Chronic myofascial pain (CMP), also called myofascial pain syndrome, is a painful condition affecting the muscles and the sheath of the tissue - called the fascia - that surround the muscles. CMP can involve a single muscle or a group of muscles.

What are the symptoms of CMP?

The most notable feature of CMP is the presence of tender points that are tender to the touch and create a twitch response leading to pain. Trigger points are tender points that cause pain that can be felt in another area of the body, called referred pain.

CMP is often described along with fibromyalgia; however, they are different disorders. CMP is a neuromuscular disorder affecting the muscles and fascia directly. Fibromyalgia is believed to stem from a dysfunction of the chemical substances - such as neurotransmitters and hormones - that transmit information from tissue to tissue. Fibromyalgia can affect the body in many ways, often causing a general aching, while CMP is related to specific triggers points and is more localized.

Trigger points might be “active” or “latent.” An active trigger point is always sore and can prevent the full use of the muscle, leading to weakness and decreased range of motion. A latent trigger point does not cause pain during normal activities, but is tender when touched and can be activated when the muscle is strained, fatigued, or injured.

Other symptoms associated with CMP include a sensation of muscle weakness, tingling, and stiffness. The pain associated with CMP might also lead to problems sleeping.

What causes CMP?

No one is sure what causes CMP. Possible causes include mechanical factors — such as having one leg longer then the other  - poor posture, stress, and overuse of muscles. Exercising or performing work activities using poor techniques can also put excessive strain on muscles, leading to CMP. In addition, anxiety and depression can cause increased muscle tension, leading to significant myofascial pain. Trigger points might be activated by overwork, fatigue, direct trauma, and cold.

How common is CMP?

Pain originating in the muscles and fascia is very common. Nearly everyone at some point suffers from this type of pain, known as myalgia fascitis or myofascitis. CMP, however, involves pain that is chronic, or long lasting and is associated with specific trigger points.

CMP most often occurs in people between the ages of 30 and 60 years. It affects men and women equally.

How is CMP diagnosed?

Your health care provider usually begins with a thorough physical examination and medical history, including a review of symptoms. The provider will likely perform a detailed exam of the affected muscles, including strength and range of motion testing. He or she will rub the suspected trigger points to see if the muscles respond, or twitch, and cause pain in a predictable pattern or specific region.

Sometimes, blood tests will be performed to look for medical causes of muscle pain, such as vitamin D deficiency or hypothyroidism.

How is CMP treated?

Treatment options might include:

  • Physical therapy: A therapy program includes stretching, postural and strengthening exercises.
  • Medicine: Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), such as ibuprofen and naproxen, might be used to help reduce pain.
  • Massage therapy: Therapeutic massage can loosen tight muscles and relieve cramping or spasms.
  • Injections: This involves injecting a pain medicine (local anesthetic) directly into the trigger points.

It is also important to address any factors — such as poor posture, workplace ergonomics, or mechanical problems — that might be contributing to CMP pain.

What complications are associated with CMP?

In some cases, the pain of CMP can affect additional muscles. For example, a muscle can be stressed when another muscle is affected by CMP and is not functioning properly.

What is the outlook for people with CMP?

In general, the outlook is good. When properly diagnosed and treated, the pain associated with CMP often can be controlled.

Can CMP be prevented?

It might not be possible to prevent all episodes of CMP, but the following tips might help reduce their occurrence and hasten recovery:

  • Improve your posture
  • Reduce your body weight
  • Exercise regularly
  • Eat a healthy, well-balanced diet.
  • Learn stress-management techniques
  • Use proper techniques at work, and during exercise and sports

​​​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

​يُدعى الألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ المزمن أيضاً بمتلازمة الألم اللفافي العضلي، وهو حالة مؤلمة تؤثر على العضلات وغمد الأنسجة المحيطة بها الّذي يعرف باللّفافة العضليّة. وقد يصيب الألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ المزمن عضلة واحدة أو مجموعة عضلات.​​

ما هي أعراض الألم اللفافيّ العضليّ المزمن؟

من أكثر ما يميز الإصابة بالألم اللفافي العضلي المزمن وجود نقاط حساسة تؤدي عند لمسها إلى انتفاض العضلة ثُم الشّعور بألم. وتمثل نقاط التحفيز مواضع حسّاسة تسبب ألماً يُمكن الشّعور به في أجزاء أخرى من الجسم يُسمى الألم الرّجيع.

