1. Begin using your PAP device for short periods of time during the day while you watch TV or read.
  2. Use your PAP device every night and for every nap, making it part of your bedtime routine. Using it less often reduces the health benefits and makes it difficult for your body to get used to it. If you are having problems remembering to use the yourPAP device every night, ask someone you trust to hold you accountable for using it or consider joining a support group.
  3. Increase your level of comfort by making gradual adjustments to your mask, tubing, straps and headgear until you get the right fit. If these small adjustments don’t work, you may need a different mask or headgear. You can also try using a special bed pillow that is shaped for a PAP mask and/or hose.
  4. If the pressure feels too high, use the “ramp” mode on your device so the air pressure increases slowly to the proper prescribed level. Ramp mode will start your device on a low-pressure setting and gradually increase the pressure over time. This way, you should be able to fall asleep when your device is on a lower setting. If this does not help, talk to your healthcare provider about different types of PAP machines.
  5. Nasal congestion can sometimes be a problem with PAP treatment. You may use a saline nasal spray to ease mild nasal congestion.
  6. More severe nasal or sinus congestion may be helped by using a nasal decongestant. If you continue to have problems, please contact your sleep physician for alternatives.
  7. Some PAP devices have heated humidifiers, which are chambers filled with water on a heater plate. This feature ensures that you are breathing warm, moist air through your mask. Use a humidifier that fits your PAP model if you have a dry mouth, throat or nose.
  8. If you are using a heated humidifier and the tubing fills with water, turn down the heat settings on the humidifier and keep the PAP device at a level lower than your head.
  9. If you find the sound of the PAP device to be annoying, place a mouse pad or foam under your PAP device to dampen the sound. Do not place your device on a carpet.
  10. Clean your mask, tubing and headgear once a week. Add this to your calendar so that you do not forget to do it.
  11. Regularly check and replace the filters for your PAP device and humidifier.
  12. Closely work with your Respiratory Therapist, Sleep Technologist or home equipment supplier to make sure that you have the PAP device, mask and the prescribed settings that work best for you.

Frequently asked questions

  1. What are the benefits of PAP therapy? PAP therapy will increase your energy levels, improve your mental alertness, mood, quality of sleep and quality of life. 
  2. If I lose weight will I cure my OSA? That depends. Some people have shown decreased symptoms from Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) after losing weight and removed from their PAP machine, whereas others have not. However, if you are overweight, losing weight will always improve your health and decrease your risks of developing other health issues
  3. How long will I need to use this machine? PAP therapy is just that—therapy. As long as you have OSA, you need to do something to improve your quality of sleep. After many years of experimenting with surgeries, oral appliances, special bed pillows, etc., PAP therapy is the gold standard for relieving and improving symptoms of OSA.
  4. What is "ramp" and what is its benefit? The ‘ramp’ mode allows a lower pressure to be delivered for a designated period of time (usually 5 - 45 minutes) to allow you to relax and fall asleep easier. The pressure will then gradually increase to a prescribed pressure that controls your OSA.
  5. Do I need to use Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) all night? Almost as soon as you stop CPAP, your OSA will come back. You should use your CPAP whenever you sleep, even during daytime naps. Some people find this hard, but you should try to use it all night, every night. Remember that if you do not use it, it does not work. Recent studies show that the more you use it, the more you will benefit.
  6. Are there any dangers associated with PAP devices? PAP is extremely safe. If you are having surgery, talk to your surgeon about when it is safe to use CPAP. This is especially the case if the surgery is on your nose, airways or eyes. Many surgeons and anesthetists prefer their patients to bring their CPAP to the hospital with them because it helps during the recovery process after the surgery.
  7. What happens if I have a blocked nose and a cold? Using PAP with the humidifier can help your blocked nose. Using a full face mask is an alternative if you have prolonged nose obstruction. A nasal spray or decongestant can help with nasal or sinus congestion.
  8. Can I use my CPAP with a battery? Yes. The batteries usually last on average from four to six hours depending on the capacity. For further details, please contact the supplier.

