heart.

  • After 36-48 hours: The Ace wrap will no longer be necessary. You may wear it, however, if it relieves some of the discomfort.
  • Once the wrap has been removed, you may shower.
  • At discharge, you will be given a prescription for an oral pain medication. Most patients, however, find that Panadol (Tylenol) alone is all that is necessary. If you do have more severe pain, the prescription pain medication may be substituted for Panadol (Tylenol).
  • You will be given an appointment to see your doctor between 1-3 weeks following the procedure. If you have problems or concerns before this time (fever greater than 38.05 degrees Celsius or 100.5 degrees Fahrenheit, or redness around the wound), please do not hesitate to contact your doctor's office.
  • You should expect some moderate discomfort, swelling and bruising in the leg. You may also have some numbness around the inside of the leg and ankle.
  • Within the first two days of surgery you may experience some bleeding. This is especially frequent when sutures are not used. Should this happen, do not be alarmed; elevate your legs above your heart and re-wrap the bandage. You should stay in an elevated position for at least one hour after this occurs. In all cases, however, it is important to keep the leg elevated early after the operation.

Can I prevent varicose veins in the future?

Varicose veins cannot be prevented, however, there are some things you can do to slow down the tendency of varicose vein recurrence:
  • Wear knee-high elastic support stockings during the day.
  • Maintain a normal weight.
  • Avoid prolonged sitting or standing.
​​​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

​ما المقصود بدوالي الأوردة؟

يُقصد بدوالي الأوردة أوردة الدم غير الطبيعية من حيث طولها وانتفاخها وتوسعها وبروزها خلال سطح الجلد، وسببها ضعف في جدار وعاء الدم أو الصمام، إذ تُعاني أوعية الدم والصمامات من فقدان دائمي لقدرتها على إبقاء الدم متدفقًا بصورةٍ تصاعدية طبيعية، فتؤدي هذه الحالة إلى ارتجاع الدم (باتجاه عكسي) خلالها. ويُمكن أن تظهر الدوالي بهيئة مجاميع من الأوردة زرقاء أو أرجوانية اللون، وتكون محاطة في بعض الأحيان بشعيرات دم حمراء ورفيعة تُعرف بالأوردة العنكبوتية، وهي مجموعة من أوعية الدم التي تكون قريبة من سطح الجلد

ويُمكن أن تظهر دوالي الأوردة في أي مكان في جسم الإنسان إلا إنها تظهر على الأغلب في الساقين ومنطقة الحوض، وعادةً ما تكون بارزة لقربها من سطح الجلد. أما الدوالي التي تنشأ في أماكن الجسم الُأخرى والتي تكون بعيدة عن سطح الجلد فلا يُمكن رؤيتها، غير أنها تؤدي الى تورم الجلد فوقها فيصبح غليظ وداكن اللون.​​ .​​

ما هي أسباب دوالي الأوردة؟

هناك عدد من العوامل التي تُعرِّض الفرد للإصابة بأوردة الدوالي أو الأوردة العنكبوتية، وتشمل ما يلي:​​

  • الوراثة​.
  • المهن التي تتطلب من مزاوليها الوقوف لوقتٍ طويل مثل الممرض واخصائي التجميل والمعلم​ والعامل في المصانع​.
  • البدانة​.
  • التأثيرات الهرمونية خلال فترة الحمل​.
  • استعمال حبوب تحديد النسل (مانع الحمل).
  • بدائل الهرمونات التي تستخدمها المرأة بعد سن اليأس​.
  • القروح التي لا تلتئم في القدم وإصبع القدم​.

من هو الشخص المعرض للإصابة بدوالي الأوردة والأوردة العنكبوتية؟

تظهر دوالي الأوردة والأوردة العنكبوتية في أغلب الأحيان بين النساء أكثر من الرجال، وتزداد وتيرة الإصابة بها مع التقدم في السن، وتفيد التقارير بأن دوالي الأوردة والأوردة العنكبوتية تُصيب من 30 إلى 60 في المائة من الأشخاص البالغين.

