Before the test

  • To prepare for the test, it is important not to have anything to eat or drink for four hours before your scan.
  • We also ask that you do not consume any products that contain nicotine (such as cigarettes) for four hours, as nicotine will interfere with the results of your test.
  • It is extremely important that you refrain from ALL CAFFEINE or products containing CAFFEINE for 48 hours prior to the test such as:
    • Coffee
    • Decaffeinated products (also contain small amounts of caffeine)
    • Tea
    • Soft drinks and soda
    • Carbonated drinks
    • Coke
    • Chocolate (all kinds)
    • Energy drinks
    • Caffeine-containing medications including anti-migraine medications and diet medications

  • Wear comfortable clothing. Depending on your exam, you may need to remove clothing and jewelry.
  • Please bring all your previous imaging (X-ray, MRI, CT, etc.) study results, such as reports, films or CD-ROMs if available.

About the test

What is this test?

A Cardiac Computed Tomography Angiogram (Cardiac CTA) uses X-ray technology with a circular detector in combination intravenous (IV) contrast (dye), to obtain high-resolution, three-dimensional images of your:

  • Heart
  • Coronary arteries
  • Pulmonary veins
  • Thoracic aorta
  • And the heart sac (pericardium)

What will happen to me during the test?

When you arrive for your scan, you will be given a questionnaire to complete that will give the staff the information they need to prepare for your exam. Once you have completed the questionnaire, you will be escorted to the CT scan room, where an IV will be inserted for the administration of contrast.

You will have EKG leads placed so the CT scanner can monitor your heart rate. Depending on your heart rate, a nurse may have to give you a beta-blocker to slow down your heart rate to be able to acquire the images. If you receive a beta-blocker to lower your heart rate, an EKG and blood pressure monitor will be applied. You will lay on the CT scanner bed with your arms over your head and will be moved into the CT scanner.

You will be given a series of breathing instructions. It is important to follow these instructions as movement will blur the images and make it difficult to read. Once ready, the exam usually takes less than five minutes.

The CT staff will take a few sets of scans without contrast and this will be followed by a few scans with contrast. It is normal to feel a warm sensation (hot flush) when the contrast is being administered. This warm sensation lasts for about 30 seconds. Some people may have a metallic taste. If you experience difficulty breathing please inform the technologist.

Are there after-test restrictions for me to follow?

Following the exam, you may wait for the results of your Calcium score. This may take an additional 5 to 15 minutes depending upon the availability of the technologist. The technologist will then transfer the exam images to our radiologists, who specialize in examining images of the heart.

The radiologist will then dictate a diagnostic report, which upon finalization is sent to your physician.

A CT scan is a low-risk procedure. Occasionally, patients experience an adverse reaction to the contrast agent. Some patients develop itching or a rash following the injection. These symptoms are usually self-limiting and resolve without further treatment. Antihistamines can be administered if needed for symptomatic relief. Rarely, a more serious allergic reaction called an anaphylactic reaction, occurs, which may result in breathing difficulty. This reaction is potentially life-threatening and would require medications and treatment to reverse the symptoms. CT scanners use X-rays. For your safety, the amount of radiation exposure is kept to a minimum.

How will I know the results of my test?

  • Your test results will be sent to the physician who ordered the test. During your follow-up appointment, your referring physician will discuss the results of your test.

​​​​​​

Have a Question?

Visit our FAQs page for answers to common queries.

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to get in touch.

Find a Doctor

Search for specialized doctors at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

​قبل الإختبار

  • للاستعداد للاختبار، ينبغي عدم تناول أو شرب أي شي قبل أربع ساعات من الفحص.
  • ويُرجى عدم استهلاك أي منتجات تحتوي على النيكوتين (مثل السجائر) لأربع ساعات، فالنيكوتين سيتداخل مع نتائج الفحص الخاص بك.
  • من المهم جدًا أن تمتنع عن تناول كافة أشكال الكافيين أو المننتجات التي تحتوي على الكافيين لمدة 48 ساعة قبل إجراء الاختبار، مثل:

    • القهوة
    • المنتجات التي تمّ إخلاؤها من الكافيين (فهي لا تزال تحتوي على كمية صغيرة من الكافيين)
    • الشاي
    • المشروبات الغازية والصودا
    • المشروبات المكربنة
    • الكولا
    • الشوكولاتة (بكافة أنواعها)
    • مشروبات الطاقة
    • الأدوية التي تحتوي على الكافيين، بما في ذلك أدوية الصداع النصفي وأدوية الحمية الغذائية.

