We recommend that patients with ulcerative colitis undergo a colonoscopy every one to three years. During these procedures, biopsy samples should be taken every 10 cm along the length of the colon; and if any of these samples reveals dysplasia, a total proctocolectomy should be considered.

Rationale

Persons with inflammatory bowel disease have a lifetime risk of colorectal cancer at least three times as high as in the general population. Moreover, they tend to develop colorectal cancer much earlier in their lives than do people with sporadic colon cancer. The longer the person has had inflammatory bowel disease and the more extensive it is, the greater the risk. However, proctitis poses no increase in risk for rectal cancer.

Frequency of Colonoscopies

Since the risk of dysplasia or cancer increases with the duration of ulcerative colitis, testing should be done more frequently as duration of disease increases. One method calls for testing every three years for the first 15 years of disease, every two years for the next 10 years, and every year thereafter. Such an approach provides for at least 20 examinations in 40 years of disease. Most of the evaluations would be performed in the later years when the risk is the highest.

A history of primary sclerosing cholangitis, a liver disease associated with ulcerative colitis, adds significantly to the already high risk of dysplasia and colorectal cancer in patients with ulcerative colitis. Therefore, at the same duration of disease, patients with primary sclerosing cholangitis should be tested more often, perhaps every year. For these patients, prophylactic colectomy may offer the best alternative in terms of life expectancy.

Biopsy Protocol

Because dysplasia can be present focally as well as diffusely, biopsies must be taken throughout the colon. The sensitivity of testing for detecting dysplasia is increased with a greater number of biopsies taken. At least 32 biopsies should be taken of flat mucosa and of raised lesions. 

Any biopsy that is positive for dysplasia poses an inordinately high risk of colorectal cancer; the risk of concurrent cancer has been reported to be as high as 19 percent in patients with low-grade dysplasia and 42 percent in patients with high-grade dysplasia. Therefore, a total proctocolectomy is usually recommended for all patients with low-grade dysplasia, high-grade dysplasia or cancers found at colonoscopy.

Research is ongoing to determine whether alternative markers of malignancy or improved visualization of the colon with chromoendoscopy, narrow band imaging, or autofluorescence can significantly improve the sensitivity of the present surveillance techniques to detect dysplasia.


​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

يُوصى المريض الذي يعاني من التهاب القولون التقرحي بإجراء فحص القولون بالمنظار مرة واحدة كل سنة وحتى ثلاث سنوات. وأثناء هذا الإجراء ينبغي إجراء خزعة لأخذ عينات من مواضع على امتداد القولون على أن تبعد عن بعضها البعض 10 سم، فإذا أظهرت أيٍ من هذه العينات خلل تنسجي ينبغي النظر في الاستئصال الكُلي للمستقيم والقولون.​

الأسباب

يكون الشخص الذين يعاني من مرض الأمعاء الالتهابي دومًا أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم بمعدل ثلاثة أضعاف من عامة الناس، فضلًا عن أنه يميل للإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم في وقتٍ مبكر في حياته مُقارنة مع الشخص الذي يصاب بسرطان القولون الفُرادي. وكلما طالت فترة إصابة الشخص بمرض الأمعاء الالتهابي وزاد انتشار المرض زاد خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم، إلا أن التهاب المستقيم بحد ذاته لا يزيد من خطر الإصابة بسرطان المستقيم.

وتيرة إجراء فحص القولون بالمنظار

بما أن مخاطر الإصابة بالخلل التنسجي أو السرطان تزداد مع طول مدة التهاب القولون التقرحي فإن ذلك يتطلب إجراء الفحوصات بصورةٍ متكررة. وهناك نهج يدعو إلى إجراء الفحص كل 3 سنوات خلال فترة ال 15 سنة الُأولى للمرض، ثُمَّ كل سنتين على مدى ال 10 سنوات التالية وبعد ذلك مرة واحدة في السنة. وهكذا يتضمن مثل هذا النهج إجراء ما لا يقل عن 20 فحصًا خلال 40 عامًا من عمر المرض. ويتم معظم التقييم في السنوات الأخيرة عندما يكون الخطر في أعلى مستوياته.

إذا كان المريض قد أصيب بالتهاب تصلب الأقنية الصفراوية الأوّلي الذي هو أحد أمراض الكبد الناجمة عن التهاب القولون التقرحي، فهذا يزيد إلى حدٍ كبير خطر الإصابة بالخلل التنسجي وسرطان القولون والمُستقيم الموجود أصلًا لدى مريض القولون التقرحي. لذا ينبغي زيادة الفحوصات التي تجرى للمريض الذي يُعاني من التهاب تصلب الأقنية الصفراوية الأوّلي في فترة المرض، كأن تُجرى كل عام. وبالنسبة لهذه الفئة من المرضى، قد يكون استئصال القولون الوقائي أفضل بديل من حيث متوسط العمر المتوقع.

الخزعة

يجب أخذ الخزعات من جميع أنحاء القولون ذلك لأن الخلل التنسجي يمكن أن يكون متمركزًا في موضعٍ واحد أو مُعمّمًا ومنتشرًا في عدة مواضع. وتزداد فعالية هذا الاختبار للكشف عن الخلل التنسجي مع زيادة عدد الخزعات المأخوذة، وينبغي أخذ ما لا يقل عن 32 خزعة من الغشاء المخاطي المسطح والمناطق غير الطبيعية البارزة.

وتُمثل أي خزعة تؤكد الإصابة بالخلل التنسُجي خطرًا كبيرًا للغاية يُنذر بالإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم. وقد تم توثيق خطر الإصابة المتزامنة بالسرطان بنسبة عالية تصل إلى 19 في المائة في المرضى الذين يعانون من الخلل التنسجي منخفض المستوى و 42 في المائة في المرضى الذين يعانون من الخلل التنسجي مرتفع المستوى. لذا يوصى عادة بالاستئصال الكلي للمستقيم والقولون لدى جميع المرضى الذين يعانون من الخلل التنسجي منخفض أو مرتفع المستوى أو من أنواع السرطان التي يكشف عنها أثناء فحص القولون.بالمنظار.

وما زال البحث العلمي مستمرًا لتحديد إمكانية تحسين فعالية ودقة تقنيات المُراقبة الحالية للكشف عن الخلل التنسجي من خلال الواسمات البديلة للسرطان أو تصوير القولون المتطور عن طريق المنظار الداخلي باستخدام صبغة أو التصوير بالحُزم الضيقة أو التصوير بالتألّق الذاتي.


​​