Diverticular disease consists of diverticulosis and diverticulitis. Diverticulosis is the formation of numerous tiny pockets, or diverticula, in the lining of the bowel. Diverticula, which can range from pea-size to much larger, are formed by increased pressure on weakened spots of the intestinal walls by gas, waste, or liquid. Diverticula can form while straining during a bowel movement, such as with constipation. They are most common in the lower portion of the large intestine (called the sigmoid colon).

Complications affect about 20% of people with diverticulosis. One of these complications is rectal bleeding, also called diverticular bleeding. Diverticular bleeding occurs when there is chronic (long-term) injury to the small blood vessels near the diverticula.

The other complication is diverticulitis. Diverticulitis occurs when there is inflammation (swelling) and infection in one or more diverticula. This usually happens when these outpouchings become blocked with waste, allowing bacteria to build up and causing infection.

Diverticulosis is very common in Western populations and occurs in 10% of people over age 40 and in 50% of people over age 60. The rate of diverticulosis increases with age, and it affects almost everyone over age 80.

What are the symptoms of diverticulosis?

Usually diverticulosis does not cause any troublesome symptoms. Some people may feel tenderness over the affected area or abdominal cramps.

How is diverticulosis diagnosed?

Because most people with diverticulosis do not have any symptoms, it is usually found when the patient is having tests that are being done for an unrelated reason.

How is diverticulosis treated?

People who have diverticulosis without symptoms or complications do not need treatment, but it is important to adopt a high-fiber diet. Laxatives should not be used to treat diverticulosis. The patient should also avoid enemas, or use them infrequently.

How can diverticulosis be prevented?

Good bowel hygiene is most important to prevent diverticular disease or reduce the complications. This means:

  • Having regular bowel movements and avoiding constipation and straining
  • Eating appropriate amounts of the right types of fiber
  • Drinking plenty of water
  • Exercising regularly

The American Dietetic Association recommends 20 to 35 grams of fiber a day. Every person, regardless of whether they have diverticula, should try to consume this much fiber every day. Fiber is the part of plant foods that cannot be digested. High-fiber foods include:

  • Whole grain breads, cereals, and crackers
  • Berries and other fruit
  • Vegetables, such as broccoli, cabbage, spinach, carrots, asparagus, squash, and beans
  • Brown rice
  • Bran products
  • Cooked dried peas and beans, among other foods

A high-fiber diet helps prevent constipation and provides a number of other health benefits, including lower blood pressure, reduced blood cholesterol, improved blood sugar, and a reduced risk of developing certain intestinal disorders.

Other ways to prevent diverticular disease include drinking eight 236ml (8-ounce) glasses of water a day, watching for changes in bowel movements (from constipation to diarrhea), and getting enough rest and sleep.

What are the symptoms of diverticulitis?

The symptoms of diverticulitis include painful cramps or tenderness in the lower abdomen, and chills or fever.

Is diverticulitis diagnosed?

If you are experiencing the symptoms of diverticulitis it is important to see your doctor for the correct diagnosis. Some symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome and stomach ulcers may be similar to those of diverticular disease.

Your doctor will ask you questions about your medical history (such as your bowel habits, symptoms, pain, diet, and current medications) and perform a physical exam.

The doctor may order one or more tests to help diagnose your condition. These tests may include X-rays, CT scanning, ultrasound testing, a sigmoidoscopy, colonoscopy, barium enema, and blood tests to look for signs of infection or to see how much bleeding there is.

For people who have rapid, heavy rectal bleeding, the doctor may perform a procedure called angiography to learn where the bleeding is coming from. During this test, doctors inject the patient’s arteries with a harmless dye that will allow the doctor to view the source of the bleeding.

What complications are associated with diverticulitis?