  • ارتداء الملابس المريحة. قد تحتاج إلى نزع الملابس والمجوهرات، حسب الفحص الذي ستجريه.
  • يُرجى إحضار كافة الصور السابقة (الأشعة السينية، صور الرنين المغناطيسي، التصوير المقطعي المحوسب، إلخ.)

معلومات عن الاختبار

ما هذا الاختبار؟

يستخدم التصوير المقطعي المحوسب لأوعية القلب تقنية الأشعة السينية مع مستشعر دائري وصبغة وريدية للحصول على صور عالية الدقة وثلاثية الأبعاد ل:

  • القلب
  • الشرايين التاجية
  • أوردة الرئة
  • الشريان الأبهر في الصدر
  • كيس القلب (التامور)

ما الذي يحدث أثناء الاختبار؟

عند قدومك للخضوع للاختبار، سيتم إعطاؤك استمارة لتملأها من أجل إعطاء الطاقم الطبي المعلومات المطلوبة للتحضير للاختبار. وحالما تكمل الاستمارة، ستتم مرافقتك إلى غرفة التصوير المقطعي المحوسب حيث سيتم إدخال أنبوب في الوريد لإعطاءك مادة التباين.

ثم توضع الأسلاك الموصلة الخاصة بالتخطيط الكهربائي للقلب ليتمكّن جهاز التصوير المقطعي المحوسب من مراقبة معدل ضربات القلب لديك. واستنادًا إلى معدل ضربات القلب، قد تعطيك الممرضة أحد حاصرات بيتا لإبطاء معدل ضربات القلب من أجل التمكّن من الحصول على الصور. وإذا تناولت أحد حاصرات بيتا لإبطاء معدل ضربات قلبك، سيتم استخدام جهاز لمراقبة التخطيط الكهربائي للقلب ومراقبة ضغط الدم، وستستلقي على السرير الخاص بجهاز التصوير المقطعي المحوسب واضعًا ذراعيك فوق رأسك وسيتمّ إدخالك إلى جهاز التصوير المقطعي المحوسب.

وستحصل على مجموعة من التعليمات حول كيفية التنفس، ومن المهم اتباع تلك التعليمات لأنّ الحركة تؤدي إلى تشويش الصور فيصبح من الصعب قراءتها. وحالما يصبح كل شيء جاهزًا، يستغرق الاختبار أقل من خمسة دقائق.

سيأخذ طاقم التصوير المقطعي المحوسب مجموعة من الصور الخالية من التباين ثم بعض الصور مع تباين، ومن الطبيعي أن تشعر بالدفء )الاحمرار والحرارة( عندما يتم إعطاؤك مادة التباين، ويدوم هذا الشعور بالدفء لحوالي 30 ثانية، وقد يشعر البعض بطعم معدني في فمهم، وإذا واجهت صعوبة في التنفس، يُرجى إبلاغ الفني الذي يُجري الاختبار لك.

هل من أمور ينبغي تفاديها بعد الخضوع للاختبار؟

وبعد إجراء الاختبار، قد ينبغي الانتظار للحصول على نتائج نسبة الكالسيوم لديك، وقد يتطلب ذلك 5 إلى 15 دقيقة إضافية حسب مدى توفر الفني. ومن ثم سيعمل الفني على تسليم صور الاختبار إلى أخصائيي الأشعة لدينا المختصين في فحص صور القلب.

وبعد ذلك، سيعمل أخصائي الأشعة على إعداد تقرير تشخيصي، وإرساله حالما يكتمل إلى طبيبك.

يُعتبر التصوير المقطعي المحوسب إجراءً قليل المخاطر. ففي بعض الأحيان، يمرّ المرضى برد فعل عكسي لمادة التباين، حيث يعاني بعضهم من الحكة أو الطفح الجلدي بعد الحقن. وعادةً ما تتلاشى هذه الأعراض بنفسها ودون أي علاج إضافي، ولكن من الممكن استخدام مضادات الهستامين عند الحاجة لتخفيف الأعراض. ونادرًا ما يحدث رد فعل تحسسي أكثر خطورة يُسمى تفاعل تأقي، وقد يؤدي إلى صعوبة في التنفس. وقد يشكل رد الفعل هذا خطرًا على الحياة وقد يتطلّب أدوية وعلاجًا لعكس الأعراض. وخلال التصوير المقطعي المحوسب، يتمّ استخدام الأشعة السينية، وللحفاظ على سلامتك، يحرص فني التصوير على تعريضك لأقلّ قدر ممكن من الأشعة.

كيف أحصل على نتائج الاختبار الذي خضعت له؟

  • سيتم إرسال نتائج فحصك إلى الطبيب الذي طلب إجراء الفحص. وأثناء موعد المراجعة، سيناقش الطبيب الذي أحالك لإجراء الفحص النتائج معك.