What is the CT scan?

Computed tomography, commonly known as a CT scan, uses X-rays and computers to produce images of the body. The patient must lie as still as possible as the table moves through the large, donut-shaped scanning device.

Before the test

Please be aware that correct preparation is very important for the test to be performed properly. Your doctor will talk with you about your history and do an exam. Talk to your doctor about:

  • If you are pregnant or breastfeeding.
  • Any allergy to CT contrast or Iodine.
  • If you are diabetic and/or taking the tablet Metformin.
  • If you are diabetic and/or taking the tablet Metformin.

On the day of your test

Please plan to arrive 15 minutes before your scheduled appointment.

  • If a contrast will be used you should fast for four hours immediately before your scan; however, continue taking your medicines as usual.
  • If you are instructed to drink a special solution (“oral contrast”) to prepare for your scan, you will receive the 1 liter solution and instructions from the technologist. This will be done over 30 minutes.
  • You might be asked to change into a hospital gown. You also might be asked to remove your watch or any jewelry, please do not bring valuables.
  • Allow one hour for your CT scan. Most scans take from 15 to 60 minutes.

During the test

  • The technologist will help you lie in the correct position on the examining table. The table will then automatically move into place for imaging. It is very important that you lie as still as possible during the entire procedure, as movement will blur the images. You might be asked to hold your breath briefly at intervals when the X-ray images are taken.
  • Depending on the type of scan you need, a contrast material might be injected intravenously (into your bloodstream). You may feel a light warm sensation in your body for several seconds and have a metallic taste in your mouth once you receive the dye. These symptoms are normal and should self-resolve after a few seconds.

After the test

  • Results are usually reported within 24 hours, and the full report is sent directly to your doctor. Please ensure you have a follow up appointment with your attending doctor to discuss the results.
  • If you received IV contrast dye you may receive special instructions regarding your medication. It is advised you increase your oral fluid intact for the remainder of the day, (6 to 8 glasses of water).
  • If you experience any issues after leaving the hospital please attend your nearest Emergency department.

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

ما هو الفحص بالأشعة المقطعية؟

يُجرى فحص التصوير بالأشعة المقطعية بالاستعانة بالأشعة السينية وأجهزة الكمبيوتر لأخذ صور للجسم، حيث يجب الاستلقاء بوضعية ثابتة دون حراك مع الحفاظ على الهدوء قدر الإمكان على طاولة الفحص أثناء تحريكها وإدخالها عبر جهاز الفحص الكبير دائري الشكل.

قبل إجراء الفحص

يُود التنويه إلى أن الاستعداد والتحضير المسبق بالشكل المناسب يعتبر أمراً مهماً للغاية لإجراء الفحص بشكل آمن. لهذا يقوم الطبيب قبل إجراء الفحص بمناقشة التاريخ الصحي والمعاينة والتأكد من الأمور التالية:

  • الحمل أو الرضاعة الطبيعية.
  • الحساسية من الصبغة الملونة المستخدمة في الفحص أو اليود.
  • الإصابة بالسكري والعلاج بأقراص ميتفورمين.
  • أي مشاكل معروفة في وظائف الكلى.

اليوم المقرر لإجراء الفحص

الرجاء الحرص على الحضور إلى المستشفى قبل 15 دقيقة من الموعد المحدد.

  • في حال استخدام الصبغة الملونة، فإنه يتوجب الصيام قبل 4 ساعات من الموعد المحدد لإجراء الفحص، مع مراعاة الاستمرار بأخذ الأدوية والعلاجات كالمعتاد.
  • في حال إعطاء تعليمات بشرب محلول خاص ("صبغة ملونة تؤخذ عن طريق الفم") استعداداً لإجراء الفحص، يقوم أخصائي الفحص بالتزويد بلتر من المحلول مرفقاً بتعليمات شربه، حيث لا تستغرق هذه التحضيرات أكثر من 30 دقيقة.
  • قد يُطلب تغيير الملابس برداء خاص بالمستشفى، إلى جانب إزالة ساعة اليد وأي اكسسوارات أو مجوهرات، لهذا يرجى الحرص على عدم إحضار أي متعلقات شخصية ثمينة.
  • يتم الانتهاء من إجراء فحص التصوير بالأشعة المقطعية في غضون ساعة واحدة، إذ تستغرق غالبية هذه الفحوصات من 15 إلى 60 دقيقة.

خلال إجراء الفحص

  • يقدم أخصائي الفحص المساعدة للاستلقاء على طاولة الفحص بالوضعية الصحيحة، ثم يتم تحريك الطاولة بصورة آلية تلقائية إلى الموضع المخصص للتصوير. يُود لفت الانتباه إلى ضرورة الحفاظ على الثبات والهدوء قدر الإمكان خلال الإجراء منذ البدء وحتى الانتهاء، وذلك نظراً إلى أن الحركة تنتج صوراً غير واضحة. وقد يُطلب حبس النفس لمدة وجيزة على فترات متقطعة عند أخذ الصور بالأشعة السينية.
  • وفقاً لنوع الفحص المطلوب، قد يتم حقن صبغة ملونة في الوريد )في مجرى الدم( يمكن أن ينجم عنها إحساس طفيف بالدفء في الجسم يستمر لعدة ثواني والإحساس بطعم معدني في الفم، وهي أعراض طبيعية سرعان ما تزول وتختفي في غضون بضع ثوانٍ.

بعد إجراء الفحص

  • تظهر النتائج في غضون 24 ساعة عادةً، ويتم إرسال تقرير النتائج إلى الطبيب مباشرةً. لهذا يرجى التأكد من حجز موعد للمراجعة مع الطبيب المعالج للاطلاع على النتائج ومناقشتها معه.
  • في حال استخدام صبغة ملونة في الفحص، فإنه قد يتم إعطاء تعليمات خاصة حول الأدوية والعلاجات. يُنصح بزيادة استهلاك السوائل لبقية اليوم ( 6 إلى 8 أكواب من الماء).
  • في حال مواجهة أي مشاكل صحية بعد مغادرة المستشفى، يرجى زيارة أقرب قسم طوارئ.