What is metabolic syndrome?

Metabolic syndrome is a collection of heart disease risk factors that increase your chance of developing heart disease, stroke, and diabetes. The condition is also known by other names including Syndrome X, insulin resistance syndrome, and dysmetabolic syndrome. According to a national health survey, more than one in five Americans has metabolic syndrome. The number of people with metabolic syndrome increases with age, affecting more than 40% of people in their 60s and 70s.

How is metabolic syndrome diagnosed?

You are diagnosed with metabolic syndrome if you have three or more of the following:

  • A waistline of 101cm or more for men and 88cm or more for women (measured across the belly).
  • A blood pressure of 130/85 mm Hg or higher or are taking blood pressure medications.
  • A triglyceride level above 320.95 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L).
  • A fasting blood glucose (sugar) level greater than 100.90 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L) or are taking glucose-lowering medications.
  • A high density lipoprotein level (HDL) less than 85.07 mg/dl (2.2 mmol/L) for men or under 108.27 mg/dl  (2.8 mmol/L) for women .

Who typically has metabolic syndrome?

  • People with central obesity (increased fat in the abdomen/waist).
  • People with diabetes mellitus or a strong family history of diabetes mellitus.
  • People with other clinical features of “insulin resistance” including skin changes of acanthosis nigricans (“darkened skin” on the back of the neck or underarms) or skin tags (usually on the neck).
  • Certain ethnic backgrounds are at a higher risk of developing metabolic syndrome.

As you grow older, your risk of developing metabolic syndrome increases.

What are the symptoms of metabolic syndrome?

Usually, there are no immediate physical symptoms. Medical problems associated with the metabolic syndrome develop over time. If you are unsure if you have metabolic syndrome, see your healthcare provider. He or she will be able to make the diagnosis by obtaining the necessary tests, including blood pressure, lipid profile (triglycerides and HDL), and blood glucose.

What causes metabolic syndrome?

The exact cause of metabolic syndrome is not known. Many features of the metabolic syndrome are associated with “insulin resistance.” Insulin resistance means that the body does not use insulin efficiently to lower glucose and triglyceride levels. Insulin resistance is a combination of genetic and lifestyle factors. Lifestyle factors include diet, activity and perhaps interrupted sleep patterns (such as sleep apnea).

If I have metabolic syndrome, what health problems might develop?

Consistently high levels of insulin and glucose are linked to many harmful changes to the body, including:

  • Damage to the lining of coronary and other arteries, a key step toward the development of heart disease or stroke.
  • Changes in the kidneys’ ability to remove salt, leading to high blood pressure, heart disease and stroke.
  • An increase in triglyceride levels, resulting in an increased risk of developing cardiovascular disease.
  • An increased risk of blood clot formation, which can block arteries and cause heart attacks and strokes.
  • A slowing of insulin production, which can signal the start of type 2 diabetes, a disease that is in itself associated with an increased risk for a heart attack or stroke. Uncontrolled diabetes is also associated with complications of the eyes, nerves, and kidneys.

How do I prevent or reverse metabolic syndrome?

Since physical inactivity and excess weight are the main underlying contributors to the development of metabolic syndrome, getting more exercise and losing weight can help reduce or prevent the complications associated with this condition. Your doctor may also prescribe medications to manage some of your underlying problems. Some of the ways you can reduce your risk:

  • Lose weight: Moderate weight loss, in the range of 5% to 10% of body weight, can help restore your body’s ability to recognize insulin and greatly reduce the chance that the syndrome will evolve into a more serious illness. This can be done via diet, exercise, or even with help from certain weight-loss medications if recommended by your doctor.
  • Exercise: Increased activity alone can improve your insulin levels. Aerobic exercise such as a brisk 30-minute daily walk can result in a weight loss, improved blood pressure, improved cholesterol levels and a reduced risk of developing diabetes. Most healthcare providers recommend 150 minutes of aerobic exercise each week. Exercise may reduce the risk for heart disease even without accompanying weight loss.
  • Consider dietary changes: Maintain a diet that keeps carbohydrates to no more than 50% of total calories. Eat foods defined as complex carbohydrates, such as whole grain bread (instead of white), brown rice (instead of white), and sugars that are unrefined (instead of refined; for example cookies, crackers). Increase your fiber consumption by eating legumes (for example, beans), whole grains, fruits and vegetables. Reduce your intake of red meats and poultry. Thirty percent of your daily calories should come from fat. Consume healthy fats such as those in canola oil, olive oil, flaxseed oil and nuts.
​​​​​​​​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

