What is a PFO and when is it up to closure?

A PFO is a valve-like opening between the right and the left atrium (auricle) of the heart leading to a small intermittent right-to-left shunt inside the heart, the volume of which usually is too small to impair circulation. However, this small shunt can carry small clots along to the arterial side of the heart that may lead to embolic stroke in rare cases. PFOs are inherent in about 25% of the normal population and causes no problems whatsoever except in a tiny minority of individuals. It might be closed if an embolic stroke has occurred and no other causes have been found.

Percutaneous device closure - how does it work?

To further briefly explain what happens in a PFO catheter-based procedure, a cardiac catheterization involves slowly moving a catheter (a long, thin, flexible, hollow tube) into the heart. The catheter is initially inserted into a large vein through a small incision made usually in the inner thigh (groin area) and then is advanced to and into the heart. An imaging test called angiography, (an injection of a certain type of dye followed by an x-ray motion picture) may be used to better visualize the heart. A PFO closure device is moved through the catheter to the heart and specifically to the location of the heart wall defect. Once in the correct location, the PFO closure device is allowed to expand its shape to straddle each side of the communication. The device will remain in the heart permanently to stop any flow of blood between the two atria chambers of the heart. That way, crossing and subsequent embolization of small clots are prevented. An ultrasound imaging technique, called transesophageal echocardiography (TEE), is used to check for adequate device position at the very end of the procedure. Once a good result has been confirmed the catheter is removed and the procedure is complete.

How long does the procedure take?

The cardiac catheterization procedure for a PFO closure typically takes about 30 minutes to complete. A local anesthetic is used to numb the right groin area where the catheter is inserted. Use of sedation is mandatory for the TEE at the end of the procedure.

What is a PFO closure device and how does it work?

The preferred type of PFO closure devices are currently being used at the Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi is the Amplatzer® PFO Occluder System consisting of two attached circular discs - a larger disc, which will reside facing the right atrium, sandwiched on top of a smaller disc, which will face the left atrium. These discs are made of polyester fabric encased by a wire mesh made of a nickel-titanium metal alloy. (Figure: Amplatzer® PFO Occluder. Image, with permission, from AGA Medical Corporation, St. Jude Medical.)

How does the body react to this permanent implant?

The material used in the occluder, an alloy containing nickel, has a proven long-term safety history and have been widely used in medicine. It’s not likely that the body will have a negative reaction to these devices. Within a few days, the body’s own tissue will begin to grow over the device. By 6 months, the device is completely covered by heart tissue and at that point becomes a part of the wall of the patient’s heart. The patient will not be able to feel the device. Ectopic heartbeats (extrasystoles) can occur days and weeks after implant. Usually, they can be treated medically if needed. Extrasystoles disappear with progressing ingrowth of the device after 6 to 8 weeks.

The implant won’t be affected by airport or other security sensors, or by any household appliances, or medical imaging methods. However, the clarity of MRI or CT images may be slightly reduced because of the wire frame on the occluder devices. For this reason, be sure to inform the imaging technician that you have such a device in your heart. The device can also be seen on chest X-ray. You will receive an identification card that should be carried with you to show to medical personnel if necessary.

Who is a good candidate for this type of valve replacement?

PFO closure devices can be used:

  • If the patient has no blood clots in his/her heart
  • If the patient does not need surgery to fix other heart defects
  • If the patient has no bleeding disorder, untreated ulcer, and is able to take aspirin and clopidogrel
  • If the patient has no active infection anywhere in the body (the device can be implanted not until any infection is completely gone)

Your doctor/neurologist will discuss alternative treatment options including long-term antiplatelet drug treatment.

How does long-term drug treatment compare to PFO device closure?

The catheter-based procedure for PFO closure could not be demonstrated superior to long-term drug treatment by multicenter trials. Individual anatomic characteristics as are size of the communication and coincident aneurysm of the interatrial septum as well as recurrent stroke make the PFO more probable to be the culprit source of embolism. For that reason, decision is made on an individual basis.

Post-implantation care

Your doctor will prescribe medications that will need to be taken at home. Aspirin will need to be taken daily for six months and clopidogrel for three months. Antibiotics will also need to be taken one hour before certain medical procedures (for example, dental cleaning/dental surgical procedures as well as certain surgeries) for up to 6 months post device placement. Your doctor will provide information on which procedures will require antibiotic pre-treatment. As with all medications, take them only as directed by your doctor, never stop taking the medication without talking with your doctor first, and call your doctor if you experience unpleasant reactions or have any concerns about the medication. Finally, a follow-up return trip to the hospital will be necessary at 6 months to monitor the patient’s heart and ingrowth of the device. The visit will include an electrocardiogram and TEE. The patient needs to fast prior to this visit.