 

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

1. البدء باستخدام الجهاز لفتراتٍ قصيرة خلال النهار أثناء مشاهدة التلفزيون أو القراءة.
  2. استخدام الجهاز كلّ ليلة وخلال كلّ قيلولة، ليصبح من العادات الراسخة التي تصاحبك أثناء النوم. فإذا استخدمته بوتيرةٍ أقلّ، يُحتمَل ألّا تستفيد من منافعه الصحّية، وقد يصعب على جسمك الاعتياد عليه. إذا كنتَ تعاني من صعوبةٍ في تذكُّر استخدام جهازك كلّ ليلة، اطلب من شخصٍ تثق به أن يتحقّق من استخدامك للجهاز، كما يمكنك الانضمام إلى مجموعة دعم خاصّة.
  3. الحرص على شعورك بالراحة عند استخدام الجهاز من خلال إجراء تحسينات تدريجية على القناع، والأنابيب، والأشرطة، والقبّعات، إلى أن تصل إلى الوضعية الأفضل. إذا لم تنجح هذه التعديلات الصغيرة، قد تحتاج إلى قناع آخر أو قبّعة أخرى. يمكنك أيضًا أن تحاول استخدام وسادة خاصة مُصمَّمة تحديدًا لقناع و/أو أنبوب جهاز الضغط الهوائي الإيجابي.
  4. إذا شعرت بأنّ الضغط شديد جدًا، يمكنك استعمال وضع "التصاعد" على جهازك لكي يزداد ضغط الهواء شيئًا فشيئًا وصولاً إلى المستوى المناسب الموصى به. يساعدُ هذا الوضع على بدء عمل جهازك بوتيرةٍ منخفضة تزدادُ تدريجيًا مع الوقت. بهذه الطريقة، يُفترَض أن تستطيع الخلود إلى النوم عندما تكون نسبة الضغط متدنّية. وإذا لم يساعدك هذا الحلّ، يمكنك التكلّم مع مزوّد الرعاية الصحّية بشأن الأنواع المختلفة لأجهزة الضغط الهوائي الإيجابي.   ​
  5. الاحتقان الأنفي قد يسبّب مشكلةً في بعض الأحيان لدى استخدام جهاز الضغط الهوائي الإيجابي للعلاج. يمكنك استعمال رذاذ مالح خاص لهذه الحالة من أجل التخفيف من الاحتقان في الأنف. 
  6. إذا كانت حالة احتقان الأنف أو الجيوب الأنفية أكثر شدّةً، يمكن استخدام دواء خاص لتخفيف الاحتقان. وفي حال استمرار المشكلة، يُرجى مراجعة طبيبك الأخصائي المختصّ باضطرابات النوم للاطلّاع على الخيارات البديلة. ​
  7. إنّ بعض أجهزة الضغط الهوائي الإيجابي مُزوَّدة بمُرطِّبات مُسخِّنة، وهي مقصورات مليئة بالمياه على منصّة مُسخِّنة. تضمنُ هذه الميزة استنشاق هواء دافئ ورَطِب عبر قناعك. استخدم مُرطِّبًا يناسب جهازك إذا كنتَ تعاني من جفاف الفم، أو الحلق، أو الأنف.
  8. في حال كنتَ تستخدم مُرطِّبًا مُسخِّنًا وامتلأت الأنابيب بالمياه، خفّف إعدادات الحرارة على المُرطِّب وأبْقِ الجهاز على مستوى أدنى من رأسك.
  9. إذا وجدتَ أنّ صوت الجهاز مُزعِج، يمكنك وضع المِسنَد الخاص بفأرة الحاسوب أو مِسنَد من الاسفنج تحت جهازك لتخفيف الصوت. لا تضع جهازك على سجّادة.
  10. تنظيف القناع والأنابيب والقبّعة مرّةً في الأسبوع وتدوين ذلك على مفكّرتك كي لا تنسى.
  11. التحقّق بشكلٍ منتظم من الفلاتر الخاصة بجهازك والمُرطِّب، وقُم باستبدالها.
  12. البقاء على اتّصال مع مُعالِجِك المختصّ باضطرابات التنفّس، أو مع التقنيّ المختصّ باضطرابات النوم، أو مع مُزوِّد المعدّات المنزلية الخاص بك حرصًا على حصولك على الجهاز والقناع والإعدادات الموصى بها الأنسب لحالتك.

