Obesity is a primary health concern and a risk factor for coronary heart disease, diabetes, gallbladder disease, arthritis, and peripheral vascular disease. Weight loss can make a significant contribution to improving general health and well-being. The Protein-Sparing Modified Fast (PSMF) is designed for rapid weight loss and incorporates medical, nutritional, and behavioral components. The goal of this diet is to reach an appropriate body weight as determined by your physician and dietitian.

Carbohydrate, protein, and fat are the nutrients in food that provide energy for proper functioning, maintenance, and repair of the body. In addition to these three nutrients, the human body requires water, vitamins, and minerals for good health.

While on the PSMF program, only lean meat, seafood, poultry, and a limited amount of low-carbohydrate vegetables should be eaten. Carbohydrates and additional forms of fat are not allowed on this program. The high protein intake is to prevent the body from using its own protein stores in muscles, tissues, and cells for energy. Thus the program is a “modified” fast. 

Carbohydrates are usually the body’s primary source of energy. Since a very limited amount of carbohydrates are consumed, fat becomes the primary fuel source for the body. This rapid breakdown of fat produces ketones that spill into the urine, called ketosis. Ketones in the urine are desirable. While in ketosis, most people lose their appetite, which is a benefit of this program. A large amount of the water in your body is stored with carbohydrates. Since carbohydrate intake is severely limited and storage is severely depleted, dehydration is a health concern. To compensate, adequate quantities of fluid, sodium, and prescription potassium are required each day. Eating foods that are not appropriate can stop ketosis, which not only means less weight reduction, but it can cause dangerous shifts in the body’s fluid and electrolytes.

Behavior modification

You will be asked to change your eating habits. Throughout the program, new behaviors will be introduced to encourage healthy habits. Your serious effort is required to change old eating habits, which will help you reach and maintain your desired weight. Your physician or dietitian may recommend an appointment with a psychologist to assist with behavior modification.

Appointment Schedule
​​Physician Schedule Dietitian Schedule
Initial appointment and assessment Visit 1: Initial evaluation and instruction
Follow-up appointments: Visit 2: 2 weeks later
Approximately every 2 months Visit 3: 2-3 weeks later
Appointments every month for the rest of the program

Purpose of the appointment with the dietitian

  • Instruction and education
  • Answer questions
  • Monitor blood work
  • Review food record
  • Review supplement intake
  • Learn behavior modification techniques
  • Monitor weight loss
  • Solve problems and provide ideas for common concerns such as preparing food, eating out, and traveling while on the diet
  • Develop a program for long-term weight maintenance when goal weight is obtained

Refeeding

When your goal weight is achieved, protein and dietary supplement intake will gradually be reduced while carbohydrates are reintroduced. This refeeding phase is essential for long-term success. Principles of a well-balanced diet are implemented to design a long-term weight control program. You will see the dietitian every two weeks during the beginning of refeeding.

Exercise

An exercise program will tone muscles and assist with weight reduction and total body fitness. Be sure to obtain physician approval before starting an exercise program. A daily exercise program is encouraged. Your dietitian can give some tips on how to get started. An exercise physiologist can set up a more individualized program if desired.

PSMF success

As with any diet, success results when an individual is willing to make lifestyle changes. Patients who have completed the PSMF have been successful with weight loss. They've successfully maintained weight loss with the refeeding process and implementation of behavior changes.

​​​​​​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

تُعدّ البدانة من المشاكل الصّحية الرئيسية ومن عوامل خطورة الإصابة بأمراض شرايين القلب التاجية والسُّكَّري والتهاب المفاصل وأمراض المرارة وأوعية الدم الطرفية. ومن هنا تأتي أهمية تخفيف الوزن في تحسين الصحة العامة وضمان سلامة المريض. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية تم وضع حمية البروتين السريعة لتخفيف الوزن وتشمل أبعادًا طبية وغذائية وسلوكية. ويكمُن هدف هذا النظام الغذائي في تحقيق وزن صحّي مناسب يُحدّده الطبيب أو أخصّائي التغذية.

تمثل الكربوهيدرات والبروتينات والدهون (الدسم) عناصر التغذية الرئيسية في الطعام التي توفر الطاقة اللّزمة لوظائف الجسم وصيانته. وبالإضافة إلى هذه العناصر الثلاثة يحتاج جسم الإنسان إلى الماء والفيتامينات والمعادن لضمان الصحة الجيدة.

وعند الالتزام بحمية البروتين السريعة لتخفيف الوزن يترتب على الشخص تناول اللّحوم الخالية من الدهون والمأكولات البحرية والدّواجن إضافةً إِلى كمية محدودة من الخضروات على أن تكون مخفضة الكربوهيدرات، فيما لا يُسمح بتناول الكربوهيدرات والأنواع الأخرى من الدهون، ويهدف هذا النظام الغذائي الذي يحتوي على نسبة عالية من البروتينات إلى منع الجسم من استهلاك احتياطي البروتينات المخزون في العضلات والأنسجة والخلايا كمصدر للطاقة التي تلزمه، لذلك يُوصف هذا النظام بأنه "معدل السرعة".

