​​​​
  ​

When Daina Bautista needed life-saving heart surgery, the hunt for a match to her extremely rare blood type had to go global. But when international reserves weren’t enough, the team at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi turned to the complex ‘self-donation’ technique. 

It was in 2018 that Daina, a working mother from the Philippines who has lived in Abu Dhabi for more than 15 years, first began to suspect something was wrong. Her coughing fits were first diagnosed as asthma, but follow-up scans later revealed that three valves in her heart were damaged. By 2020, her condition had deteriorated significantly. 

Daina says, “At first, I was able to live my life as normal. I knew something was wrong, but I wanted to focus on my work and family. Eventually, I couldn’t walk for more than a few minutes without losing my breath and everyday tasks became very hard. I knew it was time to go back to the doctor and finally get my heart fixed.”

Extremely rare blood type

Daina was booked for surgery at an Abu Dhabi hospital, but it was cancelled at the last minute as they were unable to find a blood match for her. Blood reserves are an essential part of any surgery, and procedures cannot go ahead without them. 

Given the complication, her case was transferred to Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi. The Transfusion Medicine Pathology team performed extensive testing on Daina’s blood, which revealed not only was she the rare type B+, found in around only 9% of the population, but she also lacked the JK3 protein – an extremely rare phenotype. Any potential donor had to match both her blood type, and lack that specific protein. 

Dr. Manuel Algora​, a clinical pathologist and director of Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s blood bank says, “As soon as we discovered that Daina’s blood lacked the JK3 protein, coupled with her uncommon blood type, something that is exceptionally rare, we began our search for donors within the UAE and abroad. For her life-saving surgery to take place, we would need at least six units of blood.”

Searching for a blood-match

Dr. Algora’s team began working with Abu Dhabi Blood Bank to find suitable donors, and also tested Daina’s relatives. A compatible donor was found in Abu Dhabi who could donate one of the six units needed for the surgery. However, as blood donors can only give blood every eight weeks, the team had to widen the search across the Gulf region, and as far afield as Malaysia and Spain. Eventually, two units of matching blood were found in Kuwait. 

While managing the logistics of importing the blood was underway, the team worked with Abu Dhabi Blood Bank to collect four units of blood from Daina herself. 

“Although we had a local donor, and two units coming from abroad, we still needed four more units to safely perform the surgery. Collecting that much blood from the local donor would have taken months. As Daina had strong hemoglobin we were able to administer treatment to boost her red blood cell production so that she could safely self-donate”, adds Dr. Algora.

Under close medical supervision at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi’s Infusion Center, Daina gave four units over a 3-week period so that the hospital would have enough blood and her surgery could go ahead.  

“Blood is the foundation of modern surgery. If we can’t replace blood lost during surgery, many simple surgeries we take for granted today simply could not happen. Even with minimally invasive surgery, it is vital that we have blood on hand to ensure patient safety. When I heard we had the blood needed to repair Daina’s heart valves I was thrilled. We could finally move ahead and get her back to living a full life,” says Dr. Umer Darr, the heart surgeon who led Daina’s surgery. 

Daina’s surgery finally took place, more than 3 months after it was initially scheduled. Although the search for blood had caused a significant delay, Daina made a swift recovery following her surgery and was discharged just over 2 weeks later.  

Daina says, “I am so grateful to Dr. Algora and Dr. Darr for everything they have done for me. Although it was stressful, I always felt safe and cared for at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi. I can hardly believe the effort everyone made to find the blood I needed. It has really opened my eyes to the importance of blood donation and what a beautiful gift it represents.”

Dr. Algora adds, “This was a very difficult case and I’m very proud that we were able to come together as one team to arrange for the import of the blood Daina so desperately needed. Fortunately, we have a fantastic relationship with Abu Dhabi Blood Bank, the Ministry of Health and Prevention, and the international blood transfusion community. When we spoke to colleagues in other countries, they understood the challenge and did everything they could to help. Without the support of our local and international partners, this could not have happened.”

Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi holds regular blood donation events for its caregivers in partnership with Abu Dhabi Blood Bank, which collects hundreds of units of blood each year to offer life-saving care across the UAE. 

Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!

​بدأت عملية بحث موسعة في جميع أنحاء العالم للعثور على فصيلة دم نادرة وضرورية لإجراء جراحة قلب عاجلة لمريضة تُدعى داينا بوتيستا، وإنقاذ حياتها بعد تطور حالتها. لجأ الفريق الطبي في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي إلى إجراء عملية معقدة للتبرع الذاتي بالدم إلى المريضة.

في عام 2018، بدأت داينا باوتيستا، وهي أمّ عاملة من الفلبين، تعيش في أبوظبي منذ أكثر من 15 عامًا، بالاشتباه في إصابتها بمرض ما، إذ كانت تعاني من نوبات سعال شديدة، شخصها طبيب الأسرة لأول مرة على أنها إصابة بمرض الربو، ثم كشفت فحوصات المتابعة الطبية عن تضرر ثلاثة صمامات في قلبها، ومع بداية عام 2020، تدهورت حالتها الصحية بشكل كبير.

تقول داينا: " في البداية، كنت قادرةً على أن أعيش حياتي بشكل طبيعي. كنت أعرف أنني أشكو من شيء ما، لكنني أردت أن أوجه اهتمامي وتركيزي على عملي وعائلتي. لكن، في نهاية الأمر، لم أكن أستطيع المشي لبضع دقائق دون أن أفقد أنفاسي، كنت دائماً أعاني من ضيق في التنفس، بل إن مهامي اليومية أصبحت صعبة للغاية بالنسبة لي. كنت أعلم أنه قد آن الأوان أخيراً لمراجعة الطبيب ومعالجة قلبي".