Serious complications can occur as a result of diverticulitis. Most come from the development of a tear or perforation (hole) of the intestinal wall. If this happens, intestinal waste material can leak out of the intestines and into the surrounding abdominal cavity, which can cause the following problems:

  • Peritonitis (a painful infection of the abdominal cavity)
  • Abscesses (“walled off” infections in the abdomen)
  • Obstruction (blockages of the intestine)

How is diverticulitis treated?

Diverticulitis sometimes gets better without medical treatment, but in many cases, the patient will need antibiotics. Sometimes the infection is so severe that the patient has to be admitted to the hospital for intravenous antibiotics and other supportive care. In rare cases, a surgeon may need to take out the affected part of the bowel.

During the active stage of the infection, many experts recommended eating a low-fiber diet and drinking plenty of water. A month or so after the infection gets better, fiber should be back on the menu.

Emergency treatment, including surgery, may be needed when the antibiotics do not work, and in cases of a large abscess, perforation, peritonitis, or continued rectal bleeding.

If there is an abscess, the doctor may need to drain the fluid by inserting a needle into the infected area. Sometimes surgery is needed to clean the abscess and remove part of the colon.

If the infection spreads into the abdominal cavity (peritonitis), surgery is needed to clean the cavity and remove the damaged part of the colon. Infection can lead to scarring of the colon, and the scar tissue may cause a partial or complete blockage. A complete blockage requires surgery, although a partial blockage does not.

​​​​​​​​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

​يشمل مرض الرتوج حالتي تكوّن الرتوج في القولون والتهاب الرتوج، ويشير تكوّن الرتوج إلى تراكم أعداد كبيرة من الجيوب الصغيرة، تُسمى الرتوج، على بطانة الأمعاء. وتتباين هذه الجيوب أو الرتوج في أحجامها بين حجم حبة البازلاء وأحجام أكبر من ذلك بكثير. وتنشأ هذه الجيوب نتيجة الضغط المتزايد الذي تُسببه الغازات والفضلات أو السوائل على المناطق الضعيفة في جدران الأمعاء. وقد تتكوّن هذه الجيوب بسبب الضغط والإجهاد أثناء عملية التغوّط، كما يحدُث في حالة الإمساك. ويكثُر تكوّن الرتوج في الجُزء السُفلي من الأمعاء الغليظة، الذي يُسمّى أيضاً القولون السيني.

ويمكن أن تحدث بعض المضاعفات لدى ما يقارب 20 في المائة من الأفراد المصابين بمرض الرتوج. ومن بين تلك المضاعفات النزيف في منطقة المستقيم، الذي يُعرف بالنزيف الرتجي. أما الشكل الآخر للمضاعفات فهو حدوث التهاب الرتوج.

ويحدث النزيف الرتجي عند تعرض أوعية الدم الصغيرة المجاورة للجيوب إلى إصابة مزمنة. أما التهاب الرتوج، فيحدث نتيجة وجود تأرج والتهاب في واحدٍ أو أكثر من الجيوب الرتجية. وعادةً ما تنجم هذه الحالة المرضية بسبب تراكم الفضلات بداخل التجيبات الخارجية، الأمر الذي يؤدّي إلى تراكم البكتيريا المسببة للالتهابات.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن حالة تكوّن مرض الرتوج شائعة في المجتمعات الغربية، حيث يصيب قرابة 10 في المائة ممن تتجاوز أعمارهم ال40 سنة، في حين يصاب بها 50 في المائة من الأفراد فوق سن ال60. وتزداد نسبة الإصابة بها مع تقدّم الفرد في العمر، إذ تكادُ تُصيب جميع الأفراد ممّن تجاوزت أعمارهم ال80 سنة.​​

ما هي أعراض مرض الرتوج؟

لا يسبب مرض الرتوج عادة أعراضاً مزعجة، فقد يشعر بعض المصابين بوجع خفيف في منطقة الإصابة، أو بمغصٍ في البطن.

كيف يتم تشخيص مرض الرتوج؟

نظراً لعدم ظهور أعراض لدى معظم المصابين بالمرض، يتم في العادة الكشف عن المرض عن طريق اختبارات طبية تُجرى لأسباب​ أخرى ليست لها علاقة بمرض الرتوج نفسه.

