There is a strong relationship between sleep apnea and obesity. The link is so strong that almost every obese person has at least one symptom of sleep apnea: loud and irregular snoring.

Being overweight often contributes to snoring, since excess fat in the neck area significantly narrows the airway.

Why obesity causes sleep apnea

As long as you gain weight, your neck becomes thicker. As the level of fat in the throat increases, your airway gets smaller. The fat is located not within the wall of the airway, but around it. When the muscle tone is reduced during sleep, the fatty tissue, in effect, mass loads the airway and tends to collapse it.

In overweight people, the excess of fatty tissue on the abdomen causes abnormal weight that can interfere with the normal breathing. So, the more overweight you are, the more difficult it is to breathe during your sleep, which causes your sleep apnea to worsen. In other words, the more fat in the throat, the more likely the airway is in danger to become blocked. Obesity is a huge risk to worsen sleep apnea.

When sleep apnea is aggravated, you may feel drowsier during the day. This means that excessive daytime sleepiness is getting worse as well. If you sleep all day, you do not consume enough energy and become less active and gain more weight. In this way, you aggravate your health situation more. If a person is overweight and suffering from sleep-disordered breathing, he or she may not be as motivated to exercise or eat healthy and nutritious foods. When apnea leads to daytime sleepiness, it may be that much harder to begin or sustain an exercise program, which has been shown to help people begin or maintain weight loss. Not only does obesity contribute to sleep problems such as sleep apnea, but sleep problems can also contribute to obesity.

Improving sleep apnea and obesity

The following tips will guide you to break the link between sleep apnea and obesity:

Weight loss

Weight loss can eliminate sleep apnea if obesity is one of the main causes. We also know that sleep apnea can cause weight gain because you sleep less at night and you are always drowsy during the day.

It has been shown that weight loss can lead to improved sleep efficiency, decreased snoring and improved oxygenation, but it will be very difficult to escape obesity as long as sleep apnea is left untreated.

For better results with weight loss, start using Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) therapy as your main remedy for sleep apnea. This will allow you to sleep better, which greatly helps a weight loss plan.

Surgical weight loss

Surgical weight loss, particularly gastric bypass surgery, is recommended only for severe obesity for patients who cannot control their weight with traditional methods, such as lifestyle modifications, pharmacotherapy or diet changes.

CPAP therapy

CPAP therapy is the most common treatment for sleep apnea, as well as the most effective. This device provides a stream of air through a mask that is worn while you sleep by keeping the airway open during the night, preventing it from collapsing. If you are overweight and have obstructive sleep apnea, then you should start your CPAP therapy as soon as possible.

You will have a more restful sleep and better energy levels during the daytime. This will allow you to fight against obesity with less effort.

​​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

هناك علاقة قوية بين انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم والسمنة. وذلك الارتباط قوي لدرجة أن كل شخص يعاني من السمنة المفرطة تقريبًا يعاني من عارض واحد على الأقل من أعراض انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم: الشخير العالي وغير المنتظم.

وتؤدّي زيادة الوزن في كثير من الأحيان إلى الشخير، حيث أن الدهون الزائدة في منطقة الرقبة تضيّق كثيرًا على مجرى الهواء.

ما علاقة السمنة بانقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم؟

كلما ازداد الوزن أصبحت الرقبة أكثر سماكة. وعندما تزيد نسبة الدهون في الحلق، يصبح مجرى الهواء أصغر. لا تتجمع الدهون داخل جدار مجرى الهواء، بل حوله. وعندما تنخفض قوة العضلات أثناء النوم، فإن الأنسجة الدهنية، في الواقع، تصبح كتلة فوق مجرى الهواء ويؤدي إلى طيّه.

يسبّب فائض الأنسجة الدهنية على البطن لدى الأشخاص الذين يعانون زيادة الوزن ضغطًا غير طبيعي من شأنه التأثير على التنفس الطبيعي. لذلك، كلما ازداد الوزن ازدادت صعوبة التنفس أثناء النوم، مما يسبب تفاقم حالة انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم لديك. وبعبارات أخرى، كلما زادت نسبة الدهون في الحلق، أصبح مجرى الهواء أكثر عرضة لخطر الانسداد. وتشكل السمنة عامل خطر كبير في تفاقم انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم.

عندما يتفاقم انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم، قد تشعر بالدوخة أكثر خلال النهار، ما يعني زيادة في الشعور بالنعاس خلال النهار. إذا نمت طوال اليوم، لن تستهلك ما يكفي من الطاقة، وستصبح أقل نشاطًا مما يؤدي إلى زيادة الوزن وبالتالي إلى تفاقم وضعك الصحي. إذا كان الشخص يعاني من زيادة الوزن ويعاني من اختلال في التنفس أثناء النوم، لن يكون لديه دافع لممارسة الرياضة أو تناول الأطعمة الصحية والمغذية. وعندما يؤدي انقطاع النفس إلى النعاس أثناء النهار، قد يكون من الأصعب بكثير البدء أو الحفاظ على نمط رياضي يساعد في البدء بفقدان الوزن أو الحفاظ على وزن صحي. ولا تؤدي البدانة في مشاكل في النوم مثل انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم وحسب، بل يمكن لمشاكل النوم أن تؤدّي بدورها إلى البدانة.

معالجة انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم والسمنة

تدلّ النصائح التالية على طرق كسر الصلة بين انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم والبدانة:

فقدان الوزن

يمكن لفقدان الوزن أن يقضي على انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم إذا كانت السمنة واحدة من الأسباب الرئيسية، لا سيّما وأنّ انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم قد يسبّب زيادة الوزن بسبب انحصار فترات النوم ليلًا، والشعور بالنعاس الدائم خلال النهار.

لقد تبين أنه يمكن لفقدان الوزن أن يؤدي إلى تحسين كفاءة النوم، وانخفاض الشخير وتحسين نسبة الأوكسجين، ولكن سيكون من الصعب جدًا تجنب السمنة دون معالجة مشكلة انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم.

للحصول على أفضل النتائج مع فقدان الوزن، عليك البدء باستخدام جهاز ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي المتواصل كعلاج رئيسي لمشكلة انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم. سيسمح لك ذلك بالنوم بشكل أفضل وفقدان الوزن.

فقدان الوزن جراحيًا

يوصى بعمليات فقدان الوزن جراحيًا، وخاصة جراحة تحويل المعدة، فقط للمرضى الذين يعانون سمنة مفرطة ولا يستطيعون التحكم بوزنهم بالأساليب التقليدية، مثل تعديل نمط الحياة أو العلاج الدوائي أو تغيير النظام الغذائي.

جهاز ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي المتواصل

علاج جهاز ضغط المسالك الهوائية الإيجابي المتواصل هو العلاج الأكثر شيوعًا لمشكلة انقطاع التنفس أثناء النوم، وهو الأكثر فعالية كذلك. ويوفر هذا الجهاز تيارًا من الهواء عبر قناع ترتديه أثناء النوم فيحافظ على مجرى الهواء مفتوحًا طوال الليل، مانعًا إياه من الانهيار. وإذا كنت تعاني من السمنة ولديك انقطاع في التنفس أثناء النوم بسبب انسداد مجرى الهواء، فعليك أن تبدأ العلاج بجهاز ضخ الهواء في أقرب وقت ممكن.

سيجعل ذلك نومك أكثر راحة ويزيد طاقتك أثناء النهار ويخوّلك مكافحة السمنة بجهد أقل.


​​