Common MS Perceptions

MYTH FACT
MS is fatal MS is a life-long condition but not a terminal illness. Healthcare breakthroughs and lifestyle changes mean that many people with MS can have a normal or near-normal life expectancy.
Work is harmful for MS patients Work in itself is not harmful in MS. If the disease is appropriately controlled patients can continue to work and will continue to be productive. Most subjects with MS continue to work and are productive despite the diagnosis.
MS leads to severe disability Many people with MS are able to walk without any help and most people don’t need to use a wheelchair on a regular basis. Effective treatment limits the amount of disability in MS.
People with MS will pass it onto their children The condition is not directly inherited, and most MS patients will not have children with MS. Children of MS patients are estimated to have a 2 percent risk of developing MS, compared to a risk of around 0.1 percent among the general population.
Diet can cure MS There is no special diet to treat MS. People with MS should eat a healthy diet just like anyone else, meaning one that is low in salt, sugar and processed foods and high in fruit, vegetables, and lean proteins.
People with MS shouldn’t exercise Some symptoms of the disease can make exercise more challenging; however, moderate exercise is recommended to maintain health and reduce the risk of developing lifestyle-related conditions like heart disease.
MS is the same as muscular dystrophy Muscular Dystrophy is a disease of the skeletal muscles which control the body’s movement, whereas MS damages the Central Nervous System, which controls muscles.
 

MS is a chronic, unpredictable disease of the central nervous system, which disrupts the flow of information within the brain and spinal cord.

MS has become a treatable disease and although there is currently no cure for MS, medications can prevent the accumulation of lesions and disability. MS affects an estimated 2.3 million people globally, yet there are still a number of common misperceptions about the condition.

​​​​​​​​​​​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

مفاهيم خاطئة وشائعة حول التصلب العصبي المتعدد 

نحن ملتزمون بتحسين جودة حياة مرضى التصلب العصبي المتعدد

​​يُقدم برنامج التصلب العصبي المتعدد في كليفل​اند كلينك أبوظبي أكبر برنامج رعاية صحي شامل لمرضى التصلب العصبي المتعدد في منطقة الشرق الأوسط.​​​

اطلع على المزيد هنا


​​مفهوم خاطئ ​الحقيقة
​التصلب العصبي المتعدّد مرض فتاك ​التصلب العصبي المتعدّد مرض يدوم مدى الحياة وليس مرضًا عضالًا، فالرعاية الصحية المتطورة والتغير في نمط الحياة يتيحان للمرضى بلوغ متوسط عمر طبيعي أو قريب من الطبيعي.
​العمل يضر بمرضى التصلب العصبي المتعدّد​​ ​​لا يُعدّ العمل بحد ذاته ضارًا بالنسبة لمرضى التصلب العصبي المتعدّد، إذ يستطيع معظمهم الاستمرار بالعمل ومواصلة الإنتاج في حال السيطرة على المرض.
​يؤدي التصلب العصبي المتعدد إلى إعاقة شديدة ​يستطيع الكثير من مرضى التصلب العصبي المتعدد المشي دون أي مساعدة ولا يحتاج معظمهم لاستخدام الكرسي المتحرك بشكل منتظم. يفيد العلاج الفعال في الحد من مستوى الإعاقة لدى المرضى.
​ينتقل مرض التصلب العصبي المتعدّد بالوراثة من الآباء إلى الأبناء ​لا ينتقل التصلب العصبي المتعدد بالوراثة بشكل مباشر، فأبناء معظم المشخصين بالتصلب العصبي المتعدد لا يصابون به. لكن يُقدَّر أن خطر الإصابة بمرض التصلب العصبي المتعدد يبلغ 2 في المائة لدى أبناء المشخصين به، مقارنة بنحو 0.1 في المائة لدى الآخرين.
​يمكن معالجة التصلب العصبي المتعدّد بواسطة نظام غذائي ​لا يوجد نظام غذائي خاص لعلاج التصلب العصبي المتعدّد، لكن ينبغي على من يعانون من هذا المرض، كغيرهم من الأشخاص، اتباع نظام غذاء صحي وذلك عبر التقليل من الملح والسكر والابتعاد عن الأطعمة المعالجة والإكثار من الخضار والفواكه والبروتينات الخالية من الدهن.
​يجب على مرضى التصلب العصبي المتعدّد الامتناع عن ممارسة الرياضة ​يمكن لبعض أعراض المرض أن تجعل ممارسة الرياضة أكثر صعوبة، لكن يُنصح بأداء التمارين المعتدلة للحفاظ على الصحة والحد من خطر الإصابة بأمراض تهدد الحياة مثل أمراض القلب.
​التصلب العصبي المتعدّد شبيه بضمور العضلات ​ ضمور العضلات هو مرض يصيب عضلات الهيكل العظمي التي تتحكم بحركة الجسم، أما التصلب العصبي المتعدّد فيؤدي إلى حدوث أضرار في الجهاز العصبي المركزي الذي يتحكم بالعضلات.​

التصلب العصبي المتعدد هو مرض مزمن لا يمكن التنبؤ به يصيب الجهاز العصبي المركزي ويعيق تدفق المعلومات في الدماغ والحبل الشوكي.

أصبح التصلب العصبي المتعدّد مرضًا قابلًا للعلاج، ورغم عدم توفر علاج شاف حاليًا، يمكن منع تراكم الآفات وتجنب حدوث العجز بواسطة الأدوية. يصيب التصلب العصبي المتعدّد نحو 2.3 ملايين شخص حول العالم، وما تزال هناك مجموعة من المفاهيم الخاطئة الشائعة حوله.​


​​​​​

​​

Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!