What are heart palpitations?

Heart palpitations come on quickly and make it feel like your heart is pounding or racing. They may feel like you have exercised or they may feel like a flutter, a skipped or extra beat, or a heartbeat that simply does not feel normal. You may feel palpitations in your chest, throat or neck.

Palpitations can happen at any time, even if you are resting or doing normal daily activities. Although they may be startling, palpitations may or may not be related to an abnormal heart rate and are often not serious or harmful.

What causes heart palpitations?

Heart palpitations may be caused by:

  • Emotions, such as anxiety, stress, fear and panic
  • Exercise
  • Pregnancy
  • Caffeine found in coffee, teas, chocolate, colas, some sports drinks and foods
  • Medical conditions such as an overactive thyroid, low blood sugar, low potassium level, low oxygen level or low carbon dioxide level in the blood, fever, anemia, dehydration, loss of blood and shock
  • Medications such as asthma inhalers and decongestants, beta blockers (taken for high blood pressure or heart disease), thyroid and antiarrhythmic medications. Over-the-counter medications, that act as stimulants, such as cough and cold medicines, can also cause palpitations, as can some herbal and nutritional supplements
  • Illegal street drugs such as cocaine and amphetamines (speed)
  • Nicotine found in tobacco products
  • Symptoms of palpitations are more likely to be related to an abnormal heart rhythm if you have:
    • Significant risk factors for heart disease
    • Heart disease
    • Heart rhythm problems (irregular/abnormal heartbeat or arrhythmia)​
    • Abnormal heart valve
  • Are palpitations a symptom of a more serious health problem?

Palpitations may be a sign of a more serious health problem if you also feel:

  • Dizzy
  • Confused
  • Light-headed
  • Have trouble breathing
  • Pass out when you have palpitations

Call your doctor right away if you have these symptoms or if you also have pain, pressure, or tightness in your chest, neck, jaw, arms, or upper back; shortness of breath; unusual sweating; or if you have symptoms that are new or become worse.

How are palpitations diagnosed?

It may be difficult for your doctor to figure out the cause of your palpitations, especially if you don’t have palpitations during your visit. Sometimes, the cause is not known.

Keep track of your heart palpitations. Note when they happen, how long they last, how you feel and what you are doing when they start. Share this information with your doctor.

To help your doctor understand the cause of your symptoms, he or she will review your medical history, symptoms, diet, and medications and herbal products you take. Your doctor will also listen to your heart and lungs.

You may need tests, such as blood and urine tests, electrocardiogram (ECG/EKG), stress test, chest X-ray and echocardiogram (heart ultrasound). Some patients need to wear a monitor to record their heartbeat for an extended period of time. If your doctor thinks you may have a heart problem, you may have more invasive tests, such as an electrophysiology study or cardiac catheterization. Your doctor may refer you to an electrophysiologist, who specializes in abnormal heart rhythms.

What treatments are available for patients with heart palpitations?

You may not need any treatment for your palpitations. If the palpitations are related to certain foods or activities, you should avoid those triggers. The type of treatment that is best is based on the cause of the palpitations. If your doctor determines that you have heart disease or an abnormal heart rhythm, you may need medication, an invasive treatment, surgery or a device to correct the problem. It is important to keep all follow-up appointments with your doctor.

If you notice a sudden increase or change in the palpitations, call your doctor.

What can I do to prevent palpitations?

You can help prevent heart palpitations by taking the following steps:

  • Decrease your stress level (learn biofeedback, deep breathing and/or relaxation exercises such as yoga, tai chi or guided imagery)
  • Avoid or limit the amount of alcohol you drink
  • Avoid or limit caffeinated beverages
  • Do not smoke or use tobacco products
  • Exercise on a regular basis (Ask your doctor about the best exercise program for you)
  • Avoid foods and activities that trigger palpitations
  • Avoid certain medications and supplements that act as stimulants
  • Make sure your blood pressure and cholesterol are well-controlled
  • Try not to pay attention to your heart palpitations once any serious causes have been ruled out

​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

ما هو خفقان القلب؟

يعرف خفقان القلب على أنه شعور مفاجئ بتسارع نبضات القلب، إذ يشعر الشخص وكأن ضربات قلبه تخفق بسرعة وقوة غير معهودين كما لو كان يُمارس الرياضة، أو يشعُر بارتجاف قلبه أو نقص أو زيادة ضربات القلب عن المعتاد، أو أن نبضات قلبه لم تعُد طبيعية. وقد يشعر الشخص بخفقان قلبه على مستوى الصدر أو الحلق أو الرقبة (العنق).