وغالباً ما يتمّ تصنيف الألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ المزمن مع متلازمة الألم اللّيفيّ العضليّ مع أنّهما نوعان مختلفان من الاضطرابات، حيث يعدّ الألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ لمزمن اضطراباً عصبيّاً عضليّاً يصيب العضلات واللّفافة المغلفة لها بشكلٍ مباشر فيما​ يُعتقد أن متلازمة الألم اللّيفيّ العضليّ تنشأ نتيجة خللٍ في وظائف المواد الكيميائيّة مثل النّاقلات العصبيّة والهرمونات الّتي تقوم بنقل المعلومات من نسيجٍ لآخر. علاوة على ذلك، قد تؤثّر متلازمة الألم اللّيفيّ العضليّ على الجسم بطرقٍ عديدة وتسبّب غالباً ألماً عاماً فيما يرتبط الألم اللّفافي العضلي المزمن بنقاط تحفيز محدّدة ويكون موضعيّاً.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن نقاط التّحفيز قد تكون ناشطة أو كامنة، فالنّقطة النّاشطة تسبّب الألم المتواصل ومن الممكن أن تحول دون قيام العضلة بكامل وظائفها الأمر الّذي يؤدّي إلى ضعفها وعجز في نطاق الحركة. بينما لا تسبّب نقطة التّحفيز الكامنة أيّ ألم خلال ممارسة الأنشطة الاعتياديّة، لكنّها تكون حسّاسة إزاء لمسها ويمكن أن تنشط في حال تعرّض العضلة للإجهاد أو الإرهاق أو الإصابة بجرح أو أذى معين.

وتتضمّن الأعراض الأخرى المرتبطة بالألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ المزمن الشعور بوهنٍ عضليّ وتنميل وتصلُّب أو تيبُّس عضليّ، كما من الممكن ​أن يؤدي الألم النّاجم عن الاضطراب اللّفافيّ العضليّ المزمن إلى مشاكل في النّوم.​

ما هي أسباب الإصابة بالألم اللفافيّ العضليّ المزمن؟

لا تزال أسباب الإصابة بالألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ المزمن مجهولة حتى اليوم، وقد تتضمّن بعض الأسباب المحتملة العوامل الميكانيكيّة كأن تكون إحدى السّاقين أطول من الأخرى ووضعيات الجلوس أو الوقوف غير الصّحيّة والتّوتر واستخدام العضلات بشكلٍ مفرط. كما يمكن لممارسة الرّياضة وتأدية أنشطة العمل بتقنيات غير سليمة أن تفاقم من ضعف العضلات مما يؤدّي إلى الإصابة بالألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ المزمن. علاوة على ذلك، قد يسبّب القلق والاكتئاب شدًاً عضلياً متزايداً مما يؤدّي إلى الألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ الشّديد، ويمكن أن تنشط نقاط التحفيز جرّاء الإرهاق في العمل والتّعب والإصابة الرّضيّة المباشرة ونزلات البرد.

هل يُعدّ الألم اللفافيّ العضليّ حالة شائعة؟

يُعدّ الألم الذي ينشأ في العضلات واللّفافة الّتي تُغلفها حالة شائعة إلى حدٍ كبير حيث يُعاني الجميع تقريباً في مرحلةٍ ما من حياتهم من هذا الألم الّذي يُعرف بالالتهاب اللفافي أو الالتهاب اللّفافيّ العضليّ، فيما يتسبب الألم اللفافي العضلي المزمن بالألم المزمن الّذي يرتبط بنقاط تحفيز محددة.