ما هي أعراض دوالي الأوردة؟

عادةً ما تظهر الأعراض قبل بلوغ سن الأربعين وتشمل الآتي:​​

  • عناقيد من أوردة متورمة وملتوية أرجوانية أو زرقاء اللون​.
  • تورم الساقين​.
  • تقلص عضلي ووجع وآلام في الساقين​.
  • حكة حول الوريد​.
  • تعب عضلات الساق بشكلٍ سريع​.
  • تغيُّر لون الجلد الى بني​.
  • قروح في الساق​.​

كيف يتم تشخيص دوالي الأوردة؟

أثناء الفحص الجسدي يقوم الطبيب بمعاينة الساقين أثناء وقوف المريض، وقد يطلب الطبيب أيضًا أن يقوم المريض بفحص دوبلر، وهو فحص بالموجات فوق الصوتية (السونار)، لغرض التأكد من تدفق الدم في كلٍ من الأوردة السطحية التي تقع قرب سطح الجلد والأوردة الدفينة.​

هل على المريض أن يقلق بخصوص دولي الأوردة؟

لا تستلزم دوالي الأوردة والأوردة العنكبوتية أي معالجة طبية في أغلب الأحيان ، ولكن عندما تُسبب دوالي الأوردة الشعور بألم عند​ المشي أو الوقوف يتحتم على المريض الاتصال بالطبيب واستشارته بهذا الخصوص، كما يُنصَح بالاتصال بالطبيب عند ظهور قروح قرب أو​ على دوالي الأوردة أو عند تورم القدمين أو الكاحلين.​

ما هي الطرق المتوفرة لمعالجة دوالي الأوردة والأوردة العنكبوتية؟

هنالك ثلاثة طرق رئيسية لمعالجة مشاكل دوالي الأوردة والأوردة العنكبوتية، وهي:​

الطرق العلاجية التقليدية

تتضمن أكثر الطرق التقليدية شيوعًا وببساطة ارتداء الجوارب الداعمة التي تناسب المريض تمامًا، وخصوصًا في حال كانت الأوردة تُسبب ظهور أعراض مؤلمة وغير مريحة. ويُمكن شراء هذه الجوارب من متجر التجهيزات الجراحية ومن بعض الصيدليات، وتأتي بثلاث أحجام منه​ا تحت مستوى الركبة وفوق مستوى الركبة وجوارب طويلة تصل إلى أعلى الفخذ، كما أنها تأتي بمستويات ضغط مختلفة تتباين من​ 18-20 مليمتر زئبقي وتصل إلى حدٍ أعلى من​ 40-50 مليمتر زئبقي.​

العلاج التصلبي

هو أحد الطرق العلاجية المتداولة منذ ثلاثينات القرن الفائت، ويتم فيه استخدام ماء ذات تركيز ملحي شديد أو محلول دوائي من شأنه إزالة الأوردة بشكلٍ تام. ويُحقَن المحلول في الوريد مباشرةً مما يؤدي إلى اختفائه تدريجيًا خلال فترة تتراوح بين أسبوع واحد الى أربعة أسابيع. ويكون هذا الإجراء بسيط إذ يُمكن إجراؤه في العيادة الخارجية. ويجدر بالذكر أن مضاعفات الإجراء قليلة إلا أنها تشتمل على التقرحات ونادرًا ما يُصاحب الإجراء ظهور القرح. ويُوصى المريض بإبقاء نمط حياته اليومي نشطًا مباشرةً بعد تلقي الحقن، إذ يُمكن للمريض أن يقود سيارته عائدًا إلى منزله بعد الإجراء وذلك لعدم تلقي الأدوية المهدئة أثناء الاجراء نظرًا لأنه غير مصحوب بالألم، ولكن ما يدعو للأسف أنّ العلاج التصلبي لا يكون فعّالًا في معالجة دوالي الأوردة كبيرة الحجم.​

العملية الجراحية

هناك عدد من الخيارات الجراحية لمعالجة دوالي الأوردة الخطيرة والتي يصحبها تسريب من صمامات الدم في منطقة الأربية (أعلى الفخذ)، إذ يُمكن عقد الوريد السطحي الكبير المعروف بالوريد الصافن الأكبر بمستوى منطقة الأربية أو عقده أو إزالته بشكلٍ كامل فيما يُعرف بالتجريد. وكبديل عن الإجراء الجراحي أعلاه في حال الأوردة متوسطة الحجم يتم إجراء ما يُعرف بقلع الوريد بالطعن، ويتم فيه عمل ما بين 10 إلى 30 شقوق جراحية صغيرة في كل ساق لإزالة الأوردة. وعادةً لا تُستخدم الغرز الخارجية وتلتئم الشقوق تاركةً ندبًا صغيرة جدًا، أو لا تترك أي أثر إطلاقًا.​