ويمكن أن يحدُث خفقان القلب في أي وقتٍ كان، حتى وِإن كان الشخص جالسًا أو يمارس نشاطاته اليومية المعتادة. ورغم أنَّ خفقان القلب يثير القلق والهلع إلا أنه ليس بالضرورة مرتبط بحالة غير طبيعية أو مشكلة قلبية، بل أنه في معظم الحالات لا يُشكّل خطرًا كبيرًا ولا يُلحق المريض بالأذى.

ما هي أسباب خفقان القلب؟

قد يحدث خفقان القلب بسبب إحدى الحالات التالية:

  • الانفعالات النفسية كالقلق الشديد والضغوط النفسية أو الخوف والهلع.
  • ممارسة الرياضة.
  • الحمل في حال المرأة.
  • الكافيين في القهوة والشاي والشكولاتة ومشروبات الكولا وبعض المأكولات وبعض السوائل التي يشربها الأشخاص الرياضيين.
  • بعض الحالات المرضية مثل فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية وهبوط السكر في الدم وانخفاض مستوى البوتاسيوم وانخفاض مستوى الأوكسجين أو انخفاض مستوى ثاني أوكسيد الكاربون في الدم، أو بسبب الحُمّى أو فقر الدم أو الجفاف أو نزف الدم أو الصدمة.
  • أدوية معينة مثل البخّاخ في حال كان المريض يعاني من الربو أو أدوية قشع الاحتقان أو مثبطات بيتا لمعالجة ارتفاع ضغط الدم أو أمراض القلب، أو أدوية الغُدة الدرقية والأدوية علاج اختلال نُظُم القلب، بالإضافة إلى الأدوية التي تُتاح دون وصفة طبيّة والتي تعمل كمُحفّزات مثل أدوية السُعال ونزلات البرد أو مكملات التغذية أو المكملات العشبية، إذ قد تُسبب أيضًا خفقان القلب.
  • العقاقير محظورة التداول أو المخدرات مثل الكوكايين وآمفيتامينز.
  • مادة النيكوتين في تبوغ التدخين
  • من المرجح أن ترتبط أعراض خفقان القلب باختلال نُظم القلب إذا كان الفرد يعاني من إحدى الحالات التالية:

    • لديه عوامل خطورة رئيسية تجعله عُرضة للإصابة بأمراض القلب.
    • يعاني من أمراض القلب أصلًا.
    • يعاني من مشاكل نُظم القلب، والتي تُعرفُ أيضًا بعدم انتظام ضربات القلب أو اختلال نُظم القلب.
    • يعاني من اعتلال صمّامات القلب.

هل يُعتَبر خفقان القلب مؤشّرًا إلى مشاكل صحية أكثر خطورة؟

قد تكون هنالك صلة بين خفقان القلب ومشكلة صحية خطيرة أخرى في حال شعور المريض بالأعراض التالية:

  • الشعور بالدوار.
  • التشوش الذهني.
  • الشعور بالدوخة.
  • الشعور بصعوبة في التنفّس.
  • فقدان الوعي أثناء حدوث خفقان القلب.

وعلى المريض الاتصال بعيادة الطبيب على الفور في حال ظهرت لديه هذه الأعراض، أو إذا كان يشعر أيضًا بألم وضغط وشدّ في الصدر أو في الرقبة أو في الفك أو في الذراعين أو في منطقة أعلى الظهر.