الأسئلة الشائعة

  1. ما هي منافع العلاج بواسطة جهاز ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي (PAP)؟ يساعد العلاج بواسطة جهاز ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي على زيادة مستوى طاقتك، وتحسين وعيك الذهني، ومزاجك، ونوعية نومك وحياتك.
  2. إذا خسرتُ بعض الوزن، هل سأتخلّص من مشكلة انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم. يعتمد ذلك على الحالة. فقد أظهر بعض مرضى تراجعًا في أعراض انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم بعد خسارة الوزن، فتوقّفوا عن استعمال جهازهم، في حين اختلف الوضع لدى أشخاص آخرين. ولكن، إذا كنتَ تعاني من الوزن الزائد، فلا شكّ في أنّ خسارة الوزن سوف تحسّن مستوى صحّتك بالإجمال، وتخفّص خطر الإصابة بمشاكل صحّية أخرى.
  3. كمَ ستطول مدّة استخدامي لهذا الجهاز؟ العلاج بجهاز ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي ليس سوى "علاج". فطالما أنّك ما زلت تعاني من انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم، لا بدّ لك من أن تقوم بأيّ تدبيرٍ لتحسين نوعية نومك. بعد سنواتٍ كثيرة من الاختبار مع الجراحات، والأجهزة الفموية، والوسادات الخاصة، إلخ.، يُعتبَر العلاج بجهاز ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي بمثابة المعيار الأمثل للتخفيف من أعراض انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم وتحسينها.
  4. ما هو "التصاعد" وبمَ يفيد؟ وضع "التصاعد" يسمح بتوفير وتيرة ضغط أكثر انخفاضًا لفترةٍ معيّنة من الوقت (5 دقائق – 45 دقيقة عادةً) لمساعدتك على الاسترخاء والخلود إلى النوم. ثمّ، تزداد وتيرة الضغط بشكلٍ تدريجي وصولاً إلى مستوى الضغط الموصى به الذي يستطيع معالجة الحالة التي تعانيها من انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم.
  5. هل يجب أن أستخدم جهاز ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي المتواصل طوال الليل؟​​​ حالما تتوقّف عن استعمال جهاز ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي المتواصل، سوف تعود إلى حالة انقطاع التنفّس الانسدادي أثناء النوم. فعليك إذًا استخدام الجهاز في أيّ وقتٍ تنام فيه، وحتّى خلال القيلولة النهارية. يجدُ بعض الناس صعوبةً في ذلك، إنّما عليك أن تحاول استخدامه طوال الليل، وفي كلّ ليلة. تذكّر أنّك إذا توقّفت عن استخدامه، فهو لن يعطي أيّ نتيجة. وقد أظهرت الدراسات الحديثة أنّك تستفيد أكثر فأكثر كلّما واظبت على استخدامه. ​
  6. هل توجد أيّ مخاطر مرتبطة بأجهزة ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي؟ تُعتبَر أجهزة ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي آمنةً للغاية. إذا كنتَ بصدد إجراء عملية جراحية، تكلّم مع الجرّاح للتأكّد من الفترة التي يصبح بإمكانك استعمال الجهاز بكلّ أمان، لا سيّما إذا كانت الجراحة ستتمّ في الأنف، أو المجاري الهوائية، أو العينَين. يفضِّل العديد من الجرّاحين والأطبّاء المختصّين بالتخدير أن يقوم المرضى بإحضار أجهزتهم إلى المستشفى لأنّها تساعدهم خلال فترة التعافي بعد العملية الجراحية.  
  7. ما الذي يحصل إذا كنتُ أعاني من احتقانٍ في الأنف ومن الزكام؟ يمكن لجهاز ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي المُزوَّد بمُرطِّب أن يساعدك في حالة احتقان الأنف. ويمكنك استخدام قناع كامل كحلّ بديل إذا كنتَ تعاني من انسداد مزمن في الأنف، كما تستطيع أيضًا الاستعانة برذاذ أنفيّ خاص أو دواء للتخفيف من الاحتقان في حال كنتَ تعاني من انسداد الأنف أو الجيوب الأنفية. 
  8. هل يمكنني استعمال جهازي مع بطاريات؟ نعم. تخدمك البطاريات عادةً بين أربع إلى ستّ ساعات تبعًا لحجمها. لمزيدٍ من التفاصيل، يُرجى الاتّصال بمُزوِّد الجهاز.