  • في كل مرة يحضر المريض في الصباح، وتستغرق الجراحة أقل من نصف ساعة بشكلٍ عام، ويعود المريض الى منزله في اليوم نفسه​ بعد أن يبقى في غرفة النقاهة لوقتٍ قصير عقب الإجراء.​
  • في حال استخدام الغرز أو الخياطات الجراحية فإنها تكون تحت الجلد وقابلة للانحلال، ولذلك لا يحتاج الطبيب لإزالتها. ويتم تضميد​ الشقوق بأشرطة​ معقمة بشكل أشرطة ورقية صغيرة توضع فوق محلول لزق يُعرف بالبنزوين، ثمَّ توضع ضمادات لاصقة من المطاط​ فوقها. وعلى المريض ترك هذه الضمادات المطاطية على الشقوق لمدة أسبوع واحد، وبعد ذلك يُمكنه سحبها برفق من زاوية واحدة​ قبل إزالتها تمامًا، ويُمكنه في نفس الوقت رفع الأشرطة المعقمة.​

ويتم تغطية ساق المريض بضماد أو لفاف لدن وينبغي أن يكون اللفاف محكمًا نسبيًا خصوصًا عندما يعود المريض إلى المنزل بعد الإجراء. ومع ذلك يتحتم على المريض رفع الساق بمستوى أعلى من مستوى القلب حالما يصل إلى المنزل، وبمجرد ما تكون الساق بمستوى أعلى من مستوى القلب يُمكن إزالة اللفاف، علمًا أن على المريض إعادة وضع اللفاف على الساق قبل ارجاع الساق الى مستوى أدنى من مستوى القلب، وعليه وضع اللفاف على الساق لمدة تتراوح بين 36 إلى 48 ساعة بعد الإجراء، ولكن كما ذُكِر أعلاه يُمكن رفع اللفاف عن الساق إن​ كانت في موضع أعلى من مستوى القلب.​​

  • بعد مرور 36-48 ساعة: لا ضرورة لوضع اللفاف غير أنه يُمكن وضعه إن كان ذلك يُخفف من الألم أو التوعك​.
  • إمكانية الاستحمام حالما يتم رفع اللفاف​.
  • عند إكمال إجراءات الخروج من المشفى يتلقى المريض وصفة طبية تُتيح حصوله على حبوب تسكين الألم التي تؤخذ عن طريق الفم.​ ولكن يجد أغلب المرضى أنَّ مسكن الألم تايلينول وحده كافيًا لتخفيف الألم. وفي حال كان المريض يُعاني من ألمٍ حاد لا يتحمله يُمكن​ حينها استبدال تايلينول بحبوب تسكين الألم التي وصفها الطبيب.​
  • يُحدَد للمريض موعدًا مع الطبيب خلال مدة تتراوح بين​ 1-3 أسابيع بعد الإجراء، فإذا واجه المريض بعض المشاكل أو كان قلقًا قبل حلول​ الموعد فلا بُدَّ من الاتصال بالطبيب. ومن الحالات المثيرة للقلق الحمى بحيث تكون درجة الحرارة أعلى من​ 38.05 درجة مئوية أو​ 105 درجة فهرنهايت أو احمرار المنطقة المحيطة بشقوق العملية.​
  • من المتوقع أن يشعر المريض بالتوعك أو عدم الارتياح باعتدال وتورم وتكدم في الساق، ويُمكن أن يشعر أيضًا ببعض الخدر في الجانب​ الداخلي للساق أو الكاحل.​
  • في اليومين الأولين بعد الجراحة: يُمكن أن يُعاني المريض من نزف الدم في مكان الإصابة والذي يكون عاديًا خاصةً في حال عدم​ استخدام الغرز أو الخياطات الجراحية. ولا يعد نزف الدم مؤشرًا خطيرًا، وِإن حدث فما على المريض إلا أن يرفع الساقين فوق مستوى​ القلب ويضع اللفاف على مكان الإصابة مرةً أخرى. وعلى المريض أن يُبقي الساقين في وضع الرفع لمدة ساعة على الأقل بعد حدوث​ نزف الدم. وعلى كل حال من المفيد إبقاء الساق بوضع الرفع في المراحل المبكرة التي تلي إجراء العملية.​

هل يُمكن الوقاية من دوالي الأوردة في المستقبل؟​

لا يمكن الوقاية من دوالي الأوردة إلا أنه يمكن القيام ببعض الأمور التي بدورها تبطأ من احتمال تكرار الإصابة بها، وهي كالآتي:
  • ارتداء جوارب الدعم المرنة التي تصل الى مستوى الركبة أثناء النهار​.
  • المحافظة على وزن الجسم الصحي​.
  • تجنب الوقوف أو الجلوس لفترات طويلة​.
​​​​​​​​​