​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

ما هي الثقبة البيضوية ومتى يجب إغلاقها؟

الثقبة البيضوية هي فتحة تشبه الصمام تقع بين الأذينين الأيمن والأيسر في القلب، وتسمح بمرور الدم بكميات صغيرة بشكل متقطع من الجانب الأيمن إلى الجانب الأيسر داخل القلب، وهي فتحة صغيرة جداً لا تعطل دوران الدم. ولكن قد تعمل هذه الفتحة الصغيرة التي تعتبر بمثابة "تحويلة" لمرور الدم على نقل خثرات دموية صغيرة الحجم إلى الجانب الشرياني للقلب، فيتسبب مرورها، في حالات نادرة، في التعرض للإصابة بالسكتات الدماغية الناجمة عن انسدادات في الأوعية الدموية. وتتواجد الثقبة البيضوية لدى 25% من الأشخاص المعافين ولا تتسبب بأي مشاكل صحية تّذكر من أي نوع باستثناء فئة صغيرة من الأشخاص. وقد يتم إغلاقها في حال حدوث سكتة دماغية صميّة (ناجمة عن انسداد في الأوعية الدموية بفعل خثرة دموية) ولم يتم إيجاد أسباب أخرى أدّت للإصابة بها.

الإغلاق غير الجراحي بزراعة جهاز عن طريق القسطرة - كيف يُنفّذ الإجراء؟

لإيضاح ما يحدث من خلال الإجراء الطبي لإغلاق الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة عن طريق القسطرة بشكل مختصر، تنطوي القسطرة القلبية على إدخال أنبوب القسطرة (أنبوب طويل رفيع مرن) ببطء إلى القلب. يتم إدخال القسطرة عبر شريان كبير من خلال ثقب صغير يتم إحداثه في باطن الفخذ (منطقة الأربية) ومن ثم توجيهها إلى القلب. ويمكن اللجوء في بعض الأحيان إلى الفحص الشعاعي المعروف بـ "تصوير الأوعية" (حقن مادة صبغية معينة يمكن تتبعها من خلال صورة متحركة بالأشعة السينية) للحصول على رؤية أوضح للقلب. يتم إدخال جهاز إغلاق الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة عبر القسطرة وتوجيهه إلى القلب وتحديداً إلى موضع العيب في الجدار الفاصل بين الأذينين في القلب، وعند الوصول إلى الموضع الصحيح، يتم تعديل حجم جهاز إغلاق الثقبة البيضوية لتغطية جانبي الفتحة وغلقها بإحكام. يبقى الجهاز في القلب بشكل دائم لإيقاف أي تدفق للدم ما بين الأذينين في القلب. وبهذه الطريقة يتم منع عبور الخثرات الدموية الصغيرة التي تؤدي إلى انسدادات في الأوعية الدموية. تتم الاستعانة بتقنية التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية لإجراء الفحص المعروف بـ "تخطيط صدى القلب عبر المريء" بهدف التأكد من وضع الجهاز بالمكان المناسب عند انتهاء الإجراء الطبي. وعند التأكد من تحقيق النتائج المطلوبة، تتم إزالة القسطرة وينتهي الإجراء الطبي.

كم من الوقت يستغرق إتمام الإجراء الطبي؟

يستغرق إجراء القسطرة القلبية لإغلاق الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة حوالي 30 دقيقة. وتُجرى القسطرة تحت تأثير التخدير الموضعي، حيث يتم تخدير منطقة الفخذ الأيمن نظراً إلى أنه موضع إدخال أنبوب القسطرة. ومن الضروري استعمال العقاقير المهدئة والمنوّمة لإجراء فحص "تخطيط صدى القلب عبر المريء" في نهاية الإجراء الطبي.

ما هو جهاز إغلاق الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة وكيف يعمل؟

نستخدم في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي أفضل أنواع أجهزة إغلاق الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة وهو "نظام قرص آمبلاتزر لإغلاق الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة" وهو مكون من قرصين دائريين متصلين ببعضهما - قرص كبير يكون مواجهاً للأذين الأيمن يثبّت فوق قرص أخر أصغر حجماً يواجه الأذين الأيسر. وهذه الأقراص مصنوعة من نسيج البوليستر ومغطاة بشبكة من الأسلاك المصنوعة من مادة معدنية مركبة من النيكل والتيتانيوم. (الشكل: نظام قرص آمبلاتزر لإغلاق الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة. الصورة بإذن من مؤسسة إيه جي إيه الطبية، سانت جود ميديكال).

 ما هو شكل استجابة الجسم وردة فعله تجاه الجهاز المزروع بصورة دائمة؟

أثبتت المادة المعدنية المستخدمة في صناعة القرص، التي يدخل النيكل في تركيبها، سلامتها وأمانها على المدى البعيد، وهي تستخدم بشكل واسع في المجال الطبي. ولا يرجح أن يكون للجسم أي رد فعل سلبي تجاه هذه الأجهزة. في غضون بضعة أيام من زراعة الجهاز، تبدأ أنسجة الجسم بالنمو فوق الجهاز. وبعد مرور 6 أشهر، يصبح الجهاز مغطى بأنسجة القلب بشكل كامل، وعندها يصبح جزءاً من جدار قلب المريض. ولن يشعر المريض بوجود الجهاز أبداً، غير أنه قد يشعر بضربات قلب سريعة (ضربات زائدة) بعد أيام وأسابيع من الزرع، حيث عادةً ما يتم علاجها عن طريق الأدوية إن لزم. وتختفي ضربات القلب الزائدة مع استمرار نمو أنسجة القلب فوق الجهاز بعد مرور 6 إلى 8 أسابيع. 