كيف تتم معالجة مرض الرتوج؟

لا يحتاج المصابون بمرض الرتوج الذين لا يعانون من أية أعراض أو مضاعفات مرضيّة إلى تلقّي أي علاج، إلّا أنه من الضروري عليهم اتباع نظام غذائي غني بالألياف. فضلاً عن ذلك، ينبغي عدم أخذ الأدوية والمستحضرات المُسهّلة كوسيلة لمعالجة تكوّن الرتوج، كما ينبغي على المريض أن يتجنّب استخدام الحُقن الشرجية أو استخدامها فقط عند الضرورة.

كيف يمكن الوقاية من الإصابة بمرض الرتوج؟

تُعتَبر المحافظة على نظافة الأمعاء والعناية بصحتها أهم وسائل الوقاية من مرض الرتوج والتخفيف من مضاعفاته. وهذا يعني أن على الفرد أن:​

  • يحافظ على انتظام التغوط ويتجنّب حالات الإمساك أو الضغط والإجهاد أثناء التغوّط
  • تناول كميات كافية من الأنواع المناسبة من الألياف​
  • شرب الماء بكميات كبيرة​
  • ممارسة الرياضة بشكل منتظم​

وتوصي جمعية السكّري الأمريكية بتناول ما بين​ 20-35 غراماً من الألياف يومياً. وهكذا يحتاج كل إنسان، سواء أكان مُصاباً بمرض الرتوج أم​ لا، أن يستهلك يومياً هذا القدر من الألياف. والألياف هي الأجزاء غير القابلة للهضم من الأغذية النباتية، وتكثُر في الأطعمة التالية:​​

  • أنواع الخُبز المُعد من الحبوب الكامِلة وحبيات الإفطار ورقائق البسكويت​
  • التوت وغيره من الفواكه​
  • الخُضروات مثل القرنبيط​ الأخضر والملفوف والسبانخ والجزر ونبات الهليون والكوسا والفاصوليا​
  • الرُز الأسمر​
  • المُنتجات المصنوعة من النخالة​
  • البازلاء والفاصولياء المجففتان والمطبوختان وأطعمة أخرى​

يساعد اتباع نظام غذائي غنيّ بالألياف على الحد من الإمساك وغير ذلك من الفوائد الصحية، مثل خفض ضغط الدم، والتقليل من نسبة الكوليسترول، وتحسين نسبة السكر في الدم، وكذلك التقليل من مخاطر الإصابة بالاضطرابات المعوية.

وتتضمن الوسائل الأخرى للوقاية من الإصابة بمرض الرتوج شرب ثمانية كؤوس من الماء يومياً سعة كل كأس تُقارب ال 236.58 مل (8 اونصة)، ومراقبة التغييرات التي تحدث في عملية التغوّط (أي الانتباه إلى احتمال التحول من الإمساك إلى الإسهال) والحصول على ما يكفي من الراحة والنوم.​

ما هي أعراض الإصابة بالتهابات الرتوج؟

تشمل أعراض الإصابة بالتهاب الرتوج الشعور بتقلّصات مؤلمة في أسفل البطن مع وجع في المنطقة وكذلك الشعور بقشعريرة أو حُمّى.

كيف يتم تشخيص الإصابة بالتهاب الرتوج؟

إذا كان الفرد يعاني من أعراض التهاب الرتوج، من الضروري مراجعة الطبيب لإجراء التشخيص الصحيح، فقد تكون بعض أعراض متلازمة القولون المُتهيج أو قرحة المعدة مشابهة لأعراض داء الرتوج.

ويوجّه الطبيب بعض الأسئلة إلى المريض حول تاريخه الصحي، مثل أنماط التغوّط لديه والأعراض والآلام التي يعاني منها وطبيعة نظامه الغذائي والأدوية التي يأخذها، ويُجري بعد ذلك الفحوصات البدنية.