وتمثل الكربوهيدرات عادةً المصدر الأساسي للطاقة اللازمة للجسم بشكلٍ عام. ولكن في هذه الحمية تصبح الدهون هي مصدر الطاقة الرئيسي في الجسم نظرًا لاستهلاك الكربوهيدرات بكميات قليلة جدًا. وينجم عن هذا الحرق السريع للدهون إنتاج الكيتونات التي تتسرب إلى البول فيما يُعرف بفرط كيتون الجسم. يعد وجود الكيتونات في البول مؤشرًا جيدًا. أما فرط كيتون الجسم، فيؤدي لدى معظم الأشخاص إلى فقدان الشهية للطعام الذي يعتبر من فوائد هذا النظام الغذائي. ومن المعلوم أن الجسم يحتفظ عادةً بكمياتٍ كبيرة من الماء والكربوهيدرات، ونتيجة الانخفاض الكبير في كمية الكربوهيدرات المتناولة والاستنفاذ السريع للكربوهيدرات المُخزَّنة يصبح الجفاف من المشاكل الصحية التي تثير المخاوف، ولتعويض ذلك يلزم الشخص يوميًا تناول كميات كافية من السوائل والصوديوم والبوتاسيوم الموصوف طبيًا. ويلفت الانتباه إلى أن تناول الأطعمة غير المسموح بها ضمن هذا النظام الغذائي يوقف فرط كيتون الجسم، مما ​يؤدي إلى خسارة أقل في الوزن وحدوث تغيرات​ خطيرة في توازن السوائل والأملاح في الجسم.

التعديلات السلوكية

لا بَّد من أن يصاحب الالتزام بحمية البروتين تغييرًا في العادات الغذائية الشخصية، ففي المراحل الأولية لاتباع هذا النظام الغذائي يتعرف الشخص على أنماط سلوكية جديدة لتشجيعه على اتباع عادات صحيَّة. يحتاج الفرد لبذل قصارى جهده لتغيير عاداته الغذائية القديمة لأن ذلك يفيد في تحقيق الوزن المطلوب والمحافظة عليه. وقد ينصح الطبيب أو أخصائي التغذية بتحديد موعد مع أخصائي الطب النفسي لاستشارته حول إجراء التغييرات السلوكية الموصى بها.

جدول المواعيد
جدول مواعيد أخصائي التغذية
جدول مواعيد الطبيب
الزيارة (1):التقييم الصحي الأولي والتعليمات الموعد الأولي والتقييم الصحي​
الزيارة (2): بعد مرور أسبوعين​
مواعيد المراجعات​
الزيارة (3): بعد مرور​ 2-3 أسابيع
المراجعة كل شهرين تقريبًا​
​المواعيد الشهرية طيلة فترة البرنامج​ المتبقية​

الغرض من تحديد مواعيد المراجعة مع أخصائي التغذية​

  • تلقي التعليمات والتوعية الصحية​.
  • الإجابة عن الأسئلة​.
  • لراقبة نتائج فحوص تحليل الدم​.
  • مراجعة سجل الطعام​.
  • مراجعة المكملات الغذائية المتناولة​.
  • تعلُم أساليب تعديل السلوك​.
  • مراقبة تخفيف الوزن​.
  • حل المشاكل واقتراح الأفكار للتخلص من المخاوف الشائعة، كتلك المتعلقة بإعداد الطعام والأكل خارج المنزل والسفر خلال فترة​ الالتزام بهذا النظام الغذائي​.
  • وضع برنامج يضمن الحفاظ المديد على الوزن بعد تخفيفه​.

إعادة التغذية

بعد بلوغ الوزن المطلوب تُقَلَل كمية البروتينات والمكمّلات الغذائية تدريجيًا وتُضاف الكربوهيدرات إلى النظام الغذائي. إنَّ مرحلة إعادة التغذية أساسية لبلوغ النجاح طويل الأمد، ويتم الالتزام بمبادئ النظام الغذائي المتوازن لإعداد برنامج للحفاظ على الوزن على الأمد الطويل. يحتاج الفرد الملتزم بهذا النظام لمراجعة أخصائي التغذية كل أسبوعين خلال الفترة الأولى من مرحلة إعادة التغذية.​

ممارسة الرياضة

يفيد برنامج التمارين الرياضية في تقوية العضلات ويُساعد في تخفيف الوزن وتحقيق اللياقة البدنية بالكامل. يجب الحصول على موافقة الطبيب قبل البدء ببرنامج التمارين الرياضية، كما يُفضّل ممارسة الرياضة يوميًّا. ويمكن لأخصائي التغذية تقديم النصائح حول كيفية الشروع في التمارين الرياضية، فيما يمكن لأخصائي فيزيولوجية (وظيفة) التمارين الرياضية إعداد برنامج تمارين رياضية يناسب احتياجات الفرد.

نجاح حمية البروتين

كما هو الحال مع باقي الأنظمة الغذائية، يرتبط نجاح هذه الحمية الغذائية برغبة الشخص في تغيير نمط حياته. وبشكلٍ عام تمكن المرضى الذين التزموا بهذا النظام الغذائي من تخفيف وزنهم، ونجحوا في الحفاظ على الوزن المطلوب خلال مرحلة إعادة التغذية وتطبيق التعديلات الشخصية على سلوكهم.

​​​​