​ما هي متلازمة الأيض الغذائي؟

متلازمة الأيض (الاستقلاب) الغذائي هي مجموعة من عوامل الخطر التي من شأنها زيادة احتمالات الإصابة بأمراض القلب والسكّري والسكتة الدماغية، وتُعرفُ أيضًا بأسماء أخرى منها متلازمة إكس ومتلازمة مقاومة الأنسولين ومتلازمة عُسر الاستقلاب الغذائي. ووفقًا لنتائج آخر مسحٍ صحي، تزداد نسبة الإصابة بمتلازمة الأيض الغذائي مع التقدم في السن، وتصل إلى أكثر من 40 في المائة بين الأفراد في العقدين السادس والسابع من العمر.​​​

كيف يمكن تشخيص متلازمة الأيض الغذائي؟

يتم تشخيص إصابة الفرد بمتلازمة الأيض الغذائي إذا انطبقت عليه ثلاث أو أكثر من الحالات التالية​:​

  • إذا بلغ محيط الخصر 101 سم أو أكثر عند الرجل و 88 سم أو أكثر عند المرأة.​
  • إذا كان مُعدّل ضغط دم​ 130\85 ملمتر زئبقي أو أكثر، أو إذا كان الفرد يأخذ أدوية لعلاج ارتفاع ضغط الدم.​
  • إذا كان مستوى ثلاثي الغليسيريد (الدهون الثلاثية) في الدم أعلى من 320.95 ملغ/دل​ (8.3 مليمول/لتر).
  • إذا بلغ مستوى السكر في الدم خلال الصيام أكثر من 100.90 ملغ/دل (5.6 مليمول/لتر) أو إذا كان الفرد يأخذ أدوية لخفض مستوى السكر في الدم.​
  • إذا انخفض مستوى البروتين الدهني عالي الكثافة (الكوليسترول الصحي) عن 85.07 ملغ/دل (2.2 مليمول/ لتر) لدى الرجال و 108.27​ ملغ/دل (2.8 مليمول/ لتر) لدى النساء.​

من هم الأفراد الذين يعانون عادة من متلازمة الأيض الغذائي؟​​

  • الأفراد الذين يعانون من البدانة في المنطقة الوسطى من الجسم (تراكم الدهون في منطقة البطن والخصر).​
  • الأفراد الذين يعانون من السكّري أو الذين ينحدرون من عائلات لها تاريخ مع هذا المرض.​
  • الأفراد الذين لديهم مؤشرات سريريّة أخرى متعلّقة بأعراض مقاومة الجسم لهرمون الأنسولين مثل الشواك الأسود (بُقع داكنة خلف​ الرقبة أو تحت الإبط) أو الزوائد الجلدية التي تظهر عادة على الرقبة.​
  • الأفراد المنحدرون من الخلفيات العرقية الأكثر عرضة للإصابة بمتلازمة الأيض.​

فضلًا عن ذلك، كلما تقدَّم الفرد في العمر، زادت احتمالات إصابته بمتلازمة الأيض الغذائي.​

ما أعراض الإصابة بمتلازمة الأيض الغذائي؟

لا تظهر عادة أي أعراض جسدية مباشرة، بل تظهر المشاكل الطبية الناجمة عن الإصابة بمتلازمة الأيض الغذائي وتتفاقم مع مرور الوقت. فإذا كان الفرد غير مُتأكّد من إصابته بهذا المرض، عليه مُراجعة مقدم الرعاية الصحية لإجراء الفحوصات التشخيصية والتحليلات المخبرية اللازمة للتحقق من ضغط الدم ومستوى السكر والدهون في الدم كالدهون الثلاثية والكوليسترول المفيد.​

ما أسباب الإصابة بمتلازمة الأيض الغذائي؟

ما زال السبب الحقيقي لهذا المرض غير معروف، إلّا أنَّ العديد من سمات متلازمة الأيض الغذائي لها صلة بحالة تُعرف بمقاومة الأنسولين، وهي تعني أن الجسم لا يستخدم هرمون الأنسولين بكفاءة لتخفيض مستويات السكر والدهون الثلاثية في الدم. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن ​مقاومة الأنسولين تنجم عن مجموعة عوامل وراثية بالإضافة إلى نمط الحياة اليومي، أي نوعية الطعام والنشاط والنوم المتقطع بسبب انقطاع التنفّس أو توقفه أثناء النوم.