لا يتأثر الجهاز المزروع بأجهزة التفتيش الأمني المستخدمة في المطارات أو غيرها أو بالأجهزة المنزلية أو وسائل التصوير الطبي الشعاعي، غير أن الإطار السلكي على الجهاز قد يخفض من درجة وضوح الصور المأخوذة بتقنية الرنين المغناطيسي أو الأشعة المقطعية، لهذا السبب عليك إخبار فني التصوير الشعاعي أن لديك جهاز مزروع في القلب. ويظهر الجهاز أيضاً في الصور المأخوذة للصدر بالأشعة السينية. يتم تزويدك ببطاقة تعريفية خاصة بالجهاز يتوجب عليك الاحتفاظ بها وإبرازها للطاقم الطبي عند الضرورة.

ما هي الحالات التي تسمح بزراعة جهاز إغلاق الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة؟

يمكن استخدام أجهزة إغلاق الثقبة البيضوية في الحالات التالية:

  • إن لم يكن لدى المريض خثرات دموية في القلب 
  • إن لم يكن المريض بحاجة إلى إجراء جراحة لإصلاح عيوب أخرى في القلب 
  • إن لم يكن المريض يعاني من أمراض النزف أو قروح غير معالجة ولا تمنع حالته من أخذ "الأسبرين" و "الكلوبيدوغريل"  
  • إن لم يكن المريض يعاني من التهاب نشط في أي من أعضاء جسمه (لا يمكن زرع الجهاز إلا بعد الشفاء من الالتهاب تماماً) 

يتناقش الطبيب المعالج /أخصائي الأعصاب معك حول الخيارات العلاجية البديلة بما في ذلك العلاج بالأدوية المضادة لتجمّع الصفائح الدموية التي تمنع تشكّل الخثرات الدموية.

ما مدى تفوق جهاز إغلاق الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة على العلاج الدوائي طويل الأمد؟

لم تثبت التجارب متعددة المراكز أفضلية العلاج بالإجراء الطبي المنطوي على زرع جهاز لإغلاق الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة عن طريق القسطرة مقارنةً بالعلاج الدوائي طويل الأمد، حيث يتقرر الأسلوب العلاجي المناسب حسب الحالة، إذ أن هناك بعض الخصائص الجسدية الفردية التي تزيد من احتمال تسبُّب الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة بنقل الخثرات الدموية التي تُصيب الأوعية الدموية بالانسداد، ومنها حجم الفتحة المصحوبة بتمدد في الأوعية الدموية للحاجز الفاصل بين الأذينين، بالإضافة إلى مدى تكرار الإصابة بالسكتات الدماغية.

الرعاية في مرحلة ما بعد الزرع

يقوم الطبيب المعالج بوصف بعض الأدوية التي يجب أخذها في البيت، ومنها "الأسبرين" الذي يؤخذ يومياً لمدة 6 أشهر و "الكلوبيدوغريل" الذي يؤخذ لمدة 3 أشهر، إلى جانب المضادات الحيوية التي يجب أخذها قبل ساعة من الخضوع لإجراءات طبية معينة (مثل تنظيف الأسنان/ إجراءات الأسنان الجراحية، بالإضافة إلى بعض الجراحات) لمدّة تصل إلى 6 أشهر بعد زرع الجهاز. يقدم الطبيب المعالج المزيد من المعلومات حول الإجراءات الطبية التي تتطلب العلاج المسبق بالمضادات الحيوية قبل الخضوع لها. كما هو الحال مع كافة الأدوية، ينبغي أخذ الأدوية الموصوفة لعلاج الثقبة البيضوية المفتوحة حسب تعليمات الطبيب المعالج فقط وعدم التوقف عن أخذها دون استشارة الطبيب المعالج أولاً، والمسارعة بالاتصال بالطبيب المعالج في حال ظهور أي ردود فعل مزعجة أو لتوجيه أي استفسارات متعلقة بالأدوية. ومن الضروري بعد ذلك الالتزام بحضور موعد المتابعة الصحية في المستشفى بعد مرور 6 أشهر بهدف مراقبة القلب والتحقق من نمو أنسجة القلب فوق الجهاز المزروع، وذلك من خلال فحص "كهربية القلب" وفحص "تخطيط صدى القلب عبر المريء"، علماً بأن هذين الفحصين يستوجبان حضور المريض صائماً.