Before the test

  • DO NOT smoke on the day of the test, as nicotine will interfere with the results of your test.
  • It is extremely important that you refrain from ALL CAFFEINE or products containing CAFFEINEfor 48 hours prior to the test such as:
    • Coffee
    • Decaffeinated products (also contain small amounts of caffeine)
    • Tea
    • Soft drinks and soda
    • Carbonated drinks
    • Coke
    • Chocolate (all kinds)
    • Energy drinks

  • DO NOT eat or drink on the day of the test, but you may drink small sips of water to help you swallow your medications.
  • Please bring with you to your appointment a copy of all your medications, including over-the-counter medications and supplements that you routinely take.

Please follow these guidelines about taking your medications the day of the test:

Medications with caffeine: DO NOT take any over-the-counter medications that contain caffeine (such as anti-migraine medications (e.g. Excedrin, Anacin), diet pills or anti-sleep tablets) for 24 hours before the test.

If you have asthma: Your physician will ask you NOT to take Theophylline for 48 hours before the test. Please plan to bring your asthma inhaler medication to the test.

If you have diabetes: If you take Insulin to control your blood sugar, ask your physician how much Insulin you should take the day of the test. Your physician may tell you to take only half of your usual morning dose and to eat a light meal four hours before the test. If you take pills to control your blood sugar, do not take your medication until the test is complete. Bring your diabetes medication with you so you can take it when the test is complete. You should skip taking your diabetes medication and skip the accompanying meal. Do not take your diabetes medication and, at the same time, skip a meal, as this could reduce your blood sugar significantly.

If you own a glucose monitor, bring it with you to check your blood sugar levels before and after your test. If you think your blood sugar is low, inform the lab personnel immediately. Plan to eat and take your blood sugar medication following your test.

If you take heart medications: DO NOT take the following heart medications on the day of the test unless your physician tells you otherwise, or unless it is needed to treat chest discomfort the day of the test:

  • Isosorbide dinitrate (e.g., Dilatrate, Isordil)
  • Isosorbide mononitrate (e.g., Imdur, ISMO, Monoket)
  • Nitroglycerin (e.g., Minitran, Nitro patches, Nitrostat)
  • Dipyridamole (Persantine, Aggrenox) – Stop taking 48 hours before the test
  • Beta-blockers (e.g., Bisoprolol, Carvedilol, Labetalol, Nadolol, Propranolol, Metoprolol, Metoprolol XL or ER, Atenolol)

Your physician may also ask you to stop taking other heart medications on the day of your test. If you have any questions about your medications, ask your physician. Do not discontinue any medications without seeking your physician’s advise.

About the test

What is this test?

A Pharmacological Cardiac Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Stress Test is a diagnostic test used to evaluate blood flow to the heart for people who are unable to exercise or cannot increase their heart rates adequately. The test can help determine if you are getting enough blood to your heart when you are active versus when you are resting. The MRI scan will take about 45 minutes, and your total time in the MRI area may last up to two hours.

What will happen to me during the test?

An MRI nurse will place two intravenous (IV) lines into your arm before starting the MRI scan. A nurse and an MRI technologist will place electrodes (small, sticky patches) on your chest to monitor your electrocardiogram (EKG), and a blood pressure cuff on your arm to monitor your blood pressure.

Then, you will be asked to lay very still inside the MRI scanner for a total of about 45 minutes. You also will be asked to do a series of short breath holds while the MRI scanner takes images of your heart.

Before you receive the medication through the IV, the nurse will talk to you about the possible side effects of the medication so you will know what to expect.

During your test, you will receive a small amount of medication – Adenosine, Dipyridamole or Regadenoson – to make your coronary arteries widen (dilate), which increases blood flow, in a way similar to the way they do when you exercise. The medication slightly increases your heart rate. A small amount of MRI dye called gadolinium is injected into a vein when you’re resting and after you receive the medication. An MRI scanner takes pictures of the gadolinium dye as it passes through your heart muscle, creating computer images of your heart.

Your heart rate, EKG and blood pressure will be monitored throughout the test. The testing area is supervised by a physician.