وللمساعدة في تشخيص حالة المريض بشكل دقيق، قد يطلب الطبيب إجراء واحد أو أكثر من الاختبارات التشخيصية مثل التصوير بالأشعة السينية والتصوير المقطعي المُحوسَب وبالموجات فوق الصوتية والتنظير السيني وتنظير القولون والحقنة الشرجية بمادة الباريوم واختبار عيّنة من الدم، للبحث عن أي علامات تدل على التهاب أو إصابة مرضيّة معينة، أو لتحديد درجة نزيف الدم لدى المريض.

أما إذا كان المريض يشكو من نزيف شرجي سريع وشديد في منطقة المستقيم، فقد يلجأ الطبيب إلى القيام بإجراء طبي يُدعى تصوير أوعية الدم، وذلك لتحديد مصدر النزف بشكلٍ دقيق. وخلال هذا الإجراء، يقوم الطبيب بحقن شرايين الدم بمادة صبغية غير مؤذية تساعد في الكشف عن مصدر النزيف وتحديده.​

ما هي مضاعفات التهاب الرتوج؟

قد تنجم بعض المضاعفات الخطيرة عن الالتهاب الرتجي، وأغلبها يُعزى إلى حدوث تمزّق أو ثقب في جدار الأمعاء. وعندما يحدث ذلك، يمكن لفضلات الطعام الموجودة في الأمعاء أن تتسرّب إلى خارجها فيتلوّث المحيط القريب من تجويف البطن مما يؤدّي إلى:​​

  • التهاب الصفاق (التهاب مؤلم يصيب تجويف البطن)
  • تشكّل الخرّاجات في البطن (التهابات في البطن نتيجة تجمع الخراجات)​​​
  • انسداد الأمعاء​

كيف تتم معالجة التهاب الرتوج؟

يزول الالتهاب الرتجي في بعض الأحيان دون علاج طبي، لكنه يتطلّب استخدام مضادات حيوية في الكثير من الحالات. أما في حالات أخرى حيث تكون الإصابة شديدة للغاية، من الضروري دخول المريض إلى المستشفى لتلقي المضادات الحيوية عبر الوريد وإجراءات العناية الطبية الأخرى. وفي حالات نادرة، قد يحتاج الطبيب الجرّاح إلى القيام بإجراء جراحي لإزالة الجزء المُصاب من الأمعاء.

وخلال المرحلة النشطة من الالتهاب، ينصح الكثير من الخبراء باتباع نظام غذائي فقير بالألياف وشرب الكثير من الماء، ثم العودة لتناول الألياف كالمعتاد بعد نحو شهر من زوال الالتهاب.

وقد تسترعي الحاجة اللجوء لعلاجات الطوارئ، ومنها العملية الجراحية، في حال عدم نجاح العلاج بالمضادات الحيوية، أو في حالة وجود خرّاج بحجم كبير، أو ثقوب في جدار الأمعاء، أو الإصابة بالتهاب الصفاق أو عند استمرار النزيف من المستقيم.

وفي حالة وجود الخراج من الضروري اللجوء إلى إبرة خاصة يدخلها الطبيب إلى منطقة الإصابة لتصريفه. وفي بعض الحالات لابُدّ من اللّجوء إلى العملية الجراحية لتنظيف مكان الخراج، وإزالة الجزء المصاب من القولون.

أما إذا انتقل الالتهاب إلى تجويف البطن، أي التهاب الصفاق، فيتم أيضاً اللجوء إلى الجراحة لتنظيف تجويف البطن واستئصال الجزء التالف من القولون. وقد تؤدي الالتهابات إلى تكوّن ندب في القولون، وقد تعمل أنسجة تلك النُدب على سد القولون جُزئياً أو كُلّياً. وفي حال حدوث انسداد كلّي، فإن الأمر يستدعي إجراء جراحة عاجلة، في حين لا يتطلّب الانسداد الجزئي ذلك.

​​