وغالباً ما يُصيب الألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ المزمن الأشخاص الّذين تتراوح أعمارهم ما بين​ 30-60 عاماً، كما أنه يُصيب الرّجال والنّساء على حدٍ​ سواء.

كيف يتمّ تشخيص الألم اللفافيّ العضليّ المزمن؟

يبدأ مُقدم الرعاية الصحية عادةً بفحصٍ بدني شامل ومُراجعة سجل المريض الصحي بما في ذلك استعراض الأعراض الّتي يُعاني منها الفرد. ومن المرجح أن يقوم الطبيب بفحص شامل للعضلات المتأثرة ويتضمن ذلك اختبار قوة الحركة ونطاقها، كما يقوم بفرك نقاط التحفيز التي يشتبه بأنها مُصابة لمعرفة ما إذا كانت العضلات تستجيب أو تنتفض أو تتسبب بالألم وفق نمط متوقع أو ضمن منطقة مُحدّدة.

علاوة على ذلك، تُجرى اختبارات الدم في بعض الأحيان لإيجاد المسببات الطبية للإصابة بألم العضلات مثل نقص فيتامين «د» أو قصور الغدة الدرقية.

كيف تتمّ مُعالجة الألم اللفافيّ العضليّ المزمن؟

تتضمن خيارات المعالجة الآتي:​

  • العلاج الطّبيعيّ: يتضمن برنامج العلاج تمارين لبَسْط العضلات وتمارين لتحسين وضعية الجلوس والوقوف وأخرى للتقوية.​
  • الأدوية: قد يحتاج المريض لأخذ العقاقير المضادة للالتهاب غير الستيروئيدية مثل آيبروفين ونابروكسين ذلك لأجل تخفيف الألم.​
  • المُعالجة بالتّدليك: قد يساعد التدليك العلاجي على إراحة العضلات المشدودة والتخفيف من التقلصات أو التشنجات​​.​
  • المعالجة بالحقن: ويتضمن هذا العلاج حقن المريض بدواءٍ مسكن للألم (مخدر موضعي) بشكلٍ مباشر في نقاط التحفيز.​

إضافة إلى ما ذُكِر، من الضروري تحديد أي عوامل أخرى ومُعالجتها مثل وضعية الجلوس أو الوقوف غير الصحية ومشاكل في بيئة العمل أو المشاكل الميكانيكية الّتي قد تساهم في زيادة الألم اللفافي العضلي المزمن.​

ما هي المضاعفات النّاجمة عن الألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ المزمن؟

قد يؤثر الألم اللفافي العضلي المزمن في بعض الأحيان على عضلاتٍ أخرى. فعلى سبيل المثال قد تُصاب عضلة ما بالإجهاد عندما تكون ​عضلة أخرى مُصابة بالألم اللفافي العضلي المُزمن وعندها لا تعمل بشكلٍ سليم.

ما هي التّوقّعات المستقبليّة للمصاب بالألم اللّفافيّ العضليّ المزمن؟

تُعدّ التوقعات المستقبلية للمصاب بهذا المرض جيدة عموماً، إذ غالباً ما يمكن ضبط الألم الناجم عنه عند تشخيص الحالة وعلاجها بشكلٍ صحيح.

هل من طريقة لتفادي الإصابة بالألم اللفافي العضليّ المزمن؟

قد لا يكون من الممكن منع جميع نوبات الألم اللفافي العضلي المزمن لكن يمكن الحدّ من حالاتها وتسريع الشفاء باتّباع النصائح الآتية:​

  • تحسين وضعية الجلوس أو الوقوف​
  • إنقاص الوزن​
  • ممارسة الرياضة بشكلٍ منتظم​
  • اتّباع نظام غذائي صحي ومتوازن​
  • تعلُّم أساليب التّحكم بالضّغط والتّوتر​
  • استخدام تقنيات سليمة لدى تأدية العمل أو أثناء ممارسة الرّياضة​
​​​​