كيفَ يتم تشخيص خفقان القلب؟

قد يصعب على الطبيب تحديد الأسباب التي تؤدي إلى حدوث خفقان القلب لدى المريض خاصةً في حال غياب الخفقان خلال مراجعة عيادة الطبيب، وفي بعض الحالات لا يُمكن معرفة السبب الحقيقي وراء خفقان القلب. وعلى المريض أن يُسجل جميع المعلومات المتعلقة بخفقان القلب لديه كتسجيل وقت بدء الخفقان ومدته وكيف يشعر المريض في هذه الأثناء وما هي الأنشطة التي كان يمارسها عند بدء خفقان القلب، وعليه أن يُطلع الطبيب على هذه المعلومات.

يعمد الطبيب إلى استعراض التاريخ الصحي للمريض ويسئله عن الأعراض والنظام الغذائي والأدوية التي يأخذها ومنتجات الأعشاب التي يتناولها، حيث تفيد هذه المعلومات في فهم أسباب ظهور الأعراض في المقام الأول، ثمَّ يستمع الطبيب إلى قلب المريض ورئتيه.

وقد يكون من الضروري إجراء بعض الاختبارات مثل فحوص تحليل الدم والبول والتخطيط الكهربي للقلب واختبار إجهاد القلب وتصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية وتصوير الصدى الراجع من القلب الذي يسمى أيضًا بسونار القلب. ويكون من الضروري لبعض المرضى تثبيت جهاز مراقبة يعمل على تسجيل ضربات القلب لفترة طويلة من الزمن. وفي حال كان الطبيب يشتبه بأن المريض يعاني من مشكلة في القلب قد يوصي باجراء الكثير من الاختبارات الجراحية مثل دراسة الفسلجة الكهربية للقلب أو قسطرة القلب. وقد يُحيل الطبيب المريض إلى طبيب الفسلجة الكهربية كونه مختص في مجال اختلال نظم القلب.

ما هي الطرق العلاجية المتوفرة للمريض الذي يعاني من خفقان القلب؟

قد لا يحتاج المريض إلى أي معالجة، فإذا كان خفقان القلب مرتبطًا بأطعمة أو أنشطة معينة تُثير الخفقان على المريض أن يتجنبها. ويعتمد اختيار الطريقة العلاجية الأفضل على أسباب خفقان القلب، فِإذا حدد الطبيب أن المريض يعاني من مرض في القلب أو اختلال نظم القلب قد يكون من اللازم عليه أخذ الأدوية، أو أن يخضع لمعالجة جراحية أو عملية جراحية، أو يتم تثبيت جهاز لديه لغرض إصلاح المشكلة. ومن المهم الالتزام بجميع مواعيد المراجعات الصحية مع الطبيب.

وِإذا لاحظ المريض تغيير في أو زيادة حدوث خفقان القلب لديه عليه الاتصال بالطبيب.

كيف يُمكن الوقاية من خفقان القلب؟

يمكن للمريض وقاية نفسه من خفقان القلب عن طريق أخذ الخطوات التالية بعين الاعتبار:

  • التخفيف من الإجهاد العصبي وتعلُّم أساليب المُعالجة الذاتية وممارسة أسلوب التنفّس بعُمق وتمارين الاسترخاء كاليوغا والتايّ شي والتأمّل بالاسترشاد الصوري.
  • تقليل تناول المشروبات الكحولية أو تجنبها تمامًا.
  • الحد من أو تجنب المشروبات التي تحتوي على الكافيين.
  • عدم التدخين أو استعمال منتجات التبغ.
  • ممارسة التمارين الرياضية بانتظام والاستفسار من الطبيب حول أفضل التمارين المناسبة له.
  • تجنّب الأطعمة والنشاطات التي تُثير خفقان القلب.
  • تجنّب بعض الأدوية والمكملات التي تكون بمثابة محفّزات.
  • الحرص على ضبط مُستويات ضغط الدم والكوليسترول في الدم.
  • عدم الاكتراث بحدوث خفقان القلب بعدما يستبعد الطبيب ارتباطه بمشاكل صحية خطيرة أخرى.

​​​