During the examination, the MRI scanner will take pictures of your heart size, function, blood flow through your heart during rest and during cardiac stress, and it will help determine permanent damage to your heart muscle.

Are there after-test restrictions for me to follow?

There are no restrictions after the imaging test. You may resume your regular diet.

How will I know the results of my test?

Your test results will be sent to the physician who ordered the test. During your follow-up appointment, your referring physician will discuss the results of your test.

 

​​​​​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

​قبل الإختبار

  • يجب أن تمتنع عن التدخين في يوم الفحص، حيث أن النيكوتين سيتداخل مع نتائج الفحص.
  • من المهم جدًا أن تمتنع عن تناول كافة أشكال الكافيين أو المنتجات التي تحتوي على الكافيين لمدة 48 ساعة قبل الفحص، مثل:

    • القهوة
    • المنتجات التي تمّ إخلاؤها من الكافيين (فهي لا تزال تحتوي على كمية صغيرة من الكافيين)
    • الشاي
    • المشروبات الغازية والصودا
    • المشروبات المكربنة
    • الكولا
    • الشوكولاتة (بكافة أنواعها)
    • مشروبات الطاقة

  • يجب ألّ تتناول الطعام أو الشراب في يوم الفحص، ولكن يمكنك تناول رشفات صغيرة من الماء لتساعدك على ابتلاع الأدوية.
  • يرجى أن تحضر معك نسخة عن أدويتك، بما في ذلك تلك التي لا تحتاج إلى وصفة طبية والمكملات الغذائية التي تتناولها بشكل روتيني.

يرجى اتباع الإرشادات التالية الخاصة بتناولك للأدوية يوم الفحص: 

الأدوية التي تحتوي على الكافيين: يجب ألّ تتناول الأدوية التي لا تحتاج إلى وصفة طبية والتي تحتوي على الكافيين (مثل الأدوية المضادة للصداع النصفي (مثل: إكسيردين، أناسين) أو حبوب الحمية الغذائية أو الأقراص المضادة للنوم) لمدة 24 ساعة قبل الفحص.

إذا كنت تعاني من الربو: سيطلب منك طبيبك عدم تناول الثيوفيلين قبل 48 ساعة من الفحص، يرجى الاستعداد لإحضار مستنشق الربو معك للفحص.

إذا كنت تعاني من السكري: إذا كنت تأخذ الأنسولين للتحكم بنسبة السكر في الدم، عليك أن تسأل طبيبك عن كمية الأنسولين التي يجب عليك أن تأخذها يوم الفحص، وقد يخبرك طبيبك بأن تأخذ نصف الكمية المعتادة في الصباح فقط وتناول وجبة خفيفة قبل الفحص بأربع ساعات، وإذا كنت تتناول الأقراص للتحكم بنسبة السكر في الدم، عليك أّل تتناولها حتى الانتهاء من الفحص، ويجب عليك إحضار أدوية السكري معك بحيث تستطيع تناولها عند الانتهاء من الفحص، ويجب عليك إلغاء تناول أدوية السكري وإلغاء الوجبة المصاحبة لها، ويجب عليك أّل تتناول أدوية السكري وفي الوقت نفسه، إلغاء الوجبة، حيث أن ذلك قد يقلل من نسبة السكر في الدم بشكل ملحوظ.

وإذا كنت تمتلك جهاز لمراقبة الجلوكوز، عليك إحضاره معك لفحص مستويات السكر في دمك قبل وبعد الفحص، وإذا كنت تعتقد أن نسبة السكر في دمك منخفضة، عليك إبلاغ موظفي المختبر على الفور، ويجب عليك الإعداد لتناول أدوية سكر الدم بعد الفحص.