ما هي المشاكل الصّحية التي قد تظهر لدى المصاب بمتلازمة الأيض الغذائي؟

ترتبط مستويات الأنسولين والسكر المرتفعة بالدم بالعديد من التغيّرات الضارة التي تطرأ على جسم الفرد، ومنها:​

  • تلف بطانة الشرايين التاجية وغيرها من الشرايين الذي يؤدي إلى تطور أمراض القلب والسكتة الدماغية.​
  • التغييرات التي تطرأ على قدرة الكليتين على التخلّص من الأملاح، حيث يؤدي بقاء الأملاح إلى ارتفاع ضغط الدم، وبالتالي إلى الإصابة​ بأمراض القلب والسكتة الدماغية.​
  • ارتفاع مستويات الدهون الثلاثية في الدم، الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى زيادة مخاطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية.​
  • زيادة خطورة تكوّن جلطات الدم التي يمكن أن تسدّ الشرايين وتعيق تدفّق الدم مما يؤدي إلى الإصابة بالنوبة القلبية والسكتة الدماغية.​
  • تباطؤ إنتاج هرمون الأنسولين، الأمر الذي يُنذِر ببداية الإصابة بالسكّري من النوع الثاني الذي يزيد بدوره من خطورة الإصابة بالنوبة​ القلبية أو السكتة الدماغية. كما يؤدي عدم السيطرة على مرض السكّري إلى مضاعفات تصيب العينين والأعصاب والكليتين.​

كيف يمكن الوقاية من متلازمة الأيض الغذائي أو الحد من حدوثها؟

يعد انخفاض النشاط البدني وزيادة الوزن من المُسبّبات الرئيسية لمتلازمة الأيض الغذائي، ولهذا من الطبيعي أن تؤدي ممارسة التمارين الرياضية وتخفيف الوزن إلى الحد من مضاعفات هذا المرض، كما يمكن أن يلجأ الطبيب إلى وصف أدوية معيّنة لعلاج بعض المشاكل ذات الصلة. وفيما يلي بعض الوسائل التي من شأنها الحد من خطر الإصابة بهذه المتلازمة:​​​

  • تخفيف الوزن: يمكن لتخفيف الوزن بشكل معتدل، وبمعدّل يتراوح بين​ 5-10 في المائة من إجمالي وزن الفرد، أن يساعد الجسم في​ استرجاع قدرته على تقبّل الأنسولين، الأمر الذي يقلل كثيرًا من احتمالات تطور متلازمة الأيض الغذائي وتحوّلها إلى مرض أكثر خطورة.​ ويمكن تحقيق هذا الهدف باتّباع حمية غذائية مناسبة وممارسة التمارين البدنية، أو حتى الاستعانة بأدوية معيّنة لتخفيف الوزن حسب​ إرشادات الطبيب.​
  • ممارسة التمارين الرياضية: يمكن أن تساهم زيادة النشاط البدني في تحسين مستويات الأنسولين. فقد تفيد تمارين الأيروبيك،​ كالمشي السريع لمدة 30 دقيقة يوميًا، في التخلّص من الوزن الزائد، فتحسن بالتالي مُستويات ضغط الدم والكوليسترول وتقلل من​ خطر الإصابة بالسكّري. وينصح معظم مقدمي الرعاية الصحية بممارسة​ 150 دقيقة من تمارين الأيروبيك أسبوعيًا، فقد تساهم هذه​ التمارين لوحدها في الحد من خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب حتى وإن لم يصاحبها تخفيفًا للوزن.​
  • تغيير النظام الغذائي: على المريض اتباع نظام غذائي لا تزيد فيه نسبة الكربوهيدرات عن 50 في المائة، وتناول الأغذية الغنية بما​ يُعرف بالكربوهيدرات المُركّبة _ مثل الخبز المصنوع من الحبوب الكاملة بدلًا من الخبز الأبيض، والرز الأسمر بدلًا من الأبيض، والأغذية​ المُصنّعة من السكر غير المكرر بدلًا من السكر المكرر الذي يُستخدم في البسكويت والمعجّنات. كما يجب على المريض تقليل استهلاكه​ من اللحوم الحمراء ولحوم الدواجن، والإكثار من تناول الأطعمة الغنية بالألياف كالبقوليات والحبوب الكاملة والفواكه والخضراوات. ولا​ ينبغي أن تكون المواد الدهنية مصدرًا لأكثر من 30 في المائة فقط من مجموع السعرات اليومية التي يحصل عليها الجسم، مع الحرص​ على استهلاك الدهون الصحية، كتلك الموجودة في زيت الكانولا وزيت الزيتون وزيت بذور الكتّان والمُكسّرات.
​​​