فصيلة دم نادرة للغاية

أُدخلت داينا إلى مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي للخضوع إلى جراحة في القلب، لكن تم إلغائها خلال الدقائق الأخيرة قبل إجرائها، نظراً لعدم   توافر مخزون من الدم مطابق لفصيلة دمها، حيث يعتبر وجود مخزون احتياطي من الدم من الأمور الأساسية والضرورية لإجراء أي جراحة.

ونظراً لتلك التعقيدات، تم نقل المريضة إلى مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، حيث أجرى فريق علم الأمراض ونقل الدم فحوصات مكثفة، كشفت أنه بالإضافة إلى أن فصيلة دم داينا هي من فئة (B +)، وهي فصيلة دم نادرة نسبياً، وتتواجد في نسبة تقارب 9٪ من البشر فقط، وجدوا كذلك أن دمها يفتقر لبروتين (JK3)، وهو نوع نادر للغاية من النمط الظاهري. هذا يعني أن هذه الحالة لا يمكن لها أن تستقبل الدم إلا من المتبرعين الذين تتطابق فصيلة دمهم مع فصيلة دمها، وبشرط أن يكون لديهم نقص كذلك في هذا البروتين على وجه التحديد.

يوضح الدكتور مانويل ألغورا،​ أخصائي علم الأمراض السريري ومدير قسم بنك الدم في مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي صعوبة هذه الحالة قائلاً: "ما أن اكتشفنا أن دم داينا فيه نقص في بروتين (JK3)، وهي حالة نادرة جداً في جميع أنحاء العالم، حتى بدأنا نبحث عن متبرعين، من داخل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ومن خارجها. فنحن، لكي نجري هذه الجراحة التي ستنقذ حياة هذه المريضة، نحتاج إلى ست وحدات من الدم على الأقل، والذي كان تحدياً بالنسبة لنا".

يضيف الدكتور ألغورا: "بالرغم من أننا تمكنَا من العثور على وحدتين مطابقتين لفصيلة دم المريضة قادمتين من الخارج، إلا أننا كنا بحاجة إلى أربع وحدات إضافية لإجراء الجراحة المقررة بأمان. عادة يستغرق جمع هذا القدر من الدم عدة شهور. نظراً لاحتواء دم المريضة على نسبة عالية من الهيموغلبين تمكنَا من نقل أربع وحدات من دم داينا تحت إشراف طبي دقيق لتعزيز إنتاج خلايا الدم الحمراء لديها، حتى تتمكن من التبرع لنفسها بأمان".

تحت إشراف طبي دقيق، في مركز نقل الدم في كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، أعطت داينا أربع وحدات من دمها، على مدار ثلاثة أسابيع لإجراء جراحتها.

يقول الدكتور عمر دار، جراح القلب الذي قاد الفريق الطبي الذي أجرى جراحة داينا: "الدم هو أساس الجراحة الحديثة، ولا جدال في ذلك. حتى مع العمليات التي تجرى بأقلِ درجة من التدخل الجراحي، من الضروري أن يتوافر الدم، في متناول أيدينا، لضمان سلامة المرضى. عندما سمعت أننا قد حصلنا على الدم اللازم لعلاج صمامات قلب داينا، شعرت بسعادة غامرة. فقد آن لنا الآن أن نمضي قُدُماً، ونساعدها في أن تستأنف حياتها بشكل كامل".

وأخيراً، أجريت جراحة داينا بعد أكثر من ثلاثة أشهر من الموعد الذي كان محدداً لها في البداية. وعلى الرغم من أن كثيراً من التأخير كان سببه البحث عن فصيلة الدم التي تناسب حالة داينا، إلا أنها تعافت سريعاً بعد أسبوعين من إجراء الجراحة وخروجها من المستشفى. 

تقول دايانا: " أنا ممتنة جداً للدكتور ألغورا، والدكتور عمر دار على الجهود الضخمة التي بذلاها من أجلي. لقد كانت ظروفي مجهدة جداً، ولكنني، برغم ذلك، كنت أشعر بالأمان والرعاية الكاملة، في مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي، أكاد لا أصدق الجهد الخارق الذي بذله الجميع للحصول على فصيلة الدم التي كنت أحتاجها، لقد أصبحت أقدر بشكل أكبر أهمية التبرع بالدم،  فهو أجمل هدية تُهدى لمريض".

يختتم دكتور ألغورا قائلاً: "كانت هذه الحالة صعبة للغاية، ولذلك، فأنا فخور جداً بأننا استطعنا أن نتعاون ونعمل معاً كفريق واحد، في جميع أقسام المستشفى، لترتيب استيراد الدم الذي كانت داينا بأمَسَ الحاجة إليه. ولحسن الحظ، لنا علاقات طيبة مع بنك الدم في أبوظبي، ومع وزارة الصحة و وقاية المجتمع، وجميع الهيئات العالمية المعنية بنقل الدم. فعندما تحدثنا إلى زملائنا، في بلدان أخرى، فهموا التحدي الذي كنا نواجهه، وبذلوا كل ما في وسعهم ليساعدونا، ولولا ما تلقيناه من دعم شركائنا محلياً وعالمياً، لما استطعنا أن نحقق هذا الإنجاز الذي حققناه".

تُنظم مستشفى كليفلاند كلينك أبوظبي بالشراكة مع بنك الدم في أبوظبي، فعاليات منتظمة لموظفيها للتبرع بالدم، إدراكًا لأهمية ذلك في توفير العناية الطبية وإنقاذ حياة المرضى في جميع أنحاء دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، تجمع فعاليات التبرع بالدم مئات وحدات الدم كل عام، وهو ما يوفر الدعم اللازم لتشغيل قطاع الرعاية الصحية بأكمله في أبوظبي.

​​

Chat With Us!
Chat With Us!