إذا كنت تأخذ أدوية للقلب: عليك أّل تتناول أدوية القلب التالية يوم الفحص، إّل إذا أخبرك طبيبك غير ذلك، أو إّل إذا كانت هناك حاجة لمعالجة آلام الصدر يوم الفحص:

  • إيزوسوربيد ثنائي النترات (مثال: ديلاتريب، أيسورديل)
  • إيزوسوربيد أحادي نترات (مثال: إمدور، إسمو (ISMO)، مونوكيت)
  • النيتروغليسرين (مثال: مينيتران، رقع النيترو، نيتروستات)
  • ديبيريدامول (بيرسانتاين، أغرينوكس)- يجب التوقف عن تناولها قبل 48 من الفحص
  • حاصرات بيتا (مثال: بيسوبرولول، كارفيديلول، ابيتالول، نادولول، بروبرانولول، ميتوبرولول، ميتوبرولول XL  أو أتينولولER)

وقد يطلب منك طبيبك التوقف عن تناول أدوية القلب الأخرى يوم الفحص، وإذا كان لديك استفسارات تتعلق بأدويتك، يُرجى أن تسأل طبيبك. يجب عدم التوقف عن تناول أي أدوية دون استشارة طبيبك.

معلومات عن الاختبار

ما هذا الاختبار؟

يعتبر فحص الإجهاد من خلال تصوير القلب بالرنين المغناطيسي باستخدام الأدوية فحص تشخيصي يستخدم لتقييم تدفق الدم للقلب للأشخاص الذين لا يستطيعون ممارسة التمارين أو لا يستطيعون زيادة معدل ضربات القلب بشكل كافٍ. ويستطيع الفحص تحديد فيما إذا كنت تحصل على كمية كافية من الدم لقلبك عندما تكون في حالة نشاط مقارنة بتلك عندما تكون في وضع الراحة. يحتاج التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي إلى حوالي 45 دقيقة، وقد يمتد وقت بقاءك في منطقة التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي إلى ساعتين.

ما الذي يحدث أثناء الاختبار؟

ستقوم ممرضة التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي بوضع أنبوبين وريديين في ذراعك قبل بدء التصوير، وستقوم ممرضة وفني التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي بوضع الإلكترودات )رقع صغير لزجة( على صدرك لمراقبة تخطيط القلب، وسيتم وضع كفة ضغط الدم على ذراعك لمراقبة ضغط دمك.

بعد ذلك، سيطلب منك الاستلقاء بثبات تام داخل ماسح التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي لحوالي 45 دقيقة، كما سيطلب منك القيام بمجموعة عمليات حبس الأنفاس القصيرة أثناء التقاط ماسح التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي صورًا لقلبك.

وقبل أن تناولك للدواء عن طريق الوريد، ستتحدث إليك الممرضة حول التأثير الجانبية المحتملة للدواء بحيث تعرف ما يمكن توقعه.

وأثناء الفحصن ستتلقى كمية صغيرة من الدواء- الأدينوسين أو ديبيريدامول أو ريغادينوسون - لتوسيع شرايينك التاجية )تتمدد( مما يزيد من تدفق الدم بطريقة تشبه تلك التي تتمدد فيها عندما تمارس التمارين الرياضية، ويعمل الدواء على زيادة معدل ضربات قلبك، ويتم حقنك بكمية صغيرة من الصبغة الخاصة بالتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي تسمى غادولينيوم في أحد الأوردة عندما تكون في وضع الراحة وبعد تلقيك للدواء، ويقوم ماسح التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي بالتقاط صور لصبغة الغادولينيوم أثناء مرورها من خلال عضلة القلب، مما ينتج صور حاسوب لقلبك.

وستتم مراقبة معدل ضربات قلبك وتخطيطه الكهربائي وضغط دمك طوال فترة الفحص، مع وجود طبيب يشرف على منطقة الفحص.

وأثناء الفحص، سيلتقط ماسح التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي صورًا لحجم ووظيفة وتدفق الدم في قلبك أثناء فترة الراحة وأثناء الإجهاد القلبي، مما يساعد على تحديد الضرر الدائم الذي أصاب عضلة قلبك.

هل من أمور ينبغي تفاديها بعد الخضوع للاختبار؟

ما من أمر ممنوع عليك بعد فحص التصوير. ويجوز أن تتابع نظامك الغذائي المعتاد.

كيف أحصل على نتائج الاختبار الذي خضعت له؟

  • سيتم إرسال نتائج فحصك إلى الطبيب الذي طلب إجراء الفحص. وأثناء موعد المراجعة، سيناقش الطبيب الذي أحالك لإجراء الفحص النتائج معك.